We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An awesome house and an excellent weekend.”
other travelers have booked this property
The Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Master Bedroom
The Dining Room The Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The Master Bedroom
The Dining Room
The Kitchen
The first floor drawing room, with stunning views over the Old Town and a glimpse of the sea.
The Drawing Room
The Snug, complete with table football and a 58' TV screen.
The Snug
The Master Bedroom
The Main Bathroom (directly opposite the Master Bedroom, but not en suite)
The Second Bedroom, with a Superkingsize bed (6' wide)
The Second Bedroom
View from the Second Bedroom
The Second Family Bathroom
The Third Bedroom with its own balcony and almost aerial views over the Old Town and the sea.
Views from the house
Views from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alison R
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An awesome house and an excellent weekend.”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We celebrated my 60th with our three and their other halves. The house was amazing - comfortable, enormous, and in a super location. We enjoyed a breezy walk after going up on the East Cliff funicular, superb fish and chips on the beach, and visits to Herstmonceux Science Park and Bodiam Castle, with a meal in the Old Town on Sunday evening. A perfect weekend in a delightful house. Quite sad to come home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house with 4 double beds and everything you could need
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2015
Hi Alison - many thanks for the lovely review. I'm so pleased you had such a good time in the house and town with all the family and your special birthday was appropriately celebrated. Many happy returns from me, too!

Best wishes,

Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: facilities
Liked least: parking place
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hamba_Lul...
Dublin / London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a gathering”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed in Wellesley house with 7 friends to celebrate a birthday in early November. The house itself is beautifully finished and very spacious, with great views over old town. It's a very pleasant short stroll to the shops and seafront. All the rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms were fantastic. We loved our weekend at Wellesley House and would happily return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. Just to add that the house has spectacular views of both the Old Town and... the sea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben d
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here as we were getting married in Hastings, the rooms were as good as a hotel rooms, the house is huge, the booking was stressfree and the owner is extremely helpful!

it's in a fantastic location, a short walk into Hastings Old town.

this is amazing value, a perfect location, a fantastic property with bags of characters and features. if you are considering staying here, don't wait, just book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommended - exceptional house”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked this house for a group of us to stay in Hastings for a wedding. We were extremely pleased upon arrival with the quality and cleaniness of the house. It is all of a very high quality. Jon was very helpful, accomodating and easy to contact before and during our stay. This was a far better option than hotels or B&Bs. The location was perfect - a couple of minutes into the Old Town. It was peaceful and we enjoyed breakfasting outside on the patio taking in the beautiful views. The rooms were stunning and there was plenty of space. We would recommend this house and I am sure we'll book again at some point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and variety of the rooms - particularly bed rooms. It was like staying in a luxury hotel.
Liked least: The stairs! It's a 5 storey building - but worth it!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisekre...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house in brilliant location with amazing sea views”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Wellesley House exceeded all our expectations! We stayed there for 3 nights over the May bank holiday with 6 adults and 2 toddlers.
The house is beautifully done up and in great condition, and seems to go up for ever, floor after floor with incredible views of old Hastings and the sea.
The house is very well equipped with two kitchens and every accessory you could possibly need, a huge TV connected to Sky in a snug area downstairs, separate sitting room with sea views and plenty of bathrooms/toilets. The two main bedrooms are large and spacious with sea views and the smaller bedrooms up the top are also decent sized doubles with good views. The beds were extremely comfortable and sheets and towels very luxurious.
The house is in a great location, with only a short walk to the seafront, castle, caves, cafes, bars and other Hastings attractions.
There is a private garden with large table to sit out in the evenings.
The owner, Jon was very helpful and was able to answer all our questions. He was also flexible with arrival and departure times.
Just a note to anyone taking small children, the entrance to the house is situated up several steps which means carrying buggies up and down a bit, there are quite a lot of stairs in the house including quite a steep spiral staircase where toddlers need to be kept an eye on. We didn't find it too much of a problem but worth knowing in advance.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend to family, friends…anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra S
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing