We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Accomodating”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Front view with double doors to deck
Outside dining with views across the glenn
Enterance to shop, swimming pool & gym
The Retreat
views over historic old town from the East Hill lift
Childrens play area, including soft play
Views across the channel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ukaylastl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Accomodating”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Traveling included, myself, husband, our 3 children ages (4, 2, and 2 months) along with a friend visiting from Germany. Now, we intended to book a similar lodge (sleeps 4), but with a hot tub because we anticipated early nights with our little ones, but thought the hot tub would be a nice way to relax with our friend, but they refused to rent us their lodge because we would be crowding the lodge (on principle, yes my children are persons, BUT the 4 &2 can easily share a bed and the infant did not require a bed.)

SOOOO Paul and Sarah got our business and they were very accommodating as well as more affordable. We found the lodge to sleep more than 4. The main bed was large enough that I slept there with 2 little boys who like to sprawl out as well as co-sleeping with the infant. Our guest had the 2nd bedroom and my husband crashed on the pull-out sofa. (Special thanks to Sarah for providing those extra linens.)

As many reviewers have pointed out, the welcome was lovely. We arrived later than we intended no thanks to London traffic. I don't think we've tasted better flapjacks! And there was milk in the fridge. We packed cereal for our trip so it was great not having to make a grocery run.

The weekend we were there, it rained, naturally. Probably wouldn't have wanted to be out in the hot tub anyway, but coming "home" to a fire (electric), playing family games from the hosts collection, while having drink (coffee, tea, wine - all provided) was a welcoming retreat.

Happy to report that we were able to have kebabs delivered to the property during an evening downpour (husband just went to the front gate).

We were very happy with our stay. I would tell people considering the lodge that the main bed is on the soft side if you prefer a firm mattress. Also, bring hand soup for the loo (there are 2) I didn't think to pack that (we used the provided dish soap until we could run to the store the next morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Milk in the fridge.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2014
Glad you've had a lovely break :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy A
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Lodge!”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Me, my partner and our baby daughter have just returned from a two nights stay at this lovely lodge.
We had a great time both on the site and in Hastings town.
We all had fun in the swimming pool and enjoyed the food at the restaurant.
The lodge was very clean and had everything we needed.
Would defiantly come back next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2014
Thank you for a lovely review & glad you've enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hodshouse
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“clean, comfortable & well equipped”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is a lovely little lodge, in a really quiet spot with a great view to the sea from the lounge and deck.
It was plenty large enough for the 4 of us, we only stayed a couple of nights but could happily have stayed a week. The shower worked well, the beds are comfortable and there's a very comfy lounge to relax in while watching the TV so absolutely no complaints from any of us.
It's very clean and really well equipped with iron & board, clothes airer, soft fluffy towels, plenty of kitchen equipment, board games and even an alarm clock in the bedroom!
The welcome pack is very thoughtful, being able to make a cup of tea/coffee in the morning if you haven't had a chance to shop before arrival (plus biccies to dunk) is a really nice touch.
We would definitely stay again, no question.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay :)

Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acko25
1 review
“Excellent clean accommodation and good value for money”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Brilliant accommodation and super clean, couldn't fault a thing!

Excellent welcome pack and has been the best value holiday in years.

Ideal location with sea views and child friendly. A short walk to the town centre where there is plenty to do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and luxurious lodge.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Being a miserable Scotsman, i was looking for something to moan about, but everything was perfect. There was wine, milk, tea, coffee and cake waiting for us. The lodge was very clean, spacious and had everything you could want from board games to a brand new iron. The swimming pool was very nice and free to use for lodge guests. There was also a nice play park and stunning views. Only a £5 taxi journey from the centre of Hastings. It was perfect, we had a lovely stay, just wish it was longer. Thanks so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review, glad you had a great holiday :)
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
733Debra
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Cannot fault this lovely holiday lodge, lovely location on the cliffs overlooking the sea, so peaceful and quiet, well equipped, great goodies left for us on arrival and brilliant times to arrive and depart. Great service from the owners, can't recommend it highly enough, If you are reading this and wondering whether to book I would not hesitate - I will definitely go back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Such a peaceful location.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2014
Thank you, so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali M
East Linton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore Hastings”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Loved our lodge. Sea view from balcony, French windows, really comfortable and had everything we needed. Beds comfy, shower good, no issues at all. Shearbarn holiday park is great, pool is gorgeous, the Retreat does an excellent Sunday roast. Lovely to walk down into Hastings through the country park and down the steps. Our welcome package was much appreciated and the owner was very kind and helpful. Fantastic all round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony
Liked least: The proximity of other lodges.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing