We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Quality Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senlac Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Senlac Guest House
Ranked #19 of 49 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“High Quality Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just got home from two nights at Senlac Guest House. We stayed in room2, one of the entire suite rooms. The room was excellent quality, with lots of extra equipment and extras that my husband and I have never experienced at any hotel we have stayed at. We were made to feel very welcome upon arrival and extremely valued on departure. The car park was just a few minutes walk around the corner and the guest house provided easy to use and display vouchers for between 4pm and 11am on each day of our stay.

We booked this guest house because of its location in the centre of Hastings, knowing the area before we travelled we were a little sceptical about what we would find on arrival, however we were more than pleasantly surprised. The Senlac Guest House is a classy and sophisticated place to stay, which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    49
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
48
117
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Senlac in July and were really impressed by the hotel and the warm welcome we received. The room was modern, clean and beautifully decorated. A very short walk from the seafront and local restaurants, we had a lovely weekend and would recommend the Senlac to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjclif2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, great welcome and given parking voucher for nearby car park. You need to pay from 11am to 4pm each day £3.50. Main bedroom at front of house and quite busy road made it difficult for me to get a restful sleep, although husband and youngest daughter did sleep well. The lounge was at the back of the house with a sofa/day bed which was superb for my 15 year old daughter and the traffic noise could not be heard. Great size wall mounted TV with DVDs to choose from as well as a few games. Everything was clean and modern and attention to detail was excellent. Kitchen facilities were excellent and included basics like washing up liquid, tea towels, kitchen roll. Normally with self catering these are not included. The restaurants were within easy walking distance and only 5 minutes to the beach front. Shower room was very clean and a good size and towels were fluffy. Apartment 2 is at the top of the house, so lots of stairs to climb with your luggage. During our stay we didn't hear any other guests, only the seagulls. Would book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonS831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Senlac. We received a warm welcome and were given lots of useful information both verbally and in the information folder provided. Although there isn`t on-site parking you are able to unload outside and are then given a free parking voucher for a nearby car park. Our room was extremely clean and very tastefully decorated and furnished - everything was co-ordinated and matching. The shower room was also very clean and with a good supply of toiletries. It was quite small, which didn`t bother me as I`m only 4ft 11" but my husband found it a bit of a squeeze though not a problem for a night or two. There is a small, pleasant courtyard garden at the rear where guests can sit out. Breakfast isn`t available at weekends, but there are tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a mini fridge, and plenty of places for breakfast nearby. The location is ideal - a few minutes walk to the town and seafront and about 8 minutes to the Old town where there are plenty of restaurants and pubs and some interesting shops. All in all the Senlac is a great place to stay and we would certainly book again if we visit Hastings in the future.

Room Tip: We had room 10 which is at the back so no traffic noise but the road to the front is not busy It`s i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabellacottonsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked the day before, easy check in, very pleasant, superb local information provided. Room was brilliant, beautifully decorated and very stylish: the kids loved it, especially the mini-fridge. (we stayed in a three person family room). Location was brilliant, an easy walk to the seafront and the old town. Excellent recommendations given for eating out and the breakfast was brilliant. My only complaint it that we we did not stay longer. I would definately go again and would recommend it for families and couples. All in all a very modern and sophisticated place nothing like the grimy old B&Bs of my youth; this was as my children said "swag"! Price excellent, cleanliness superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

A very clean and modern room would recommend anyone wanting to visit Hastings to try this guest house first. It was within walking distance of the old town for restaurants and bars a really good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffbell_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very clean and comfortable room was fearing the worst for the price I got the room for but was extremely surprised when I got there to how high quality it all was. Would recommend to anyone wanting to go to Hastings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town House Rooms
Town House Rooms
#24 of 49 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senlac Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senlac Guest House

Property: Senlac Guest House
Address: 47 Cambridge Gardens, Hastings TN34 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senlac Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Senlac Guest House Hastings - offering 8 stylish & afforable guest bedrooms. The house is perfectly positioned only a stone's throw from the hustle and bustle of Hastings town centre, excellent restaurants, trendy bars, traditional pubs and Hastings train and coach station. A short stroll will bring you to the beach and vibrant old town of Hastings with its famous fishing beach, boutiques, book shops and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Senlac Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing