We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B near Glyndebourne”
Review of Nightingales

Nightingales
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nightingales
Ranked #34 of 40 Lewes B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We go to Glyndebourne every year and have stayed in many excellent B&Bs in the area. Nightingales is probably the best.

The rooms are extremely well appointed with comfortable beds and good bathrooms. Jean's welcome is warm, readily giving tea and home made cakes on arrival. Breakfast is a treat with eggs from her own hens. The garden is well maintained with a lot of interesting plants.

The location is ideal for Glyndebourne but is also close to the South Downs Way. We have walked it and this ranks with the best B&Bs on the route. We will certainly go there again

Room Tip: Both rooms are marvellous. The new bed in the room overlooking the garden is enormous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

Nightingales is lovely. We spent one night here while walking the South Downs Way and found everything to our liking. We received a lovely warm welcome from our friendly hostess, Jean into her beautiful house. Our room was tasteful, comfortable and clean with everything we needed. The house is in a quiet road so you get a good night's sleep. The en-suite bathroom was also spotlessly clean and well equiped. Breakfast was nicely presented and delicious. The village is very pretty and the pub (for a large selection of very good food) is a short walk away. We would stay there again and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill2001c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Very nice welcome with a cup of tea and a chat in her large living room.
She has a lovely dog and 4 chickens for the eggs. Nice Big room. There was even Fresh Milk in the room.
Jean is a lovely lady but very chatty and hard to get away.
Would certainely go back and stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Clean, comfortable, amazing welcome and outstanding breakfast. Jean is lovely and we'll be recommending this b&b to all.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franco25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Nightingales B&B is a very welcoming enviroment,
we booked two rooms for a weekend in august 2008, for my family, as we were getting married,
from the day we booked , we had a very good correspondence with the owner, up to the day of booking in,
the owner is a lovely lady, very approachable,
and the accomodation is wanderful very clean lovely surroundings and gardens,
more then value for money, very affordable,
My family said that they will most definatly stay there again,

1  Thank catrina_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lewes hotels
4.7 mi away
White Lodge B&B
White Lodge B&B
#1 of 1 in Cooksbridge
448 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Blacksmiths Arms
The Blacksmiths Arms
#1 of 1 in Offham
209 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelham House Hotel
7.1 mi away
The BlackSmith's Arms
The BlackSmith's Arms
#1 of 2 in Halland
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 7 in Lewes
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nightingales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightingales

Address: 38 Western Road, Lewes, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Nightingales Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing