We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect break in wonderful accomodation”
other travelers have booked this property
The heated indoor swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The heated indoor swimming pool
Your private back garden of Badgers Den Cottage has sun loungers, dining table and BBQ area. The entrance gate to Badgers Den Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
The heated indoor swimming pool
Your private back garden of Badgers Den Cottage has sun loungers, dining table and BBQ area.
The entrance gate to Badgers Den Cottage.
The front of Badgers Den Cottage, and entrance gate.
The main living area is bright and open plan. A large smart TV hangs on the wall.
The main living area is bright and open plan. One of the cupboards is full of board games and toys.
A large smart TV hangs on the wall, as well as a DVD and sound system. A cupboard is full of games
The main living area is bright and open plan.
The master bedroom has a king size bed and oak furniture
The oak furniture includes a dressing table, bedside tables & large wardrobe with drawers underneath
Master Bedroom ensuite toilet and walk-in shower.
The main family bathroom has a bath and shower.
The stairs up to the 2nd bedroom is carpeted.
The upstairs bedroom has 2 single beds, a large smart TV and oak furniture
The upstairs bedroom has 2 single beds, a large smart TV and oak furniture
The kitchen is fully equiped, with great views of the garden.
The kitchen is fully equiped, with great views of the garden.
Here you can see the integrated dishwasher, fridge and freezer.
The sofa's are high quality and very comfy. One of the cupboards is full of board games and toys.
The conservatory is a great place to sit and relax. Read a book while staying out of the strong sun
The conservatory is also home to the washing machine and a large belfast sink.
Eating outside is always a great experience.
The outdoor hot tub is a full-sensory experience:
30 Hydrotherapy jets and
Bio-Magnetic Therapy.
The parking area for Badgers Den Cottage.
142 Martineau Lane, Hastings
Covehurst Bay, Hastings
Hastings Country Park Nature Reserve
Hastings
Badgers Den Holiday Cottage, Covehurst Bay, Hastings
Covehurst Bay, Hastings
A two minute walk gives you access to plenty of space to BBQ, run around and play!
Covehurst Bay, Hastings
Hastings Country Park Nature Reserve
Loads of amazing walking routes
Cliff End by Pett Level (near Covehurst Bay) . Great for dinosaur bone hunting.
Lots of local waterfalls to see
Entrance to Hastings Country Park Nature Reserve.
Fun in the sun at Hastings Country Park
Entrance gate to Badgers Den - Covehurst Bay Holiday Cottage.
The outdoor hot tub is a full-sensory experience:
30 Hydrotherapy jets and
Bio-Magnetic Therapy.
Sunbathing area, hot tub and swimming pool
outside hot tub and garden
indoor heated swimming pool with lots of inflatable toys
The indoor heated pool is great fun rain or shine.
weights gym
weights gym next to the pool
beautiful gardens to explore
beautiful gardens to explore
beautiful gardens to explore
The view from the bedroom window
beautiful gardens to explore
beautiful gardens to explore
beautiful gardens to explore
Badgers Den, Covehurst Bay Holiday Cottage
Your own private sunbathing, BBQ and eating area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
HammieUK
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect break in wonderful accomodation”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I am afraid that I am probably not so articulate enough as to justify Badger’s Den with the appropriate superlatives. However, what I can say is that our mini break was perfect in every way. The weather was unpredictable but it didn’t stop us from exploring what the area had to offer and did not dent our enjoyment of what was, a truly fantastic place to stay. We enjoyed our time so much that we stayed for an extra night to explore the area further.

I stayed at Badger’s Den with my wife, 10-month old daughter and our dog. I already had apprehensions about going on the break as it was the first time we had been away with our baby daughter and dog. However, I immediately was put at ease even before arriving as Chris (Owner) had assured us that we would have a cot and highchair waiting. Furthermore, we would have the use of the garage if needed for our pooch.

Upon arriving at Coverhurst Bay and at Badger’s Den, it was clear to see that a lot of work had been put in to create a secluded and peaceful retreat. Even though Badger’s Den is attached to the main house, we always felt that we had privacy due it’s seclusion and layout. The cottage, as described by many others, is immaculate and perfect. Everything required for short and long stays is provided. Extreme effort has been made to create a home away from home. I was pleasantly surprised with the hamper that was provided and I also loved the introduction booklet that provided essential information and more on the cottage, the surroundings and other useful information.

Both Chris and Erick were lovely hosts and were ever so welcoming. Erick was lovely enough to let us lend a trowel so that my wife could use her metal detector. It’s obvious that a great amount of work goes into the upkeep of the cottages and grounds, it is a real testament to their hard work that they have created a place which is so pristine and tranquil.

We didn’t get the time to use the Jacuzzi to our dismay but we did venture into the pool with our daughter. Chris had kindly turned up the temperature so that our daughter could use the pool. Again, this personal touch just added to our enjoyment and made us feel so welcome. It wasn’t an afterthought and we didn’t have to ask. Simply, Chris had just done it in anticipation of our arrival. The pool is superb with plenty of toys and floats provided. If we had stayed longer, we would have definitely used the pool more.

Much has already been said about where to visit in previous reviews so I won't go into great details about where we visited. I would recommend visiting Rye and Pett, both are lovely little villages. Rye has many small independent shops and cafes. Pett is a lovely place to wonder around, a small village with a large shale/rocky beach. Furthermore, the Two Sawyers at Pett serves wonderful food and the patrons/staff are just as wonderful and welcoming.

I could write all day about how great our stay was. Simply, if you are considering whether to go or not, it's so certainly worth it.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carol C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect property in a perfect location.”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My family and I (my partner and two children 9 and 4), stayed at Badgers Den for 2 nights at the beginning of April and I can honestly say it is one of the best accomodations we have stayed in.
The property itself is decorated and furnished to a high standard and is equipped with everything you could possibly need on a vacation. It is spotlessly clean and tidy and light, bright and airy.
They have a pool and a gym and a hot tub, what more could you ask for? and the grounds are beautifully kept
The owner Chris gave us a warm and friendly welcome and showed us around the property and how to use everything ie hot tub, pool etc Thanks for all of the goodies in the kitchen!
Location wise it is perfect base for exploring the East Sussex coast, we managed a long walk out to the Fire hills, near Fairlight and a trip into Hastings. As we were only there 3 days, we will have to go back and explore some more, (any excuse to revisit Badgers Den.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and all of its features.
Liked least: Can not fault it at all.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivi J
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Everything was perfect! The owner was really kind and helpful. We got the nice surprise to have a hot tub available which wasn't installed when we booked as it was all new.
The area is quite and lovely as it is in the middle of nature.
I will definitely come back and tell my acquaintances about it.
Thank you for everything.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the gym
Liked least: everything was perfect
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontothebe...
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Clean, cosy and welcoming. Lovely cottage and location. Dogs welcome and lovely area for walking and exploring the surroundings. Pool was amazing and a hot tube which were all very clean. Cottage was stocked with welcome pack of food and drink. Very special.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and cosy
Liked least: All good
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinec...
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow! Brilliant place”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights and would love to have stayed much longer. Lovely hosts (Chris, hope you're feeling better soon), great cottage with everything you could want, smart tv, but the swimming pool and hot tub were more than just the icing on the cake. After a long very muddy walk with dogs having a dip and soak was lovely. Great places to walk from door of cottage. Definitely one of the best places we ever stayed.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahsill...
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
“There's a problem with this place......”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

YOU WON'T WANT TO GO HOME. the hosts are wonderful kind and giving people. The pool and gym is excellent and the hot tub is well amazing. Fabulous surroundings. The cottage is styled to an incredible standard, the bed linen is crisp and clean. Truly a wonderful experience. Excellent is not a good enough word. Thank you

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing