We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper pub”
Review of John Harvey Tavern

John Harvey Tavern
Ranked #17 of 116 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A traditional pub serving great food and award winning ales
ridgewood, east sussex
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Proper pub”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stopped for lunch today with friends and were so pleased to find it is dog friendly. All had different plough and which were very nice, I had the Harvey ale sausage plough and which came with 2 larger than normal sausages, French bread, butter, chutney and salad. It was large, delicious and I thoroughly enjoyed it . We all cleared our plates and are looking forward to visiting again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roberta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    86
    23
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“As a beer lover this was heaven !”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Love having my beer poured directly from the cask ! We also ate on the last night we were in Lewes - we were late getting there (thanks to British Rail's signalling failures - reminded us how little we miss living in the South East) but they looked after us very well and we had a very good pub meal. Staff were friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly pub”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

A little dark inside but clearly popular with the locals. Good quality food and drink for a reasonable price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mikehandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The place to be on November 4-5”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stop here every year when in town for Guy Fawkes Day (we're Bonfire Boys). Excellent (and cheap) pig roast (they roast a cow, too) out in the parking lot. John Harvey's best available in quantity.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeneR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best Sunday lunches ever!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Amazing Sunday lunch. Beautifully cooked. Would have been excellent rated apart from the roasties which weren't great. That said will def return v soon. Fabulous.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MsPollydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Harvey Tavern also viewed

 
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to John Harvey Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing