We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lewes Lions 42nd Charter Dinner & Dance - 9th February 2013”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lewes Lions 42nd Charter Dinner & Dance - 9th February 2013”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Having used this hotel as our venue for our Charter Dinner/Dance for many years, we were delighted this year with the event, as it was the best we have had.
From our first meeting with the manager Derek McNeill,who made the whole booking process so easy we knew we were going to have an extremely well run evening. This proved to be the case. Staff were attentive, polite and cheerful. The function room was very well laid out and the bar efficiently manned. Nothing was too much trouble. We would have no hesitation in recommending this venue for any similar event.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback in relation to your function we look forward to hosting your event next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    256
    213
    170
    234
See reviews for
131
418
43
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for one night in the Pelham suite. Bed was very comfortable, shower lovely and hot. Although room was main road side traffic did quiten down through night . We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We had cream tea with glass of bubbly sitting by big log fire which was very relaxing. swimming pool not very big but warm and clean. The hotel carpet are bit worn out in public areas but this all adds to the charm of the hotel. Breakfeast freshly cooked. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shebaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest

I am delighted that you founf the charming and cosy surroundings of the hotel to your liking,the team look forward to extending you a warm welcome on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just arrived back from this wonderful hotel what a find this is .we would recommend to our friends . We loved it so much we weren't expecting much for what we paid but can I just say what a place indeed . We didn't have time to use the pool but as I write this we are looking to book again on the 18th and bring the girls .ps the breakfast was fabulous and William is a great asset to this hotel looking foreword to staying there soon .paul and Wendy f

Room Tip: Try and book a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendyf1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to your recent stay,the team look forward to extending you a warm welcome on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I am getting married in Lewes in August this year and we have booked our wedding reception in the County Suite at the Hotel.
We were attracted to The White Hart Hotel because of its quirky features and it does not disappoint.
After reading past reviews we were naturally very concerned. I contacted the new Hotel Manager, Mr Derek McNeil and we arranged a meeting to discuss the concerns myself and my partner had.
We were met by Mr McNeil in the reception and as we made our way through to the far lounge the improvements became immediately apparent.
The Hotel is cleaner, smarter and Mr McNeil has made great improvements in a very short space of time.
We met the chef, who had been enticed back to work at the Hotel after leaving last year.
We were shown the rooms we will be using and other areas of the Hotel, including the Annexe as I have family staying here over the weekend of the wedding.
The rooms are clean, undergoing a facelift and I was very happy with what I saw.
Mr McNeil is addressing the key issues concerning this Hotel and is doing a fantastic job.
He is open to engaging in conversation with anyone about their concerns if they have any.
The staff are helpful and friendly and I urge people to give the Hotel a chance and see for yourself the improvements being made.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merryjean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Merryjean

Thank you for your comments and the team look forward to extending a warm welcome to you and all your family and friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night . We parked our car in the car park with difficulty, as there was a car parked right by a "no parking" sign which gave very little room to get into the space. We told the receptionist as we were worried we wouldn't be able to get out of the space again and she said she would get the manager on to it. However, the car was still there the following morning! On walking up to the reception area from the car park there was a huge amount of rubbish piled up in a stairwell which didn't make a very good first impression. Our room was in an annexe at the back of the hotel, and whilst the room was clean it was very dated, especially the bathroom, with cracked tiles and although clean it took forever for the shower to run warm enough. The room was extremely hot, even in February, and the window did not open. The window overlooked the car park complete with a large amount of rubbish piled up in the corner.
We were woken at 1am by the guests in the room above walking around on the very creaky floorboards! This carried on for 30-40 minutes and sounded as if they would be joining us any minute.
Breakfast was buffet style, with the choice of continental or cooked. We opted for the cooked breakfast, which was very nice and freshly cooked as you watched.
The main part of the hotel looked lovely, and it would have been interesting to see the rooms there. We are not, by any means, fussy but this hotel was let down by the tattiness and rubbish, and I would say ensure you are staying in the main hotel if you stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the annexe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zengirl951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay,please call me on 01273 467794 to discuss your concerns further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by staff who were nice enough, but did not go the extra mile to make us feel welcome.
When we went to our room, we had troubles even getting into it as door handle was coming off. (and was a total nightmare to lock when we wanted to go out).
Our room was completely 'wonky' (we kind of liked this, and it is to be expected in such an old building.but im sure others would not care for this!).
Our room was dated (but not in a good way), and generally tired looking and run down. e.g marks all over the walls, worn carpets, damp patched on bathroom celling. Could have also done with being cleaned better, but was acceptable.
The bar area was very nice and the open fire lovely; but again staff were not particuarly welcoming.
This hotels' saving grace as far as we were concerned was the delicious breakfast- plenty of choice, food was lovely and hot and the service was a little better than we had experienced on check-in and at the bar.
Again sadly on checking-out staff made no effort to find out if we had enjoyed our stay and only appeared intrested in settling the bill.
A fairly priced hotel but just missing those little touches that could make it a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank come_review_with_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to offer your constructive feedback your comments will be investigated and corrected as a matter of urgency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

You are greeted with the fabulously friendly, helpful staff and it's service with a smile the whole way. Yes there are a few tired looking parts but it's an antique hotel! The rooms are lovely and warm with comfy beds and real snuggly duvets. The facilities were good, a little bit of maintenece to tidy it up would go a long way but the pool was lovely and warm which is hard to find these days. The staff were fabulous, the location is great and the menu was so good we ate the same food both nights. The open fires in the lounge and bar areas make for an olde worlde feel and the bubbly was wonderful. The breakfast catered for all apetites and again was delicious with plenty of tea and coffee to start the day. Well done team!!

Room Tip: ask for one of the modern rooms in trhe annexe as it's quiet because they are off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krysha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your positive comments on Tripadvisor,the team look forward to extending a warm welcome on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
790 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
374 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
240 reviews
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,175 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing