We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!!!”
Review of Beechwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beechwood
Ranked #3 of 39 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Arrived late in the afternoon, had a very nice warm welcome from Carol (the owner), and was treated to a brilliant chicken roast! The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and cosy... couldnt have asked for any more! The B+B holds a fantastic garden... with an absolutely fantastic hot tub! I highly recommend this B+B and will be definately staying here in the near future! Thanks Carol for a lovely stay!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsWilsonWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
90
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Very Friendly .Made extremely welcome as part of the family.Quality accomodation with 5 star luxurious standards.Beautiful setting in large gardens ,beautifully maintained.Excellent positon for all links - rail air.Great food and fantastic hospitality.6 star in my book

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I stayed at this guesthouse with friends for a nearby wedding. The room was beautifully decorated and Carol made us feel very welcome throughout the rest of the house. The hot tub was a real treat which we all enjoyed, adding another element to the whole relaxing atmosphere of the guesthouse. Wouldn't consider booking anywhere else for when i'm down that way again! 5 stars all round.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RioDeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

I would fully recommend this B&B to anyone. I stayed with a group of friends, and without exception all thought it was one of the friendliest and most welcoming places we'd ever stayed! The rooms are perfect for couples or for friends to share, the area is beautiful countryside, and the breakfast was just what we all needed... If your in this neck of the woods, I would thoroughly recommend you stay there! Oh, And the Hot tub is quality!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cswalker142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishman in York
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I stayed at Beechwood B&B for two nights with my fiancée and some friends when we were attending a wedding nearby. Everything about our stay was superb. The house was impeccably presented, as were the rooms - the shower and spa bath were fantastic. There was plenty of space to make ourselves feel quite at home and Carol was the perfect host, allowing us to have a Champagne lunch in the garden on Friday afternoon before our taxis arrived. I didn't think it could get much better but it did: the perfect way to relax the following day was in the Hot Tub! Also, it will be a long time before I have a breakfast as good as that again. I didn't want to leave on Sunday morning. Thanks for a very special weekend Carol. We'll be visiting again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

I stayed at Beechwood with my boyfriend for a friend's wedding at Buxted Park. It was a sunny weekend so we could go into the garden and play with the gorgeous dogs!

The rooms were immaculate. We stayed in the Green Room which is very big and has it's own en suite.

Carol helped us find a local pub to eat dinner and even booked us a taxi to and from the wedding. Nothing was too much trouble.

We'll definitely be coming back to stay if we're back in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScroogeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chyland, owner at Beechwood, responded to this review, August 15, 2009
Thank you for your review.

Kind regards Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
6.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
802 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
379 reviews
6.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
170 reviews
1.4 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,190 reviews
3.8 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood

Property: Beechwood
Address: Beechwood Eastbourne Road | Halland, Lewes BN8 6PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beechwood 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beechwood Guest House is a Gold Award Five Star Bed and Breakfast in East Sussex, this Sussex style house sits in one acre of mature gardens. We are ideally located for a host of local venues, including East Sussex National Golf Club and Glyndebourne Opera House just 10 mins from door to door. Within a twenty mile radius you can get to Brighton, Tunbridge Wells and Eastbourne. We are only 25 miles from Gatwick and 3 miles from the local Uckfield railway station, which is a direct line into London. We will be very happy to advise on the wide choice of local pubs and restaurants, as well as local places of interest and the excellent choice of National Trust locations within the area. We are open all-year-round including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Beechwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing