We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food, friendly staff great weekend!”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, good food, friendly staff great weekend!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Yes this a tired hotel which probably needs a fortune spent on it but my friend and I had a great weekend here, The staff were wonderful the food surprisingly good, great location in Lewes high street, free parking and a swimming pool at a fabulous price We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemingtonSquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments relating to your recent stay it was great to read that your stay was that of an enjoyable one.We do hope that we an be of assistance to you on your next visit to the Lewes area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    256
    213
    170
    234
See reviews for
131
418
43
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just stayed the night at The White Hart Lewes and did not enjoy the place.
Staff are all keen and friendly and I must say the food on offer was quite good.
The hotel in general is not very clean and really does need a total refurbishment.
I know some people say its quaint and quirky but I would call it tired and worn!!!
Bathrooms are passed their sell by date same as the bed linen.
Carpets throughout are worn and threadbare.
They say they have a Gym but the machines are ancient.
Give this place a miss until a total refurb takes place!!
On a good note Lewes Castle is a short walk away and is Magnificent!!
If you're in the area it really is worth a look.

Room Tip: None that I could recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback,your comments really do count as we strive to move the White Hart forward.There are many qualities to the hotel and I am confident that in time we can strive forward with the White Hart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lewes hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

There is a mixture of previous reviews and did not know what to expect. The reviews on parking are correct, very tight and not many. However, once you were in, you did not need to go out again.
All staff we come across were pleasant and willing to assist.
If you are looking for a modern hotel, then your experience and review will be low. However, if you accept this is an old hotel with its slopping creeking floors, thenyou will love this. We stayed in the main hotel and although the room was small, it had everything you needed. We had trouble with the TV, but the person on the reception soon fixed it.
Breakfast was fine and a wide selection. Hotel position in Lewes was great, with easy access the shops, restaurants, and pubs.
The hotel stay was worth what we paid, but I would not of liked to stay at full rack rate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robins_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to read your positive comments following your recent stay at the hotel,your comments will be shared with the remainder of the team and we do hope that you will revisit the hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you prefer the older style of hotel room you should stipulate it or you may be in the newer annex.
The bathrooms are a little antiquated but we found this, along with the slightly sloping floor of the room a bit of a giggle.
Food was good and service friendly.
Ideal position in the town for transport if you want to forget the car.

Room Tip: Ask for the hotel rather than the annex if you prefer the old world charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinaSolEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to outline your overall enjoyment of your stay.The hotel does have its special features which are unique is this day.We will continue to strive forward and make the neccessary that may be required
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is undoubtably a quirky old hotel. We were luckily in the old building with a bedroom which sloped and creaked us down towards a very good bathroom. Sadly the old sash windows let in quite a lot of unseasonably cold air and storage was puzzling.
The food was good value, plentiful and well cooked, and I could not fault the breakfast which was very good. Given the arctic winds that swept through Lewes, the hotel was warm enough although the open log fires struggled to heat the public areas which were chilled when doors were opened.
The staff were obliging and seemed to work hard to look after us. I would certainly stay here again.



  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positve feedback I hope the team can welcome you back to the hotel on a future occassion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Despite the mediocre score, I have to point out that we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. However let us be clear that this is not a boutique hotel with all the modern conveniences. It is a VERY old hotel that has had a number of add ons, which are in turn in need of some updates. If you want to stay in a hotel with low roofs, timber beams and all the other period features you would hope to find then I think you will enjoy your stay. The dining room was well appointed although the conservatory was distinctly chilly at this time of year, and the food was nice, but not exceptional. The staff however were all very pleasant, and made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room in the main building if you want period character, but beware if you are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nebukinezzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedbak in relation to your recent stay,your comments are very much appreciated and discussed at hotel level in order that improvements can be made.We do hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

As mentioned by another traveller, we got the fantastic Groupon deal - 2 nights bed and breakfast, afternoon tea on arrival, a 3 course meal and use of the pool/spa facilities. This was an amazing deal and we will definitely return if it comes up again (fingers crossed). Also agree with other 'advisors' who say that the decor etc could do with updating, but everything was clean and the staff were so nice and helpful and couldn't do enough to help. We got a lovely welcome with our yummy afternoon tea and although I was worried about taking our 11 month old with us, i needn't have been - we got a nice big room in the annexe so enough space for our travel cot and for her to crawl around. Staff made a fuss of her and we were made to feel most welcome. Breakfast was great, evening meal lovely, me and the little one enjoyed a lovely swim in spotlessly clean pool and facilities. Location fantastic, right in the centre of Lewes, free parking, fantastic value for money, hope we get the chance to return! Thank you to the staff :o)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 839AnnaC839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback in relation to your recent stay,your comments really make a difference.We do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you again to the White Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
374 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
240 reviews
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,175 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing