We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shelleys
Nearby Hotels
$76
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$92
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre(Lewes)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Horse Hotel(Rottingdean)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Sussex National(Little Horsted)
$138
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$231
$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Forge(Halland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Horsted Place(Little Horsted)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
167
111
67
36
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
111
67
36
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomlovely hoteldrawing roomhigh streetold buildingpublic roomsbeautiful buildingcomfortable roomscar parkwedding receptionbreakfast was excellentstayed one nightan overnight stayafternoon teafull englishsconesglyndebourne
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 412 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2008

I stay here often and its always a delight, the staff are the jewel in the crown here, friendly and helpful. If you are looking for technical perfection you may have a few grumbles - the heating takes a bit of juggling to get the room temperature right. Breakfast is delicious but the service can be a bit haphazard, ive been known to finish my entire meal before the toast arrives. But these are relatively trivial compared to the overall feeling of gracious welcome.

Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
Thank guysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

I stayed at the hotel for a weekend in October with my girlfriend. I have to say the hotel was excellent, we enjoyed the food at both breakfast and dinner and the service in the reception and bar were also good.

Our room was a standard double which was well appointed and had a large bathroom and walkin closet.

Would definately stay again if I return to Lewes

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CheekySpoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Yesterday was a family wedding in Lewes: many of the wedding party stayed in the hotel and the post-wedding dinner and party were at Shelleys. (Why no apostrophe anywhere? No one seems to know.) Arriving at noon (the wedding was at 2:00) the receptionist said "check in is at 2:00". Eek! However, a short panic over, the wires got straightened out. The room was excellent: large, well-appointed with comfortable antique and antique-seeming furniture. There was an excellent view out over the garden-- a large one for Lewes, where space is at a premium. The marble-lined bathroom was large and spotless. Bidets, apparently, are standard kit too. Many different types of tea were in the tea-making kit.

After the wedding, back to the hotel for the dinner and partying. The staff worked well together and everything was coordinated clearly and sensitively. The food was good (it can't be easy feeding a large party) and well prepared. The vegetarians especially liked their food. (The roast lamb was excellent, too.)

The party in the evening went very smoothly and the food laid on during the evening was a cut above the usual.

The only point that the hotel might really be faulted on (aside from the crossed wires on arrival) was the fact that the television was clearly both a bit old and fairly primitive: only the basic analogue channels.

It would be a good place to stay for a longer time when visiting this part of the world. This is the second hotel in Lewes we have stayed at (the other was the Pelham) and, on the whole, we feel we would rather stay at Shelleys, even though the Pelham was a very good hotel indeed. The availability of good parking facilities, in particular, is a great plus for Shelleys.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenPen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Just returned from a two-night special deal break at the hotel which included breakfast, dinner one night and complimentary passes for Lewes Castle & Anne of Cleves House. Our room was very large, beautifully clean and overlooked the garden. Fine selection of teas/coffee and fresh milk and ice supplied every evening. The restaurant food was delicious and plenty of choice from menu for breakfast. The staff were courteous and very pleasant, the new owner has lots of enthusiasm to make improvements although I really couldn't fault it and I think it should be at least a 4*. Centrally located in the High Street with a car park which makes it great for exploring Lewes. Many other places a short drive away. Would definitately return here again it was a lovely break.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzannebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

I have been staying weeknights Monday to Friday in this wonderful hotel in Lewes. The staff are friendly, polite and care for my every need. It is always clean and well presented. The rooms are absolutely excellent, with so much detail, right down to the tea selection, teapot cups, and ice bucket, which gets re filled by an evening room service. The food is another brilliant aspect of this wonderful hotel. I have my breakfast delivered to my room every morning, and it is prepared with such care (as is all of the hotels food), unlike some larger hotels where it's coked on mass. A good breakfast and general food selection too.

What more can I say, I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lewes!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank aca532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews