We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky country break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Blue Door Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blue Door Barns
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Blue Door Barns
Little Lodge bedroom
The Sailor's House
The Nook
The Snug, the Blue Door Barns treatment room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hannahm99...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quirky country break”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A group of us stayed at Blue Door Barns in order to visit the Lewes firework parade.

We decided to make a weekend of it and the barns were the perfect place to spend it. With room for a large group of 11 or 12 of us, there was enough accomodation all of us split accross the 4 different buildings, which were all centered around a communal courtyard complete with BBQ, open fire, candles, and plenty of seating.

The two kitchens were well equipped and the showers powerful and warm, but the stand out aspect for me was how beautiful the place was. The owners clearly know what they are doing when it comes to internior design, the place was full of old character coupled with plenty of antiques, art, rugs, it was just lovely.

The owners were super friendly, helping us out in the lead up and during the stay, offering advice on local pubs and walks.

We all had a great time and would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2016
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
We are so thrilled you loved your stay - we hope you come back again soon.

Best - Bryony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alianza d
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“morbid charm”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

rented 3 cottages for small family reunion, 9 persons, incl. 4 children, charming environment, place itself is somewhat "run-down", definitely lacks maintenance, nice owners, but completely overpriced,

Date of stay: November 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Hello there

We were so surprised to read your review and are very sorry you felt this way. We made every effort to make you feel welcome and on several occasions you thanked us for a lovely stay. We hope to welcome you another time.

Thank you for your comments - Bryony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
920ambs
Basildon
2 reviews
“Best stay!”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wow what a lovely place to stay! Had the best birthday spending the night here and didn't want to go home, everything was perfect, the room was cosy and homely, and breakfast was delicious! The hosts Emma and Bryony were very friendly and nothing was too much of a hassle for them, we were looked after very well, I can't wait to return here!

Amber & Charlie
Essex

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark t
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, friendly & stylish”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed in two of the Blue Door Barn's excellent rooms over separate dates and found Emma & Briony excellent hosts, very welcoming and friendly and super helpful. Breakfast was excellent, local farm sourced and the whole area the Barns are on is very peaceful and rustic, a joy to visit. I can't fault the stay and it's an excellent location for both the Glyndebourne Opera, paragliding and general access to the Sussex downs. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riekema
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in British country side”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed 3 nights at Bryony and Emma's for Easter and had a wonderful, relaxing stay. The lodges are fantastically decorated, super cosy - very quickly making you feel at home. The lodge is very conveniently placed for a fantastic walk on seven sisters, or a stroll to nearby Lewes' castle. There are some great food options nearby - the Ram Inn (5' by car) was our favourite. The home made granola for breakfast was a real treat! Last but not least we enjoyed fantastic treatments (a facial and a sports massage) - which are amongst the best we've ever had. In a nutshell a perfect stay !

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
Thank you for your kind words, Marieke. We hope to welcome you back to Blue Door Barns soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzieDix...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sussex haven”
Reviewed January 28, 2016 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at the Barns for my boyfriend’s birthday. Our room was cosy, well appointed and perfect for a weekend away from London. Bryony couldn’t have been more helpful, and breakfast in the main house was gorgeous - all cooked on a roaring aga with dogs and children a-plenty - it felt like staying with a slightly better version of your own family - we hope to come back!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breafast
Liked least: Slightly tricky getting responses to our emails / phone calls
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dee7028
essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“peaceful little gem”
Reviewed December 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a lovely stay at Blue Door Barns. We were treated by a family member as a wedding gift. We stayed in the Nook and our friends in the Sailors. The converted barns were tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We went round to the main house for breakfast and a lovely warm welcome from Emma & Bryony who cooked us all a tasty breakfast. This place really is a little gem, and we have returned relaxed. Hope to return in the future.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: comfy accomadation
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing