We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely pub”
Review of Pelham Arms

Pelham Arms
Ranked #7 of 113 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Pelham Arms is a traditional British public house at the top of Lewes High Street, serving Lewes’ best local and seasonal food with a relaxed friendly service in charming surroundings.Built circa 1640, this quintessential Sussex pub has original oak beams, an inglenook fireplace, courtyard garden and is full of age-old charm. We love children at the Pelham and your little (or not so little) lovelies are welcome in the pub until 8pm. Dogs are also welcome in the bar areas. We look forward to seeing you soon!
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really lovely pub”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I took several members of my family to the Pelham Arms for a birthday meal last weekend, mainly as a result of the large number of positive reviews - we weren't disappointed. IT was lovely to walk in from a freezing cold day to be sat on a large table near the open fire. There was a good range of real ales on, and a good selection of food alongside the usual Sunday carvery. The staff were great, the ale well kept and the food hearty and lovely. The only fault I could find was that one of the carvery meals didn't come out with its Yorkshire pudding, but this is hardly a big problem and was rectified very quickly! All in all a wonderful pub and we'll defnitely be going there again, it's well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    109
    32
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Exquisite!!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went because of the positive reviews. Not disappointed. Exceptional food, turkey escalope so tender and tasty, perfectly seasoned. A real fine dining experience. Very friendly service. Christmas Pudding out of this world. Well worth a visit.

5 stars!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richybaby101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was the first time I had been back to this pub for 30 years or more since I visited it regularly with my parents in the days of the "wing commander" who had turned the pub into one with an excellent reputation for food with its special dishes like the Pelham Pie and Pelham Pot (a chocolate mousse).

The pub went downhill and had a dire reputation. Now however, it has been turned back into an attractive pub with a focus on quality food. Food is not overly fancy, but excellent quality ingredients cooked well. I had the burger and it was probably the best burger I have ever eaten.

My only suggestion for the owners is to reinvent some of the old classics as there are still plenty of people around who remember some of the special dishes linked to the pub.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wentworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Pelham Arms, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, really pleased you had a good time and probably "the best burger" you have eaten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect food and service”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We went Saturday evening at 7pm and found the restuarant warm and inviting. The waitress was quick with drinks and menus. The menu is small but a good variety, I had charcuterie for starters, a fabulous roast duck with smoked duck gravy which was just right and then the cheese board which I thought was a little overpriced at £7.50 but very delicious never the less.Lovely chilled Prosecco to round it off. I do love these places that focus on locally sourced food and take care about how its presented, no watery gravy here or smeared cutlery or sticky tables. The bill came in at £73 which for two for 5 dishes coffee, brandy and 2 glasses of fizz is pretty good. They even booked us a cab home.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeannaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Pelham Arms, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Many thanks for your review, its lovely when someone takes the time to say such good things about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding day.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our day could not have been better. Everything was as we expected it to be. The food was absolutely fab, they served 40 people hot food , with all the trimmings and drinks all round. The atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable throughout our meal and all day, the staff could not do enough for us. We chose the pub because of our lovely food experiences there and they delivered that and so much more.

We would recommend this venue for a romantic meal, a quick lunch, for just a drink or a day like ours, superb!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jammmmmmmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Pelham Arms, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hope you both have a great time on your honeymoon, your wedding was a blast and and we all really enjoyed being your host. Many thanks for your review!

Contact us via our website if you want to hold a private function, we only do a few a year so can offer a vary bespoke service to make you event really personalized and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelham Arms also viewed

 
Lewes, East Sussex
 
Lewes, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Pelham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing