We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely haven in Hastings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Rock Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely haven in Hastings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here after cycling from Brighton. The staff were really great and helped me find a place to store my bike safely. They also helped me out with a map of Hastings and recommended places to go out to eat. The rooms I had were fantastic, spotlessly clean and really nicely set out. A really lovely, clean, peaceful spot by the sea. Great value and lovely staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isthisonetakenthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    180
    55
    27
    10
See reviews for
66
219
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here over seven years ago when house hunting -it was being refurbished back then and was 'ok'. We no longer live in Hastings having moved and stayed at the White Rock in early October. The place is fantastic -the owner is friendly as are the staff. the food is good and there is a large bar /lounge area with great views of the sea.

Parking was no problem at back of hotel and there was a real mix of people. Close to the Theatre and amenities -would happily go back again. Not a lot for kids but it was just the two of us for this trip.

Room Tip: Has to be one with a view of the sea but these are pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in Hastings last weekend (19th/20th October) and were extremely impressed with the White Rock Hotel. The staff were highly professional, knowledgeable and friendly - always someone around to assist. In fact the service around the hotel was better than I experience in 5 star hotels, and very prompt. In the restaurant/bar the food was very good and cooked to perfection. The standard of cleanliness throughout was excellent and the rooms/restaurant/lounges looked like new - not even a hint of wear and tear. It's unusual to find a hotel where there isn't some fault or issue to have to deal with, but we actually felt relaxed throughout the whole stay - thank-you White Rock. All in all a great place to stay and we'd definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Sea view is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The reception was great and friendly, a excellent early check-in and easy parking to rear of hotel. A bright and airy room but awful old poorly lit corridors on the way. The room was old but well renovated and had a great powerful shower. The lift was tiny and a little off putting (wouldn't want to get stuck in that one if you suffer claustrophobia). Despite the downs, the hotel was fine, great staff, free but limited parking, good bar and nice position ( be great when the pier is rebuilt).

Overall, old building but good facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Really liked the laid back atmosphere of this Hotel, bedroom was bright and airy, bed very comfortable and loved the blackout blind ! Room very clean and nice little complimentary toiletries , I would have loved a bath sheet, makes such a difference. Old building and unfortunately the corridor lighting was out when we returned late Sat and wasn't back on by 11.00 next day when we left, truly couldn't see where we were walking and our friends who were also staying tried to get into the wrong room !! Staff were really pleasant and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Berkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

A really nice dog friendly hotel, where your dog is properly welcome (inlcuding biscuits at reception!) Bathroom was nice and freshly refurbished, room itself could have done with a new lick of paint and soem air con but for a night away by the sea it is perfect. Good location as right on the seafront and just a stroll to the lovely Old Town. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emstararama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

A well appointed traditional seafront hotel. I've stayed twice on business and both stays have been very good and hassle free. Rooms smart, clean and comfortable. Food good and wholesome. My only issue is with the corridors which are dull and poky, but that's getting picky - don't spend much time in corridors!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.7 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rock Hotel

Property: White Rock Hotel
Address: White Rock, Hastings TN34 1JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rock Hotel is not your average hotel. As well as its fantastic location on Hastings seafront, it has a laid back, individual character that is popular with business and leisure travelers alike. We have a friendly cafe-bar; free wifi broad band access; are completely no smoking; and welcome well behaved pets. Minutes from the town centre, opposite the pier and next door to the White Rock Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your White Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rock Hastings
Hotel White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing