We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and lovely location”
Review of Pomegranate - CLOSED

Pomegranate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a tapas bar serving authentic tapas, great cocktails and craft beers in the old town of Hastings
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely location”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I love eating in George Street whenever I'm in Hastings and try different restaurants each time. I'm rarely disappointed and certainly wasnt this time.
We chose off the specials board. I had the skate which was a good portion and as tasty as could be.
You wouldnt want to be stuck at the back on a small table as its quite a long narrow restaurant but thats about the worst of it.
Lovely professional staff and a decent house wine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susi-of-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    64
    15
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb food and lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I took my partner and daughter in here for lunch on a gloomy grey autumn afternoon but there was nothing cold and dreary about the atmosphere and food here. The lovely Latvian waitress was very friendly and helpful and the restaurant had a lovely homely feel about it, very tidy and modern but with some lovely decor and not a touch of pretentiousness. I had the gurnard for a main course and it was superb. I thoroughly recommend you try this fish. The chef was only young but he had some top skills. A great lunch in a lovely venue.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TroupyTRFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab-u-lous”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Popped in Saturday evening. Didin't have a reservation, but they had just been let down , so we were lucky.
We sat by the door, which at first thought was a bad thing, but it soon got very warm and people sitting at the back of the restuarant were constantly popping outside to cool down.
The people sitting next to us were regulars and we quickly struck up a conversation. They recommended the skate and venison, unfortunately for us there was only one portion of skate left and no venison. So we had the Gournard (a type of flying fish) which was easily the nicest white fish that i've eaten in ages.
The waitresses were quick and efficent and the food was perfectly cooked.
So to sum up 1) make a reservation,2) get there early to be able to chose from the full menu and 3) sit near the front of the resturant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissPowderBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werchter, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent ! Also with kids.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Went for a good meal with wife and kids.
Very friendly, good service and great food (bruscetta, fish, bouillabaise, ... ). Also our kids liked it a lot.
Thanks !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum....”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Another great find in Hastings. We booked for the Saturday night and just as well, it was packed. A small room and we did say it looked a bit claustrophobic towards the back.
The food was excelent, we had a late lunch so shared a starter of calimari, we all agreed fantastic. I had skate with my brother-in-law and my sister had venison, both very good.
Deserts and port finished off a lovely evening, the staff know their stuff and are very welcoming.
One grip is that they dont do a cheese board.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tellgell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomegranate also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing