We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'a all about expectations!”
Review of Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you a expecting a smart, renovated, stylish hotel you will be disappointed. If you are expecting a hotel that was once lovely but hasn't been decorated or maintained for 30 years, with friendly staff in a great location in a lovely town then you will not be disappointed. Our booking was fine. I confirmed by telephone. Fixtures and fittings were old and worn but clean. Carpet on the bathroom floor! The hotel has a traditional pub. Breakfast was similarly from the 1980s but OK. So, all in all, reasonable value if you know what to expect. Lots of potential as a business for someone with plenty to invest. It's a lovely building in a great location (in the town centre, five minutes from the station) and would be a fantastic hotel, if appropriately refurbished.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 221 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had booked 2 nights for tonight and Saturday - Mumford & Sons are in town. I had not checked Trip Advisor before booking but became concerned following a comment about the hotel from a colleague who lived in Lewes. Telephoned The Crown last night to be told that the booking was fine and they would see us today. Received an e-mail from Late rooms this afternoon to say the Crown had cancelled due to an electrical fault. Phoned The Crown who said they had been overbooked. Said they no longer did business with Late Rooms and denied I could have spoken to anybody there the previous evening. Unhelpful and unapologetic.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
14  Thank brightonian69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I'm afraid I can't comment on the state of this hotel on the inside as they wouldn't honour my confirmed booking and so I didn't ever actually get inside. However, I have no reason to doubt the rest of the reviews on here that it simply awful.

We booked and had a confirmation email and a week before arriving decided to phone to confirm. First of all we spoke to a barman who assured us that the booking was 100% confirmed. We later got an email from Karen (the owner) saying that she would not honour our booking. I spent the next day trying to phone Karen (she was very difficult to get hold of) and when I finally spoke to her she said she had no record of the booking, no payment details and no intention of honouring it as she had taken 39 bookings for her 5 rooms! She is incredibly rude and unhelpful and I have no doubt that if we had not phoned to confirm we would have only found out about this when we arrived on the day.

The Crown is appalling run and they deserve to go out of business. Please do not give them your money (that is if you even get to the stage of being able to!)

Room Tip: The best rooms are in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
10  Thank po1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Lesson learnt, I must remember to check trip advisor when making bookings in future.
Booked the Crown through late rooms, used to know the owners many years ago so not sure if its the same.
Our experience was the same as others reported. Turned up to check in, waited 15 mins to be told by the manageress that my card had been refused and she had no way of contacting me.
Both of course dear readers absolute lies.
Managed to find the last room in an absolutely gorgeous hotel up the road, paid at reception with the same debit card!

Room Tip: My tip?...Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked this hotel through Late Rooms but made the error of not checking the reviews.......big mistake!!
We noted one review where a guest turned up only to find there was no record of a booking.
We therefore decided to phone the 'hotel' the day before to check, we were told the booking was confirmed.
After a three hour drive and a quarter of a mile walk from the long stay car park with luggage, we arrived only to be told there was no record of the booking. We couldn't believe it. The guy in reception phoned the proprietor and we were asked to wait 20 mins as she was not in the area.
Upon arrival, the proprietor proceeded to blame Late Rooms for the error and a member of her staff for the blunder of mis-informing us of the room availability......not once did she accept ANY responsibility for the mess or offer a personal apology....unbelievable!!

Upon seeing the general condition of the place, I would say we had a lucky escape...we went to Tourist Info, who were aware of the problems with this hotel,and found us alternative accommodation.

AVOID THIS 'HOTEL' AT ALL COSTS!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
14  Thank TedandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The Crown Inn has to be some modern day bad joke! In the middle of this beautiful town is this hovel that with all our laws on health and safety, building regulations, licensed premises etc I'm amazed that this place is even able to operate! Why oh why are they allowed to even advertise on all the web hotel booking sites. Believe all you read here in relation to this place, it's a disgrace and all those associated in its management should be thoroughly ashamed, fact is, there not! And it's that that makes it a bad joke.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Alatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a one stay night and as we were paying £80 for a double room we were expecting a nice comfy inn - didn't bother to check on trip advisor as our friends had already booked the room for us. The hotel itself was dirty and smelly, our room was dusty and the bathroom was a tiny, grubby worn out cupboard, bed uncomfortable, not a pleasant sleeping experience - was not looking forward to breakfast and was not disappointed - the table cloth was dirty, speckled with crumbs and plate and cup grubby. Breakfast staff were friendly enough, but the whole experience felt decidedly seedy. We did not want to embarrass our lovely friends by complaining and they said their room was Ok with a nice big bathroom They said it was 'interestingly shabby' - we thought just shabby - I wouldn't go there if I were you, not a pleasant experience. Lewes nice little town with a lovely clean teashop in high street, thank heavens!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lewes hotels
0.4 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 7 in Lewes
400 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#2 of 7 in Lewes
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
257 reviews
4.6 mi away
White Lodge B&B
White Lodge B&B
#1 of 1 in Cooksbridge
440 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Blacksmiths Arms
The Blacksmiths Arms
#1 of 1 in Offham
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Address: 191 High Street, Lewes BN7 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Lewes
Crown Inn Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing