We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could move in...! Fabulous stay”
Review of Swan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swan House
Ranked #2 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We chose Swan House from the reviews here, unsure if it could live up to all the positive reports. Well, I'm happy to say it did - in fact, it was even better than we'd hoped. We went for a birthday weekend and despite mixed weather, felt utterly chilled and charmed by our stay. The house itself is gorgeous, and even though our room (Garden Room) is the smallest, it had all the extra touches you'd want - coffee filters, flapjack pieces, robes, crisp white bedding. The sitting room is a place you could linger all day, but the location is also amazing, so easy to walk to the vintagey shops and cosy bars, or to the sea front.
What really makes this place stand out, though, is the hospitality. I was a little worried that with just four rooms, it might feel in your face, but Brendan and his lovely colleagues know when to chat and when to leave you to it, which is a very fine art. And the breakfasts... we’ve stayed in five star places, but this ranks in the top 3 for choice, taste and setting. We will be back! If we can manage to get in - the other three rooms were all occupied by return visitors and now I know why.
Oh, and the two dogs are adorable too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShyDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 509 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

A second stay here, and just as lovely as first time around. Brendan and his team are professional and friendly, and run a terrific place to stay. Great attention to detail, wonderful interiors and fittings, a delicious breakfast and supremely comfortable accommodation make Swan House unbeatable value. B&Bs often fall down on the public spaces, but I think the sitting room at Swan House is a triumph - charming and beautifully styled. Overall the most welcoming accommodation we have found in Hastings, and one of our favourite places to stay anywhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palexri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just got back from a pre-Christmas weekend in Hastings, first time to visit the town and it was fantastic. Swan House was the perfect place to stay, Brendan was a very accommodating host and the house itself is great -- it's very much like a boutique hotel experience except with the personal touch of a B&B. We loved meeting his adorable dogs Matilda and Daisy (but if you are not a dog person don't worry you don't have to meet them). Bed extremely comfy and had top-notch linens; loved little touches like the chocolate treats on offer and the fire, plus morning papers. Breakfast is wonderful -- on our second morning we opted to go off menu and just get some bacon sandwiches, they were the best bacon sandwiches I've ever eaten! The location is absolutely perfect for exploring old town Hastings and Brendan has great recommendations for everything from restaurants to pubs to takeaway fish & chips. Definitely want to return to Hastings and to Swan House one day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here back in April and are still gushing about this gem of a place! Everything about Swan House was beautiful - the attention to detail is tremendous and Brendan (& his team) was the perfect host. We were welcomed by a roaring fire with tea and delicious home made flapjacks by Harriet who gave us some great recommendations for the local area, as well as booking our taxis for us too. Our room was beautiful - the decor was amazing, bath products were brilliant and there were more of those scrummy flapjacks waiting for us too. The breakfasts we had were terrific - the menu had everything you could hope for on it and again, the presentation was impeccable. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msjuliaelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

It is simply overwhelming to stay in a house built in 1490, a house situated in a very
interesting neighborhood just down the street from where the series "Foyle's War" was
filmed. The staff is superb, the breakfast is sublime and the rooms are antique
in the very best sense. The host Brendan even has the nerve to have an open
bar on the honor system. A remarkable place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear fine but if stairs are a problem, you might want to request a first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robduchene777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Can add little to my previous review, except to say I have now stayed at Swan House several times over the past couple of years and I’m seriously tempted to move in permanently!

Brendan is an excellent host, who really cares about his guests, and is ably supported by friendly staff.

Swan House is ideally situated in a quiet street in the heart of the delightful Old Town of Hastings, with quirky pubs and charming restaurants within easy walking distance. The B&B is stylishly turned out, blending old-world charm with a modern twist, and the bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. But it's the overall concept that makes Swan House so special – quirkiness combined with luxury combined with first-class customer service equals a truly amazing place to stay.

If TripAdvisor were to offer an honorary 6th star for exceptional B&Bs, Swan House would surely qualify.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gham4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It’s all been said before: a warm welcome and a fabulous stay! So many choices for breakfast and decent, healthy, cooked food. Perhaps we were influenced by the glorious sunshine but we are determined to return for more than just the one night short notice stay we had this time. For the record we were in the Artisan room which is perfectly adequate for a couple. Brendan showed us the other rooms before we departed – maybe the Renaissance next time to ring the changes.

A couple of points:

The online booking system is (or at least was, a week ago) fairly vicious. It times out after just five minutes so if you get diverted on to looking at the T&Cs, searching for your credit card etc, you have to start the whole process again. In my case I didn’t realise even the date was reset to the day I was making the booking so I ended up having to phone to get it all changed. Brendan said he’d check the system out: maybe it’s changed.

There’s a conflict (in favour of the customer) between what is said in Facilities on the website about parking and what happens in practice. Certainly we didn’t have to purchase a parking permit on arrival, rather Brendan gave us a scratch card valid from the afternoon of arrival to 11 am the next morning. Maybe we were favoured….

A recent review mentioned spiders’ webs. Spiders have all day to do nothing but spin webs, catch and eat prey, and breed. It only takes half an hour or so after the daily clean to spin a web. Then they help you out by catching things you’d like even less. Less arachnophobia, please, spiders are goodies!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmt0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.6 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
873 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 47 in Hastings
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 47 in Hastings
844 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#5 of 47 in Hastings
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laindons
The Laindons
#3 of 47 in Hastings
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan House

Address: 1 Hill Street, Hastings TN34 3HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Hotel Class:5 star — Swan House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, five star boutique guesthouse in the heart of Hastings Old Town, offering unprecedented style and service in picturesque 1066 country. The travel press love Swan House - come and experience why! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swan House Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing