We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent van and location, good facilities...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Front view with double doors to deck
Outside dining with views across the glenn
Enterance to shop, swimming pool & gym
The Retreat
views over historic old town from the East Hill lift
Childrens play area, including soft play
Views across the channel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire B
1 review
“Excellent van and location, good facilities, friendly owner”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This van is a good distance from the seafront, 20 minute walk which in itself encourages you to do something different than get in the car. Parking in town centre thus saved. If you wanted to drive, you could. The van was clean and had all the equipment needed.

Great countryside surroundings and a useful pool and bar on site. The owner was very helpful and friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thank you Claire, hope to see you again

Paul & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B
1 review
“Lovely lodge, great quiet weekend getaway!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Enjoyed the peaceful break, lodge had everything we needed, thankyou very much for the wine, milk and cake! Easy walk to town and back with great views across the country park. Paul and Sarah are very helpful and informative; good hosts from a distance!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
Pleased you've enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again

sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Hazel...
1 review
“Everything you need for a comfortable stay”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The owners Paul and Sarah live nearby if needed .Around 25min. Walk into Hastings Old Town over East Hill and stunning views .Plenty of walks from the Lodge. The lodge is in a quiet setting with views of the sea . We saw lots of badgers who came looking for food early evening A car is useful but not necessary if you enjoy walking, and there is a funicular railway on East Hill if you don't feel like climbing the steps .Will be happy to stay at the lodge again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review.
Glad you've enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnraw42
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed December 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our Christmas retreat
What a wonderful place to stay absolutely amazing in every way.it made our Christmas break complete.spotlessly clean and had everything you'll need and more thanks again and will recommend to anyone looking to stay at a lodge for a little holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
It's good to hear you've enjoyed your stay, thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evangelin...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and made to feel welcome - excellent”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The holiday home was absolutely clean, we arrived to find a bottle of wine, a cake and some fresh milk waiting for us, along with teabags etc. - even though we only had a short stay! The owners had left very clear instructions and were easy to contact if we needed them. There were even books, DVDs and board games! And some feed for the local foxes and badgers, which our kids loved. The home itself is very spacious and comfortable, with an ensuite toilet in the master bedroom. Without doubt the best holiday home of its type that we have stayed in (and we have stayed in a lot!). Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, you're welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carly S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I had a really lovely relaxing weekend away with my partner. The lodge was well equipt and clean. There were no faults really other than i would like to suggest that a small t.v was in the double bedroom, that would be ideal. We even had a cake and a lovely bottle of wine on arrival which was a kind thought. Thanks for a sweet time away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
We were thinking about the tv & may well go ahead :)
Glad you've enjoyed your stay, you'd be welcome back any time.

Paul & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I took my partner and parents here for my dads birthday . We stayed for 2 nights and we only wished it was for longer. The lodge was very clean, well looked after, just perfect really. The weather was totally amazing too. It's in an ideal location,we went Hastings, Eastbourne and Rye, We had a meal in The Retreat Restaurant that's on the site and we just couldn't fault any of it, the veggie lasagne was especially good!...... Thankyou for the Wine and Carrot cake and milk, they were a lovely surprise on our arrival and all went down a treat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you for your complimentary review, hope to welcome you back soon :)

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing