We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant atmosphere, good food and great ale!”
Review of John Harvey Tavern

John Harvey Tavern
Ranked #18 of 117 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A traditional pub serving great food and award winning ales
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, good food and great ale!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

After a visit to the John Harvey Brewery Shop we walked across to the John Harvey Tavern for a very pleasant lunch time experience - the traditional interior filled with a mixture of locals and tourists. A comfortable chatty atmosphere....no loud music, just people talking.

The staff and service was swift and friendly....with a good selection of John Harvey beers on tap. The food menu contained the usual pub food ranging from sandwiches, hot mains and specials - all at reasonable prices, ample proportions and locally sourced - I can recommend the John Harvey Ale Sausage and Onion sandwich at only £5.25.

A very pleasant couple of hours well spent!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jharvey2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    88
    26
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A proper town pub”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The nearest pub to the historic Harvey's brewery, it is easy to miss, down a side street just opposite the brewery's excellent 'Off licence" shop. The atmospheric main bar is usually crowded with people enjoying the good range of Harvey's beers, served by gravity from the barrels, and brilliantly kept. It also serves a good range of simple but well made food and there are other areas, including an upstairs "dining area". I hesitate to say this in case the management are reading this, but it is also very good value for what is a generally expensive town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sussex_wanderers051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Traditional pub grub!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We met friends here for lunch during half term with the kids.

The pub is very traditional and in a great location in Lewes.

We were able to sit upstairs at a very large table which suited our needs!

Some of our party ate from the menu and some from the specials board. There was a varied menu.

The food was pleasant and was in my opinion traditional pub grub. They did get two dishes wrong but they changed them immediately and without fuss. The sausages were very nice.

The food must have been acceptable to all as there were clean plates all round. Great to be in a Harveys pub serving Harveys beer!

Overall, reasonable and acceptable food in a fine traditional pub!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went there for Sunday lunch and to be honest it is one of the worst I have ever had the misfortune to eat. My friend had a pie that was ok but steer clear of the roast. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and the other meals looked good value. I would return for a drink and may eat there again but it's doubtful.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The John Harvey Tavern”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This pub has a terrific atmosphere and serves great food and Harveys beers and ales. There is plenty of seating but because of its quality food and location does good very busy which in my opinion is a good thing. Go and eat there you willnot be disappointed

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Firtoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Harvey Tavern also viewed

 
Lewes, East Sussex
 
Lewes, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to John Harvey Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing