We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“spacious, comfortable and homely”
Mount Pleasant House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mount Pleasant House
3D Internet TV with Home Cinema System, Wii Console & WiFi Comfortable Lounge with reclining suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Mount Pleasant House
3D Internet TV with Home Cinema System, Wii Console & WiFi
Comfortable Lounge with reclining suite
The Well Equipped Kitchen with Induction Cooker
Kitchen/Diner with 2 high chairs
Superking Downstairs Bedroom
Shower room Ground Floor
Double Bedroom
Back bedroom, Twin
Shower Room Upstairs
Bright Front Twin Bedroom
Bathroom with Shower/Bath
Cabin / Games Room
Snooker / Pool Table, Table Football & Darts
Secure Enclosed Garden
Pets are Welcome
The BOS playing field
West Hill, Looking over the Old Town
Alexandra Park
Lovely Walks at Fairlight
Hastings Fishing Boat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon F
Selborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“spacious, comfortable and homely”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

very spacious property in the heart of Hastings. close to the amenities, a lot in waking distance. lots of space, lovely garden and games room. had teenage boys who appreciated the WiFi. Sheila the owner was a great host and made you feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Battle and Rye which are well worth a visit are only ten mins in the car.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a good review & thank you for leaving the house in such good order.
Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent house in a great location”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The house is in a great location close to all local amenities which is ideal not to have to keep paying for car parks! The house itself has everything you need and more. Sheila was very welcoming and the homemade scones were a lovely touch on arrival. There was plenty of space in the house as the rooms are all very good sizes and the games room is an added bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home comfort
Liked least: Walking back up the hill!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. It was a pleasure to have you stay & you left the house clean & in good order.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchelper
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Superb - stay here and feel like one of the family!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We visited Hastings for a very special 90th Birthday party and had a superb time here.

Mount Pleasant House was chosen based upon reviews and recommendations and we most certainly weren't disappointed.

Shiela, Ian and Robert (the owners) were extremely welcoming and made us feel right at home and part of their own family, couldn't do enough to help in point of fact and even let the dog out for some fresh air whilst we were out.

You are welcomed with homemade scones and jam from their own fruit trees and the guided tour and tourist information Shiela provides is invaluable - if you dont see it just ask!

You'll travel a very long way indeed before experiencing this level of warmth, sheer friendliness and customer service - in a word - superb!

Nice one Shiela, Ian and Robert - the party went with a bang - many thanks indeed for making our stay so memorable and a nonegenarian absolutely thrilled!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service and friendliness of the owners
Liked least: nothing wrong at all - superb time
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed having you stay in the house. We loved having a dog to let out after loosing our one in January. Hearing laughter from next door is always a joy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Something for everybody in our party
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2014
We try to find something for everyone in bad weather as well as good. Holidays don't have to be spoilt by the weather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well the house was equipped for families of all ages.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the holiday.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review & leaving the house in such good order. Hope to see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
myra o
Attleborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An enjoyable family holiday”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this house to spend a week with our children, their partners and our 4 grandchildren. The property was spacious and it was great to have 3 toilets and 2 showers as well as a bath. There was plenty of hot water which was essential with a large party. As two of the children are babies we were pleased to have the use of 2 cots and 2 high chairs.
We were blessed with non-stop sunshine during our stay so we enjoyed the garden and most evenings were able to eat outside.
Sheila gave us a warm welcome and had unpacked all our online shopping which arrived just before we did. We all enjoyed the home-made scones and jam.
There were lots of places to visit in the area and we were fortunate that it was Pirates' Day while we were in Hastings. This was a really fun day with hundreds of pirates in the town.
The walk to the park and the sea front was not too demanding, but the steep hills made the return journey more difficult.
There was adequate parking outside the house for our 3 cars but the traffic could be noisy at times.
We had a super family holiday and would recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and well equipped kitchen
Liked least: No major dislikes
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2013
Thank you for your good review & telling others about the local activities that you enjoyed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry T
Huntingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just great! Even better than expected.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were an extended family with four adults and 5 children plus a dog. They welcomed as many as four dogs! Sheila was a great host and we only had to mention something and it arrived. Gazebo, deck chairs, extra chairs. The dog could be left whilst she kept a watch from next door. The kitchen was fantastic. In fact the best equipped we have ever seen. Everything very comfortable and even Wii games for the children.
Whilst on a busy road, there are two parking bays outside the house.
Perfectly situated for all parts of the town and within walking distance of the promenade.Close to a lovely park.
We had a wonderful week and would not hesitate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So very well equipped and larger than thought.Perfect position for the area.
Liked least: Cannot think of anything.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2013
Thank you for writing such a good review & leaving the house so clean & tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing