We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maggie's Fish & Chips

Maggie's Fish & Chips
Ranked #8 of 351 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Here at Maggie's we're in our third decade of serving you hearty portions of the freshest fish, cooked to order, in a warm and welcoming cafe - the same traditional family-friendly approach as when Margaret Banfield first put her name above the door. We're right on the Fisherman's Beach - so you'll enjoy some spectacular views while you tuck in to our fish, direct from the market below us and our specials are straight off the boats with the morning catch - keeping a carbon footprint of less than 20 miles. You can't get fresher than that! Maggie's is licensed too, so you can enjoy a glass of wine or a beer with your meal. We are open six days a week, but it's advisable to call us ahead to reserve your table, and if you've got a special occasion, we welcome parties of up to 40 guests.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Fresh fish, properly cooked, generous portions, great service. Need I say more, not the cheapest but by far the best and so worth every penny.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SocialQueen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    69
    25
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
586 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Read the reviews and were determined to try whilst in Hastings for the Bank Holiday. Very popular, had to book for a table. Superb chips and the fish, obviously very fresh, was astounding. Maggie's portions are enormous. We had Haddock - 2 pieces, each over 10" long plus ample chips and cooked to perfection. Find Maggie's tucked away amongst the fish huts but book first to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bparkercars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must book”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Charming fish restaurant overlooking where your food was landed. Portions are not for the faint hearted. Fresh fish and proper chips cooked and served perfectly. Friendly and unpretentious. Book early to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAPTAINLARRYDART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Large portions, excellent value, good service and atmosphere. Fish was fresh and chips good. Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_rupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best fish and chips bar none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well make sure you reserve your table as you could quite easily be turned away ,,The locals know this place and it is filled at all times ,,The staff are friendly and if its lovely weather there are plenty of seats to enjoy the sunshine and people watch as its set onto the wharf and has of course a great beach view. I chose haddock and chips and it was incredible maybe for the first time in my life I struggled to finish it ,,the fries were piping hot ,the batter utter perfection and mushy peas were just how they should be ,,the house wine is not too bad either ,,well done Maggies

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank veganwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Maggie's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing