We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flower power”
Review of Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room - CLOSED

Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room
Price range: $6 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A traditional licensed English Tea Room near Lewes Castle on the High Street set within our fragrant florist boutique, offering elegant setting, friendly service, a dozen varieties of loose leaf tea, Fairtrade Organic coffee, wide variety home-baked cakes and fantastic (customers tell us!)Scones, and Sussex made ice cream as well as delicious local Sussex fayre for platters and healthy/organic/gluten free options. 30 seats(22 back, 8 front) Open 7 days, food served 10am to 4.30, Limited menu after 4pm. Please note wheelchairs can access the tea room but not the toilet facilities due to old building.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Flower power”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Came across this lovely tea shop by accident as its next to a secondhand bookshop we've been frequenting for years. Popped in for lunch on Saturday and shared a wonderful cheese platter supplemented by some gorgeous fresh brown bread (which beat the stuff we'd had at Bills for breakfast earlier the same day). The whole ambience is relaxing with the lovely smell of fresh flowers in the air too! We'll definitely be back - not least as its real leaf tea!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Serene_Place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    43
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon tea”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great service, a lovely cafe with a range of afternoon tea options (including a savoury tea) and sandwiches. Hope to return soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank KBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a treat this place is! Lovely home made food, great range of teas and very welcoming, friendly staff. Only had time for cakes (a real hardship :) ) but other food looked good too. Really nice not to be rushed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Concentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss if your visiting lewes!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We came here for a cream tea on a living social voucher. Everything was just perfect from the helpful and friendly manager and staff to the way the place is decorated and the food is lovely fresh and homemade. It really is a lovely place to come and treat yourself or friends and family. The scones were home made, warm and delicious and we loved all the little extra touches like having an egg timer to know when our tea had brewed! I had recently been to an afternoon cream tea at the Waldorf and I can honestly say that this wasn't too far behind it . I ll be bringing my friend back in for the afternoon tea to compare it properly though lol! Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank angelmiche32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tea time”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went to meet a friend who suggested this place. Florists one side, cafe the other. We decided just to have a drink but looking through the menu, it appears to be perfect for afternoon tea. I will certainly take visiting friends there for an experience. The service was attentive without being overbearing and I will definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank embee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafordchrislou, Owner at Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, the team and I are pleased that you enjoyed our regional tea room with a floral twist.
We seem to have greatly increased our lunchtime trading in recent weeks(which we are thrilled about!) causing a few more delays than usual, so in the light of this I have since August 1 boosted our waiting team so that we can continue to offer the best service possible within the confines of our unique and shared space! Thanks for your valued custom and feedback! Enjoy the rest of the summer, come back for a scone or bakewell tart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing