We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Chef new menu”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #39 of 40 Lewes B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Being local we have been in here a few times for a drink but with an uninspiring and meat based menu have never eaten before. Word of the new chef and menu made us try again and we were pleasantly surprised. There is now a wide range of interesting food choices to suit all tastes with some creative twists all at reasonable prices. It was good to see lots of veggie and vegan options and all looked interesting takes even if based on common dishes. Prompt food and service and a good range of beer including local based breweries.Definitely worth trying again now they have changed the menu.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveFunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Amazing food, I loved the sound of the Stuffed & Roasted Garlic Phesant Kiev & the wild blackberry and apple crumble, serfved with ice-cream or custard Or BOTH! :)
Kitchen's spotless, shame about the alcoholics that work here! The only thing that lets this place down is the staff. Rude and obnoxious, even as far as calling a local lady, "the witch". Hopefully after a staff changeover the chef can really get this place up & running. Good Luck :)

Room Tip: Don't Bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princessfionapants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This pub has changed in all aspects recently. well decorated, clean toilets, excellent food, friendly staff and good value. Recently I have had two meals at this premises, and neither disappointed. The menu is fresh and the equal to anything in Lewes at this time for pub food. There are several vegetarian options and several draught beers not local to Lewes. I had heard good reviews from friends and it seems they were right. I heard it does get busy with business customers during lunch times, but on each occasion I went the staff handled the orders efficiently. I hope the chef does not leave..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alitalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a great lunch here today, all the food looked lovely and well priced. We had one meat dish, one veggie and one vegan. Brilliant veggie selection with lots of choice and chef happy to provide vegan dishes or make changes to make the veggie one vegan. Amazing! Can't wait to try the falafel burger next :) Thanks xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie_447388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My first time at this pub and it was very enjoyable. The food was excellent (I had a steak pie from the 'specials', with trimmings), a pint of something local and a game of bar billiards. All for not very much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

There is a new chef here and he is really excellent. We had venison meatballs with creamy potato, kale, red wine sauce and all sorts of other marvellous things. It was a really memorable meal, one of the best I've had in this town. The men who run the Black Horse aren't very friendly, but the brilliant food and the smiling, hard working barmaids make up for them. PS: the toilets are the cleanest pub loos in a 50 mile radius.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjosephineBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here and found it very reasonably priced and friendly. Most of all though we had a lovely evening in the pub (with open fires just lit). The food was far beyond expectations, really really top class stuff, and we will come and stay again if we get the chance. If we don't we'll certainly eat here when ever we pass through.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lewes hotels
7.1 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
172 reviews
4.7 mi away
White Lodge B&B
White Lodge B&B
#1 of 1 in Cooksbridge
440 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Blacksmiths Arms
The Blacksmiths Arms
#1 of 1 in Offham
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#2 of 7 in Lewes
858 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 7 in Lewes
400 reviews
7.1 mi away
The BlackSmith's Arms
The BlackSmith's Arms
#1 of 2 in Halland
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: 55 Western Road, Lewes BN7 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Inn Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing