We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travelers have booked this property
gorgeous working  fireplaces and furnishings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
gorgeous working  fireplaces and furnishings
candle lit nights by the fire beautiful boutique style french beds super comfy and hotel style
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
gorgeous working  fireplaces and furnishings
candle lit nights by the fire
beautiful boutique style french beds super comfy and hotel style
Tennyson's bedroom, fireplaces in every bedroom
The seating area in kitchen opens onto front garden so you can watch the world go by
There is a library in the toilet !
The front door is the your own personal access to apartment the bench to side is where we take break
The bicycles come with the flat, shopping in the old town.
The kitchen is french style, and in shade.
All crockery and utensils provided.
The front garden has a lawn for picnics or you have key to private huge garden
The master bedroom with enormous chateau style gold bed
Bodiam castle is half an hour drive its a fairy tale castle.
This is  the famous cafe on Norman road in St Leonards called the love cafe you cant miss it...
Ambient hallway, second Chakra.
Stony dog guards the front door, the witching stones with holes on the door protect us...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kate Q
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Ms”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My friend and I had a girls weekend in this beautiful house in St. Leonard's. A stunning house with lots of character, art, movies and books. The open fire was beautiful and the house very comfortable. We really enjoyed the ambiance of the entire setting and will definitely be going back.
The only remark I have is we had trouble finding the keys to enter the property. I would reccomend a better system be put in place. But all in all it was worth it and we had a fabulous time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdcoach
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Shabby chic ... or shabby”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I booked this at short notice. The reviews were good, the price was good. Andre, the owner, seemed a nice guy.
I should have paid more attention to the last ‘senior’ review from jaxvint62. It is accurate – and the property is now more than a year older.
On the plus side, it is an interesting place full of personal possessions – it could be very attractive.
On the negative side – it is the worst maintained, least clean, least suitable as a holiday rental, we have ever used.
We began by being given the wrong postcode in the instructions – so the satnav took us half a mile away but we asked directions and found it.
By 8.20PM I advised Andre by text the cooker was not clean or the bathroom sink (these were glaringly visible), there was part used food in the fridge (inc half a tin of soup) and main bedroom bulb was out (text to request spare, which I replaced).
In the event, the bed in the main bedroom is a lovely bed, with a dreadful mattress. We used the other bedroom, more comfortable bed, and used this bedroom to lay our clothes, as there is no drawer space and the wardrobe which I think was meant for rental use, was full.
The following evening, we turned the cooker on at the wall to discover the main oven was on. When we turned the knob to the off position, the knob dropped off. We did not try to use the main oven again. It is an old cooker.
The next morning I texted Andre to advise him, plus more light bulbs out – including shower, hall and outside the front door (pitch black) – all closed units. He responded by asking if I would go out and buy and replace the bulbs – offering to refund a nights rental. I declined. We showered in twilight and used mobile phone light to approach at night.
The kitchen is under-equipped (inc no ovenware at all). Dining would be interesting if there were more than two people – small table for 2 in kitchen, large dining table in main bedroom (which is very dimly lit). Crockery and cutlery are a limited assortment – which you may find charming?
There is a point at which shabby chic becomes just shabby. Poor maintenance and cleaning becomes grubby. Worrying electrics, curtains hanging down, wallpaper coming off and overgrown garden should not be part of the holiday experience.
I have never posted photos before, but will post as many as possible on this occasion. I was writing the experience off as Andre being too laid back and a guy let down by his cleaner. That was until we met Annie from the flat below as we were leaving – a very unhappy lady. She convinced me he was fully aware of all problems. I went in and took the photos.
If you are going to stay here, you may wish to seek some assurances.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interesting contents, large rooms
Liked least: Poor maintenance. Poor cleaning.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S
1 review
“feels like an old princess house, very nice and stylish facility”
Reviewed September 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

this is a very nice place to stay. We really enjoyed our holliday trip.
It feels like you are in an old princess house. You have eyerything you will need for a comfortable cosy time.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjwable
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent and unique place to stay”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is very unique place to stay. If you like antique look and larger than life feeling then this is the place to stay for holidays. Different than standard accommodation, plenty to entertainment and playing games....!
Strongly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon1970...
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We keep coming back”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I have taken my daughter to this holiday home on three occasions. When she was 10 months, 18 months and 3 and a half. We have both come to regard it as our home from home. It is cosy and opulent in equal measure, full of impeccable boho- chic design and treasure trove trinkets. We simply love it and can't wait to go back in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of home combined with impeccable specialness.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorothea...
1 review
“very nice”
Reviewed April 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

bit dusty, but good at night , i grew to love it, took a day or two to adjust.Think I got what they meant. its all a bit rough around the sea area, saw a punch up or two in the day time. I think its worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was out of the really rough area
Liked least: dustey
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaxvint62
Blunham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unexpected, interesting to visit but not always in a good way”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
5
people found this review helpful

A major factor in deciding to share this apartment with friends was the description of '2 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms and 1 Shower rooms', in fact there is just one bathroom containing both the bath and the shower. The price was also most attractive. It is difficult to see just what cleaning takes place for the £30 payment, the cleanliness left a lot to be desired, stripping the beds ready for departure revealed pillows and mattresses badly stained, the bed linens on one bed were spotted with stains and on the other were damp. There was a set of damp linen hanging to dry on an airer above the fridge. Tomatoes left in the fridge were weeks out of date and had turned to liquid compost. The quirkiness makes for a very interesting visit, and the owners are most generous in sharing their many possessions scattered throughout. We enjoyed listening to some vinyl and browsing books, admiring quirky ornaments and light fittings but as a place to sleep we were very relieved that we only had two nights here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space and easy parking
Liked least: Beds were not clean enough
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing