We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Mermaid Cafe

Mermaid Cafe
Ranked #82 of 360 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $41
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kent
Level Contributor
758 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We often get fish and chips here when we are having a quick visit to Hastings. It is has a great location in the old time just across the road from the new art gallery and the beach. It has a old style caff feel to it with good fish and chips but it could do with some better quality drinks and it really is best just for fish and chips so avoid if that is not what you feel like.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    71
    28
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Nice Fish and Chips”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Like JamesW my Husband and I took his Mum and my Mum to this fish restaurant on the first sunny day of 2013. Three of us had the cod and chips one had plaice and chips we were very surprised that we each had 2 pieces of fish which the batter was very light and the fish its self was very tasty, chips were good as well.
We all said that is was very nice and very good value money. Best fish and chips we have had in a long while. The restaurant was very busy there was a queue for a table.
We will be going back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weeniewellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm sitting outside the Mermaid restaurant eating a delicious cod and chips in the sun with a glorious blue sky- nearly the first sunny day of 2013. Just up the road are the fishermans sheds and the Jerwood gallery is opposite .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but overcooked”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Somebody else mentioned the overcooked batter and we found the same. Also, both of us ordered regular cod, yet one was a third bigger than the other - same price, though. The chips were also over cooked for my liking, but we were given plenty. The fish under the batter tasted pretty fresh to us and was nice.

I like the old-school seaside look of the place but for the prices, I'd expect quality better than what I get in London from a sea front fish and chippy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emiwebwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing great”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Soggy chips and over greasy fish I'm afraid. I have only been here onece though. The waitress was however, very sweet.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Codchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mermaid Cafe also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Mermaid Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing