We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Weekend Away”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Blue Door Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blue Door Barns
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Blue Door Barns
Little Lodge bedroom
The Sailor's House
The Nook
The Snug, the Blue Door Barns treatment room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melinda15...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Away”
Reviewed July 24, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned for the most fabulous weekend away at Blue Door Barns. Emma and Bryony made us feel so welcome and everything from the setting, to the rooms, decor and breakfast was amazing. They have obviously put a lot of thought into the design and have a great eye for all the little extra touches.

We finished off our weekend with treatments to make it that little bit more special - highly recommended!

We will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2018
Oh thank you for your kind words. You were lovely guests who really embraced the Blue Door Barns experience. We will look forward to your next visit very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine...
Deal, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stylish but comfortable and cosy retreat”
Reviewed May 19, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic quiet, cosy and comfortable hideaway where style and friendly service are plentiful. The barns are full of character and the beds and pillows are comfortable. The ambiance is amazing and the hosts go the extra mile to ensure your stay is perfect. Not to mention the food, which is locally sourced and lovingly prepared. Can’t wait to go again and I will definitely book a treatment next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2018
Thank you very much for your kind review. We were honoured to be the location chosen for such a special occasion. Come and stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream8035...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool barns with a unique touch”
Reviewed April 29, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two nights at Blue Door Barns to celebrate our anniversary. All different from each other, our little barn, The Sailor's Hut, was adorable. Small but filled with unique touches, it was the perfect getaway from our busy lives in London.

Breakfast, chosen in advance and cooked by Emma was tasty and leisurely, eaten in the beautiful and original main house. Our hosts were great at communicating prior to our stay and at helping us with tips on what to do when we were there.

The massages in the tiny shack are a very appreciated plus if you want an extra relaxing stay. Would love to come back in the Summer to enjoy the great outside spaces.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted you had a restorative stay. Come back in the summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and rustic country charm”
Reviewed April 25, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Exceeded all expectations- we booked for a hen party for 9 girls and couldnt be more pleased that we did.
The rooms were so comfortable with lots of extra touches like little REN beauty products, and stunning decor- all so thoughtfully finished.
Our ocado order arrived early so they kindly unpacked it all for us.
They were the best hosts- so helpful and kind.
We made dinner there on the friday, and then they helped organise flower arranging for the saturday morning which was just lovely.
Saturday night they had us into their house for a 3 course dinner which was delicious- their house was wonderful and then we had drinks by the fire back near our barns.
I will most certainly be back and couldnt reccomend this place enough.
Such easy access from London also!
Thank you Emma and Bryony!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2018
That's so lovely to hear. You were literally the loveliest girls, so polite and an absolute pleasure to host. We can't wait to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbrucebem
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just perfection...”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

For the past five nights our wedding party had the privilege of staying as guests of Bryony and Emma at Blue Door Barns. What can I say, quite simply it was amazing. The lodges are stunningly beautiful, the decor is expertly done by Emma and the setting on The South Downs is fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for this wonderful couple and the wedding organisation and execution made it a dream day for all my family and friends. I can not recommend a stay here strong enough, whether you are after a relaxing break or a more arduous spot of walking on the Downs, look no further. You will not be dissapointed with Blue Door Barns, it really is just perfection. Thanks ladies, you are both superb!!! x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2018
Well you were the most wonderful guests and we were very privileged to have you to stay over such a special weekend. We hope you come and stay again. Warmest regards - Emma and Bryony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossie47
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 5, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

So just returned from my second stay at Blue Door Barns. Both times were very different - both amazing! The first time, my husbamd and I had a romantic weekend in The Nook abd Bryony and Emma could not have been more helpful with local information and places to visit etc. The setting, barn, breakfast in “the big house” was wonderful and we relaxed completly.

The second time, I hired all the accommodation for my birthday celebrations with 12 friends and from start to finish everything was perfect and Bryony and Emma were on hand before and during our stay to make
Sure it all went well.All the barns are so cosy and well-equipped. The beds and bed linen are SO comfy and the decor is quirky and tasteful.
On this visit, we had dinner in the big house and it was lovely - beautiful room with candles and a roaring fire. Our drinks were topped up and the food was delicious.
After dinner, Emma lit the fire round at the barns and we carried on the party there!
Breakfast was beautiful the next day and we went for a bracing walk in the next village.

I cannot fault Blue Door Barns and am already planning a summer visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2018
Thanks for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes - Em & Bryony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, restorative break”
Reviewed January 12, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Blue Door Barns couldn’t have delivered more - I spent a few days here on a quick break before heading back to work for a new year. Bryony and Emma were fantastic hosts from start to finish - delicious breakfasts in a beautiful setting, warm conversation and full of excellent recommendations. Two horse rides and two treatments were no trouble at all for the hosts to organise (Stephanie Slade’s facials are definitely worth calling out, quite special), and they all round made it so easy for me to enjoy the few days. I return to the big smoke totally energised, with a clear head and a car full of Lewes flea-market finds, and plotting for the next trip. Can’t wait, and thank you so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2018
Thank you so much for being a lovely guest and we are so thrilled it was the restorative break you needed. See you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing