We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location convenient for stay”
Review of White Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Rock Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I chose this hotel as I was going to a concert at the White Rock Theatre - next door. Very convenient transport-wise! It's a way from the rail station and also from the town centre of Hastings (but you can walk along the promenade) - opposite the old pier which burned down a year or so ago. As I wanted to visit Battle also, it was easier to catch a bus from the hotel door which went right into the market place at Battle. One down side, as with all old hotels, are the creaking floorboards - everywhere. Sounded like a herd of elephants was on the move till late at night. The corridors were narrow and dark - sometimes you couldn't see well enough to find the keyhole in the door - during the day! Once inside, the rooms however were large, the bed comfy, extras like biscuits and hot chocolate offered - and the view from the window at the front of the hotel looked immediately onto the (pebble) beach. Was happy with my 2 night stay and used the restaurant twice. The first night I couldn't eat all I'd ordered and was permitted to take a tray to my room, which was nice. I would recommend the hotel but keep in mind the creaks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eillamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for White Rock Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 442 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

we stayed at the white rocks Hotel for our first wedding anniversary. just wanted something different than the normal hum drum.... first impression? not great, we parked in the car park behind the hotel and followed signs to reception from there, it leads to a raised corridor which is obviously a bridge to a second door which is locked and a buzzer to reception. very dated and really could do with a spruce up. the corridors are quite narrow and quite dark, these also could be decorated to lighten the areas as these are quite dated.
reception was on the ground floor, very helpful and friendly Chap, he showed us to our room, it was on the second floor, sea facing with lovely views apart from the burnt down pier! the room was decorated very nicely, was very pleased !!
it was quite warm and we decided to open the french doors to the front, the road outside is very busy and very loud, all day and NIGHT, we left the doors open all night and both were woken on several occasions, the morning was even worse!! so our second night all was closed up and a much better sleep!!
overall, very friendly staff, hotel was OK but could do with some investment. breakfast was superb..location fine with about a 10 minute walk to the old town....

Room Tip: stay at the rear for a quieter better nights sleep. although the view was great at the front.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We enjoy visiting Hastings old town, especially during the annual Seafood and Wine festival in September. We have stayed at this hotel twice for two night breaks,in order to enjoy the festival.The attractive White Rock facade faces the sea and the building is a series of converted Victorian houses.
This hotel is not part of a chain and therefore has an independent quality, but not at boutique hotel prices.On both occasions, we requested a double sea-view room on either the second or third floor.We have tried both.The main difference is that the second floor rooms have a larger window so the lovely view is over-wheming. The third floor rooms are bigger but the window is smaller and the sea-view is only visible when you are seated on high stools at the table.
The rooms are simply decorated and furnished but are tasteful.This is a friendly, clean hotel and there are little touches such as; a fridge containing bottled water and milk catons; the coffee/tea/chocalate/biscuits are stocked in generous amounts , there is a radio as well as TV and the bathroom is a good size, complete with the all-important bath tub and toiletries.
Breakfast is extra but The Big Audrey Breakfast is to be recommended and there is a lovely sun terrace outside. We were blessed with beautiful weather both times so we could take full advantage of this facility,The hotel runs photography and watercolour course which looked interesting.The hotel is a short walk from the picturesque old town.
So what about the negatives? The corridors are narrow; one lift on the left side of the building is very small too but the main problem is that the seaview facing rooms are not well insulated from the considerable traffic noise from Robertson road which runs along the seafront. We did not sleep well but this would not stop us from returning as this is a good value for money and our overall experience was very good.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ,perhaps try the carpark side.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller504175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed one night after visiting the Hastings Seafood & Wine Festival. We checked in & parked our car at the hotel early about 10.30am so we could visit the festival. We were aware that our room wouldn't be ready, which was fine. The lady on reception was very friendly & we told her we were off to the festival & she promptly gave us a festival guide.
We were out all day not returning until about 10pm. When we arrived back at the hotel we were greeted by a another friendly lady at reception - ahh she said you must be - greeting us with our name, we had not met her earlier.
Our room was at the front with a juliette balcony - read all the reviews about road noise but we like the sea view so it goes with the territory. It didn't really bother us.
The rooms are well appointed, stylish & uncluttered, carefully chosen accessories, nice mirrors, ipod dock, flat screen TV mounted on the wall. Good & newish bathroom neutral tiles, over the bath shower - no flappy curtain - a curved glass screen & good water pressure. White fluffy towels & nice toiletries.
The tea & coffee making stuff was all fair trade and a good supply too with decaffeinated coffee as well. There was a little fridge which was great.
The bed was comfy with white bed linen - why don't all hotels & B&B's have white bed linen (Horse & Groom Swaffham - take note).
We had breakfast outside on the terrace in the sunshine - as reported previously hotel residents get 20% discount when you charge items to your room. Breakfast was very good & lots of newspapers.
Great bonus being late check out as standard - 12 noon - how wonderful to have a leisurely morning with coffee in our room, french doors open & overlooking the sea.
To be honest the outside is uninspiring but inside it is very clean, comfortable & stylish. We would definitely stay again & recommend.
All staff were friendly & helpful, all in all a lovely little overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a premier king room on the first floor, with patio doors that opened to view the sea. It was almost like sitting on the beach.

We arrived early on the first day but this was not a problem and we got a warm welcome, and we're shown to our room. Couldn't fault the room, lovely bed, excellent bathroom. Nice touches included the iPhone/iPod docking station to charge and play your music, the fridge, air con unit, nice little table and chairs by the window.

The food isn't inclusive in the price. Even the breakfast. That's a shame. At almost £9 for a fry up we didn't bother with brekkie, but we did use the restaurant on the first night. The lamb chops in rosemary gravy was stunning. Bar staff were very friendly, welcoming, helpful, and professional.

I had read that cocktails were served, but this wasn't advertised, and it didn't look like the bar selection could cater, although there was plenty there to help you on you way to merryness. Nice to be able to take your drinks to your room too.

Location was awesome, out of town enough to be a bit quieter, but close enough to walk. The only down side was the road noise. Couldn't be helped, I wouldn't have wanted to pay £109 a night for a rear room and lose out on the fantastic view. By 11-12 the noise died down anyway.

Judging from what we saw walking around the town, this hotel was the jewel. Although the prices reflect that. Value for money? Yea, I think so, although it could benefit by throwing in the breakfast for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just had the one night here en route home. We had a rear facing family suite which was huge. It had a large double bed, a sitting area with chairs, table and flatscreen tv then a large bathroom and through that another bedroom with twin beds, tv and wardrobe. Bedding was good quality cotton and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was very modern but my only criticism of this was that the two corner mirrors were totally impractical for applying makeup as I had to stand on tip toes to reach round the sink to see. Definitely needs a pull out mirror on the wall for shaving and makeup. Also, loose tile on the floor needs fixing and the carpet in the bedroom was badly stained. I believe this was a bad choice of carpeting as this pale flooring shows marks.
Reception was very helpful and friendly and there was a small carpark at rear. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghacker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked very last minute and was very pleased to find that the hotel could accomodate us. Our room was a lovely twin double bedroom at the back with a nice bathroom. Facilities in the room were very good - appreciated the fridge in the room. Staff were very helpful. There is a great games room in the basement where we relaxed and watched a DVD - all to ourselves. The food smelt lovely and we did eat breakfast on the second day which was very tasty and reasonably priced. The food in general smelt lovely and we will eat there when we return. Excellent location - if you have small children it is worth noting that a bus runs past the hotel which takes you to Old Town and the amusements - good for tired legs at the end of the day! Lovely weekend and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAFKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.7 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rock Hotel

Address: White Rock, Hastings TN34 1JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $114 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rock Hotel is not your average hotel. As well as its fantastic location on Hastings seafront, it has a laid back, individual character that is popular with business and leisure travelers alike. We have a friendly cafe-bar; free wifi broad band access; are completely no smoking; and welcome well behaved pets. Minutes from the town centre, opposite the pier and next door to the White Rock Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rock Hastings
Hotel White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing