We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrummy mussels”
Review of Bill's Restaurant

Bill's Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 112 Restaurants in Lewes
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The mothership! Our Lewes restaurant, opened in 2001, is where the Bill's story began and it continues to be an extremely popular destination for locals and visitors from far and wide, sitting in the heart of this pretty town.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Scrummy mussels”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Having passed this corner on several occasions, a new friend suggested eating here on a cold Saturday in early February. Yes, we had to wait ten minutes but we were kept informed by friendly waiter and seated quickly once the queue moved. The menu had plenty of choice but we both chose mussels with frites. Steamy hot and delicious, beautifully served french style in an enamel pot on a board.
He had hot chocolate, I had a glass of wine. We both had coffee to complete the meal. Friendly service, great ambiance and perfectly priced BUT I've searched Trip Advisor for Billy's, as i could swear that was the name on the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyMay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    289
    177
    124
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

On a recent visit to Lewes, Bills was recommended to us as the place to eat. When we arrived there was a queue to the door but we were quickly approached by a member of staff who told us there would be a 10 minute wait. He then gave us a menu to browse. Sure enough, after said wait, we were seated at a shared table. Someone quickly took our order and our food arrived in 5 mins. I have neved been served so quickly!
My partner and I both had the haddock and it was beautiful! my daughter had the children's burger which was more than ample. She also had the complimentary ice cream afterwards.
All in all i wad thouroughly impressed with Bills and i look forward to visiting again soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hoathly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big Changes..”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was disappointed yesterday - have been to Bills many times in the past. Loved the lavish displays of cakes and quiches - made Bills sooo special. Now all GONE! No quiches available - greatly diminished menu - far fewer vegetarian options. It was a Thursday - will it be the same at a weekend? I commented on the changes to the waitress who said the quiches were discontinued because people were not ordering them. Cant belive that! They were stunning - unusual and utterly delicious. Where have the cake displays gone? The food was still delicious but seemed more expensive. Has Bill retired and sold the cafe on? The place was always bulging (though plenty of room yesterday) - why change something soooo successful? Anyone know the answer?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ginimags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
409 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Queueing is worth it for great food.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

There is always a queue, but that is because the food and atmosphere are great. Reminds me of a New York cafe. Great place for Sunday lunch, lots of vegetarian options . Very cosy on a wet day.
Real comfort food, all local fresh ingredients. You'll probably share a table with other people, canteen style.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Interesting food but be prepared for a wait”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Varied menu, interesting veggie options and great smoothies. But it gets very crowded so prepare for a wait, although staff keep you informed and offer juice samples.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bestcornishcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill's Restaurant also viewed

 
Lewes, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Bill's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing