We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stay in the annex if your not expecting much”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I bought this one night as a gift for my husband. I had seen reviews about the annex but unfortunately that is where we were sent. The first issue was parking or lack of. Next was the step hill to climb up to the main hotel !. Our room was on the ground floor. A good size but sadly that is all it had going for it. Very tatty and worn with a pink bathroom and mismatched toilet seat. A huge hole under the sink added to the effect!! The room had a nasty musty smell which really made me feel sick. The carpet was dirty and so where the walls. To add to this the room above had terrible creaky floor and where constantly walking . Plus you could hear everything ....... And I mean everything . We also had a meal . Although the staff were very friendly the food portions were small and tasteless. I was given 11 French beans with dinner none were cooked. My fresh fruit salad was a tiny amount of pear, same of pineapple and a bowl of water melon. Not my idea of a fresh fruit salad.
It is a great odd building but sadly very tired and worn. It is in need of a total refit and the shed they call the annex needs to be shut down and rebuilt. Oh I should also say expect to share leisure centre with the general public.
On NO account stay in the annex

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theboysUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
There are newer reviews for White Hart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 979 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The White Hart for dinner, bed and breakfast. The first impression as person gets of any company is the voice on the other end of the phone. That voice was Jose and he was so customer friendly. We arrived and Jose was there to greet us. Customer service is his passion and it shows. The room was lovely and quaint. The evening meal was as good as any I have had in any 4/5 star hotel. The service again was exemplary. The bed was comfortable and there was an abundance of hot water for showers and baths. The breakfast was good and the whole experience was one of old English charm and comfort. Some of the furniture is looking as if it needs a little tlc, but overall our stay was very pleasant and we will be back. Margaret, Surrey

Room Tip: For old world charm, ask for a room in the main hotel
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mar1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for such a great endorsement of customer service and your overall comments about the hotel. Jose is a great asset to the hotel as are many other members of the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here so many times. Theres something really lovely about this hotel its very old and quirky. Lovely staff. The bedrooms in main building are all lovely. Pelham suite is the best. Only thing is quite often the steamroom not working. Love this hotel. So central too.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank siketi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments and your loyalty to the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon. In the meantime the steam room which has proved temperamental in the past has been fixed....so fingers crossed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a really nice stay here on a Groupon deal including dinner which was very nice. We had a room in the annexe with a balcony which we loved as it was a warm weekend. Our only problem was the cups were unwashed but we called reception and this was rectified straight away. There were some really nice touches in the room and the staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't get time to use the pool but will hopefully be back for another night in Lewes soon. Thank you to all the staff for the hard work you have been putting in - its paying off.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelmiche32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you, I'm not sure what happened about the cups, but obviously I am sorry it happened. We appreciate your positive comments which are a great boost to the staff here who work so hard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Having read reviews we requested a room in the main building, which was fine, but really hot. We were in Room 20. We turned the radiator off and opened windows but it was still boiling, I wouldn't stay in this room again. The staff everywhere were all really lovely and helpful. The dinner was ok, not amazing but not bad. Apparently 3 courses would normally have been £22 each which I don't think it was worth. The soup I had was a bit cold, and the breakfast foods went cold very quickly, their hot plate thing can't have been that good. The breakfast was ok, I have had many a full english and it's better than travelodge (real sausages!) but not as good as some places I've stayed. The gym, pool, sauna were great, loved the pool. Changing rooms are pretty dated but doesn't really matter. Amazing value for money with groupon, so do it, but I'm not sure I'd pay full price.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Sorry that some aspects of your stay disappointed, but we will act on them to make on-going improvements. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for work reasons for 3 nights. Stayed in the annex. As you walk in there is an awful stale smell. Room was in need of a lick of paint and to be honest a refurb. The towels provided were like hand towels. Shower was just a trickle. Walls were so thin you could hear everything. But the worse thing I woke up covered in bites. Not pleased at all. The staff were nice but I would never recommend this hotel. How they are still open is beyond me.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank CillaA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

I am really sorry that your stay was not the pleasant experience it should have been, your comments have been noted and we will continue to make improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We are sitting here in the lovely, sunny terrace room, enjoying what must be said is probably one of the best hotels breakfasts we have ever had....can't remember the last time I saw proper scrambled egg on a breakfast buffet..or indeed perfectly cooked New potatoes.!
We had a wonderful sleep in a magnificent room, (26) although if anyone was underneath us, they may not have , as the old floorboards were appropriately squeaky. Room and bathroom were very clean and tidy, in fact most of the hotels public spaces were.
Dinner last night was superb...better then some restraunts I have been to, compliments to the chief.
All in all a great hotel, that you can visually see is trying to improve its image, very friendly staff and no complaints from us.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJones72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our terrace. Your positive comments are very encouraging to us all. I hope you will be able to return. Thank you for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#5 of 8 in Lewes
820 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
388 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
171 reviews
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,215 reviews
4.7 mi away
White Lodge B&B
White Lodge B&B
#1 of 1 in Cooksbridge
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: $89 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing