We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better for visiting Glyndebourne ...”
Review of Beechwood B and B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechwood B and B
Ranked #3 of 39 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in the Ruby Room overlooking the beautiful garden. It was extremely comfortable with a lot of thought having gone into providing for every need. Breakfast did not disappoint! Carol & Ceri were most welcoming and helpful about getting to Glyndebourne and Brighton. It proved to be an excellent choice and somewhere we would definitely return to

RMH.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Beechwood B and B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 170 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Spent four nights in this B&B. Well appointed room and bathroom. Perhaps too many ornaments in the room.Bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of storage for clothes and belongings.We were happy to oblige by taking our shoes off at the front door - it is exactly what we do in our own house. Wide variety of choice at breakfast. Carol and Ceri were very friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Emerald room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed in this B&B with my boyfriend when visiting family. We stayed in the emerald room which is really big and defo has the wow factor! The en-suite is lush too, really big and had a power shower for my boyfriend and bath for me! Carol was really nice to us and gave us cake and tea when we arrived!
I slept really well and breakfast was so yummy in the morning. Lots of choice! I had eggs benedict and my boyfriend had the full English... Both were delicious and both plates empty!
Would definitely recommend this B&B to anybody! A real 5* experience :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in the 'Sapphire' room for one night after an evening at Glyndebourne.

Carol and Ceri are most hospitable and care about their business and guests. In this context, it is difficult to start picking over what they have achieved, but I can't be quite so enthusiastic as most of the other reviewers.

We were perhaps unfortunate in that the electronic shower in the new spacious bathroom for the 'Sapphire' room did not work (and there is no bath) - teething problems after the water leak mentioned in another review - for which Carol and Ceri were most apologetic. The bathroom is not en-suite but private to the room. It will be a nice feature once fully operational.

There are all the features required of a five-graded Tourist board establishment, but we felt that the room was far too cluttered and busy, almost overwhelming. Too many ornaments and nick-nacks, and plates on stands. Too many soft furnishings for a relatively small room overfilled with chunky furniture. A nice idea to have a small fridge, but not clear it is really necessary when filled only with a couple of small bottles of water and little containers of UHT milk. We switched it off as it was noisy and gave out too much heat in the room.

Our disappointment was breakfast. Many other reviews have praised this aspect of the service but our experience was different. Yes, there was great choice, but the quality of the food was not commensurate with the expectation of a higher-end place. We were asked to make our choices the night before - not always a bad thing - but even though we were down sharpish for breakfast, it did appear that our cooked breakfast had been hanging around for some time and was tough and rubbery as a result. Plastic containers of butter and 'value' jam complimented the 'Happy Shopper' yogurts and carton orange juice. All perfectly adequate, of course, but disappointing given others' comments, our resulting expectation, and the top-end pricing.

You should note that an additional amount of 2.5% will be charged if a credit card is used for payment. This was disclosed in the volume of 'room notes' (as well as on their website). We were charged this in spite of our bathroom experience. Again, just a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SometimeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I booked our Saturday night stay as a last minute getaway. We didn't really know what to expect, but were definitely very pleased with our choice. Our hosts were both very welcoming, our room was very spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the bathroom just gorgeous (what a power shower!). Breakfast was delicious too. At just half an hour from Brighton and other attractions nearby this was a great find. Only small 'complaint' - the website said swimming pool, but unforunately it hadn't been opened this summer. We would defintiely recommend it,

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemaolzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights either side of a Glyndebourne visit. The reception was warm and friendly, in spite of various trials afflicting our hosts, and we would go along with the various comments made recently.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepid-traveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

For somewhere comfortable, convenient for so many places and great food, as well as value for money Beechwood is a class act. Carol and Ceri are very hospitable but not intrusive and breakfast is a wonderful assault on the senses. we shall be returning. David & Wendy

Room Tip: Go for en-suite rather than private bathroom
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h2orev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
7.0 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
388 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#5 of 8 in Lewes
820 reviews
2.2 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
171 reviews
3.9 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood B and B

Address: Eastbourne Road | Halland, Lewes BN8 6PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range: $150 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beechwood B and B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beechwood Guest House is a Gold Award Five Star Bed and Breakfast in East Sussex, this Sussex style house sits in one acre of mature gardens. We are ideally located for a host of local venues, including East Sussex National Golf Club and Glyndebourne Opera House just 10 mins from door to door. Within a twenty mile radius you can get to Brighton, Tunbridge Wells and Eastbourne. We are only 25 miles from Gatwick and 3 miles from the local Uckfield railway station, which is a direct line into London. We will be very happy to advise on the wide choice of local pubs and restaurants, as well as local places of interest and the excellent choice of National Trust locations within the area. We are open all-year-round including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Beechwood B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood B And B Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing