We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy charming hotel”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for one night in the Pelham suite. Bed was very comfortable, shower lovely and hot. Although room was main road side traffic did quiten down through night . We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We had cream tea with glass of bubbly sitting by big log fire which was very relaxing. swimming pool not very big but warm and clean. The hotel carpet are bit worn out in public areas but this all adds to the charm of the hotel. Breakfeast freshly cooked. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shebaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Guest

I am delighted that you founf the charming and cosy surroundings of the hotel to your liking,the team look forward to extending you a warm welcome on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 981 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just arrived back from this wonderful hotel what a find this is .we would recommend to our friends . We loved it so much we weren't expecting much for what we paid but can I just say what a place indeed . We didn't have time to use the pool but as I write this we are looking to book again on the 18th and bring the girls .ps the breakfast was fabulous and William is a great asset to this hotel looking foreword to staying there soon .paul and Wendy f

Room Tip: Try and book a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendyf1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to your recent stay,the team look forward to extending you a warm welcome on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I am getting married in Lewes in August this year and we have booked our wedding reception in the County Suite at the Hotel.
We were attracted to The White Hart Hotel because of its quirky features and it does not disappoint.
After reading past reviews we were naturally very concerned. I contacted the new Hotel Manager, Mr Derek McNeil and we arranged a meeting to discuss the concerns myself and my partner had.
We were met by Mr McNeil in the reception and as we made our way through to the far lounge the improvements became immediately apparent.
The Hotel is cleaner, smarter and Mr McNeil has made great improvements in a very short space of time.
We met the chef, who had been enticed back to work at the Hotel after leaving last year.
We were shown the rooms we will be using and other areas of the Hotel, including the Annexe as I have family staying here over the weekend of the wedding.
The rooms are clean, undergoing a facelift and I was very happy with what I saw.
Mr McNeil is addressing the key issues concerning this Hotel and is doing a fantastic job.
He is open to engaging in conversation with anyone about their concerns if they have any.
The staff are helpful and friendly and I urge people to give the Hotel a chance and see for yourself the improvements being made.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Merryjean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Merryjean

Thank you for your comments and the team look forward to extending a warm welcome to you and all your family and friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night . We parked our car in the car park with difficulty, as there was a car parked right by a "no parking" sign which gave very little room to get into the space. We told the receptionist as we were worried we wouldn't be able to get out of the space again and she said she would get the manager on to it. However, the car was still there the following morning! On walking up to the reception area from the car park there was a huge amount of rubbish piled up in a stairwell which didn't make a very good first impression. Our room was in an annexe at the back of the hotel, and whilst the room was clean it was very dated, especially the bathroom, with cracked tiles and although clean it took forever for the shower to run warm enough. The room was extremely hot, even in February, and the window did not open. The window overlooked the car park complete with a large amount of rubbish piled up in the corner.
We were woken at 1am by the guests in the room above walking around on the very creaky floorboards! This carried on for 30-40 minutes and sounded as if they would be joining us any minute.
Breakfast was buffet style, with the choice of continental or cooked. We opted for the cooked breakfast, which was very nice and freshly cooked as you watched.
The main part of the hotel looked lovely, and it would have been interesting to see the rooms there. We are not, by any means, fussy but this hotel was let down by the tattiness and rubbish, and I would say ensure you are staying in the main hotel if you stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the annexe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Zengirl951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay,please call me on 01273 467794 to discuss your concerns further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by staff who were nice enough, but did not go the extra mile to make us feel welcome.
When we went to our room, we had troubles even getting into it as door handle was coming off. (and was a total nightmare to lock when we wanted to go out).
Our room was completely 'wonky' (we kind of liked this, and it is to be expected in such an old building.but im sure others would not care for this!).
Our room was dated (but not in a good way), and generally tired looking and run down. e.g marks all over the walls, worn carpets, damp patched on bathroom celling. Could have also done with being cleaned better, but was acceptable.
The bar area was very nice and the open fire lovely; but again staff were not particuarly welcoming.
This hotels' saving grace as far as we were concerned was the delicious breakfast- plenty of choice, food was lovely and hot and the service was a little better than we had experienced on check-in and at the bar.
Again sadly on checking-out staff made no effort to find out if we had enjoyed our stay and only appeared intrested in settling the bill.
A fairly priced hotel but just missing those little touches that could make it a great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank come_review_with_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to offer your constructive feedback your comments will be investigated and corrected as a matter of urgency.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

You are greeted with the fabulously friendly, helpful staff and it's service with a smile the whole way. Yes there are a few tired looking parts but it's an antique hotel! The rooms are lovely and warm with comfy beds and real snuggly duvets. The facilities were good, a little bit of maintenece to tidy it up would go a long way but the pool was lovely and warm which is hard to find these days. The staff were fabulous, the location is great and the menu was so good we ate the same food both nights. The open fires in the lounge and bar areas make for an olde worlde feel and the bubbly was wonderful. The breakfast catered for all apetites and again was delicious with plenty of tea and coffee to start the day. Well done team!!

Room Tip: ask for one of the modern rooms in trhe annexe as it's quiet because they are off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Krysha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your positive comments on Tripadvisor,the team look forward to extending a warm welcome on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked three rooms for the Christmas break and had a very enjoyable time.
We arrived on Christmas Eve and received a warm welcome and went to our rooms. We were lucky enough to be in the main building on the second floor with all the rooms having retained all their character and 'olde worlde charm'. We were in the room next door to our children - lucky we knew each other as we could hear everything through the walls!! They had a twin-bedded room and a lovely modern bathroom. Our room was split level and full of character - our bathroom was fine but could do with modernising. My parents were in the next room which must have been on top of the kitchens as they got some very odd smells wafting up - not all of them pleasant unfortunately!
Our three night stay included afternoon tea on Christmas Eve which was very nice - especially as we sat by one of the open fires. The lounges are in need of some attention but if they're modernised too much all the character of the hotel will be lost and that would be a real shame. We liked the fact that the lounges all had odd furniture in them and things didn't match - it was comfortable and welcoming and you didn't feel that you had to be on your best behaviour, the atmosphere was very much home from home and relaxing.
Our evening meal on Christmas Eve was very nice chosen from an a la carte menu. As we were a group of six we weren't lucky enough to be in the main dining room, which was lovely, we were in the conservatory which really does need work done. The roof leaked (and it rained an awful lot over Christmas 2012!) so there were both mould and wet patches on the ceiling and buckets on the floor! The lighting and heating in the conservatory was unpredictable too!!
Hot chocolate and mince pies were served in the lounges at about 10pm on Christmas Eve which was a very nice touch.
Breakfast on Christmas morning was very nice and the manager was present at that time serving people but that's the last time we saw him.
Christmas Lunch was lovely - again there were choices - traditional turkey but also fish and vegetarian options.
There was a buffet in the evening which was very disappointing - nothing for non meat eaters (my Mum!) although the chef did find a small piece of salmon he cooked which we appreciated.
Breakfast on Boxing Day wasn't as good as the previous day - the fried bread we'd enjoyed so much the previous morning wasn't on offer but nobody knew why!
At 10am all the residents were invited into the Sheriff's Room to watch the local Hunt parade through the town which is hosted by the hotel. As it turned out, the Hunt weren't arriving until 11am but we were treated to a glass of mulled wine while we waited which was very nice and warming! The Hunt was a great experience to watch - all the horses and dogs stopped outside the hotel and the Master of the Hunt appeared on the balcony of the Sheriff's Room (with lots of the residents!) and made his speech and then an hour or so later they went off.
On Boxing Day, lunch was a carvery which was OK, except the chef wouldn't let us have our meat rare in case we complained about it later??!!
Our evening meal on Boxing Day was from the a la carte menu - the choices weren't so great this time and our daughter asked if she could have an omelette instead which was no problem at all and was served with a salad.
Overall we had a very enjoyable time but there were a few things the staff could improve on - the restaurant staff in particular (with the exception of a couple of staff) clearly didn't want to be working over Christmas and were quite surly and unhelpful - one in particular did everything she could not to get eye contact with a customer so that she didn't have to do any more work than she could get away with!!
Also, as this was a Christmas break we had expected there to be more of a party atmosphere in the hotel - the trees looked lovely and the log fires were fantastic but the staff weren't interested in Christmas at all and there was no entertainment laid on which seemed a shame.
The location of the hotel is fantastic for visiting the rest of the town - which has much more to offer than you first realise and if the weather had been better we would have taken advantage of the Downs and gone on some nice long walks too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building if possible - that's where all the character is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asdas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest

May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time and trouble to offer your constructive feedback.May I ask you to call me on 01273 476694 to discuss you stay further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
393 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
171 reviews
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,233 reviews
6.7 mi away
The BlackSmith's Arms
The BlackSmith's Arms
#2 of 2 in Halland
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: $88 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing