We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHEAP AND CHEERFUL BUT COMFORTABLE AND VALUE FOR MONEY”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“CHEAP AND CHEERFUL BUT COMFORTABLE AND VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Have stayed here for 2 years running for the Hastings Pirate Day. It's cheap, and you get what you pay for really. The staff couldn't be more helpful, or friendlier, but the hotel really needs a bit of a makeover.

The bedrooms are comfortable enough, and you do get tea/coffee making stuff in the room, but goodneww the rooms need air con or at the very least, a fan of some sort. Both years we've stayed there it has been just unbearable in the room, not helped by the fact the window wouldn't open more than about 4 inches. As the hotel is right on the seafront, you would at least get a bit of a sea breeze in.

It's perfectly situated if you like being on the front and can get a seaview room.

All we really do is sleep there and have breakfast, as we're out and about all weekend, so it suits us. What do people expect for £60 a night for 2 people? It's good value for money - we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: Pick a seaview room - view at back of hotel is awful, apparently
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimfurlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    59
    72
    46
    48
See reviews for
40
95
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hotel in great location however you are expecting more for the price you pay. Nice view but hotel quite old and some major work needs to be done. Overall experience wasn't too bad but could have been better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Carshalton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights last week, booking 5 twin rooms. Without fail every day there were issues with people's key cards stopping working. At one point the chap had to remove the whole door handle to let people back in the room (I should add that this was very late at night too!!). I can't emphasise enough how frustrating this was for all of us.
The rooms generally were in poor shape, the hotel needs an update. That said the beds and sheets were clean and the buffet breakfast was pretty good.
We paid £95 p/p for 3 nights which is good value for a seafront location, however i won't be staying here again regardless of the price!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We recently booked a last minute overnight stay in Hastings after arranging a visit with friends. We arrived at The Chatsworth with no expectations and looking at the slightly dated exterior we feared the worse. How wrong we were! The receptionist was exceptionally friendly and helpful, then the view from our twin room towards the sea was glorious. The room had everything you would need and was very clean The beds were very comfortable and even though the hotel is right on the front it is slightly away from the pubs and clubs so even with the windows open on a Saturday night we slept well. The breakfast was worth the slightly extra cost and was delicious.
We will definitely stay there again if we need a weekend break in Hastings.

Room Tip: We didn't choose our room but were lucky to have one with a seaview which was glorious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Managed to book the last room in town here on a bank holiday. Paid 95 but was very basic for what was meant to be luxury the bathroom was disgusting.
Receptionist was lovely and very helpful but wouldn't go again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummyoftwo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed for a weekend in mid-May while visiting people in Hastings; I hadn't visited the town for over 12 years and really only remember the Chatsworth as a late-night drinking venue after the pubs had shut - which it certainly isn't now. There was nobody at reception when I arrived around 4pm; a card instructed one to use the adjacent telephone to summon assistance. I was checked in efficiently enough by the person on duty, who arrived after I'd made the telephone call. The room I was given (a single room with a single bed) was on the first floor, with a sea view as requested, and the corridor either side of it had a fire door. The room was pleasant enough for the price paid, although the net curtain could have done with cleaning/replacing and the main curtain was not easy to close. The bathroom was adequate and there was hot water whenever I wanted it.

Among the guests on the first night were several youth sporting teams, a team of railway maintenance workers, a group of English-language students and the usual assortment of other visitors, as a result of which the hotel was full. I was out in the evening but issues experienced later after returning included the fire doors outside the room banging often (better door closers would have helped) as people passed along the corridor, noisy sports people and students (you have to accept a certain amount of youthful exuberance and excitement, but their leaders could have mentioned showing consideration for other guests), and the fire bell ringing at 2:30am... The hotel appeared to be a lot emptier the second night and was far more peaceful.

Breakfast the first morning was buffet-style. All the ingredients were cheap and the scrambled egg was very watery. I really don't know what they had done with the bacon. I'd read comments about the sausages from other reviewers so just had to try one and yes, it was as awful as described :-) However, breakfast the next day was very different. I discovered the buffet arrangement is only used when the hotel is very busy (and presumably a lot of guests have ordered breakfast in advance), otherwise it is cooked to order. I asked for scrambled egg and was asked (by I guess a member of management) if I wanted bacon too. On explaining that I had not liked it the previous morning, he said he would check with the cook, and bacon arrived on a separate plate for me to try. It was still not very nice (those cheap ingredients...), but better and at least the effort at service had been made.

On checking out, I was asked if I had enjoyed my stay. I mentioned the banging fire doors and was told that I should have reported the problem, because they could have wedged them open!!! In summary, this is not an expensive hotel and is probably run with costs minimized so far as possible, so certainly do not expect anything above basic. A hotel such as this does have a place in the scheme of things and Its rates will obviously draw lots of budget travellers. If you don't want the issues described above, pay a bit more and stay elsewhere. If you do stay, however, it might be best to go out for breakfast :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

upon arrival exterior is very delapedated curtains discoloured drain pipes and gutters broken interior is from the 60s still staff were ok tho (at this point).got into our room to find a 3/4 bed with a double matress on and a leg broken on the bed so it was unstable..bathroom only light was from the shaver light so very dark but that still did not disguise that moldy broken tiles in the shower cubicle ...bedding had a big hole in it... asked for some one to come and see and got a load of excusses "its not mold its paint from last week " what did they paint its all dull still... bed i done that the hole and the broken leg.moved us to a different room to find a massive sick stain on wall and splats still very visable .this almost made us vomit our self "oh thats rain water leaking from the roof " what in chunks ????
got refund and ran as fast as we could

Room Tip: unless u ask for seaview all you see is a noisy night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
3.1 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: 7-11 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatsworth Hotel is one of Hasting's landmarks, situated in a superb position on the sea front. The hotel is a short walk from the bus and train stations and has ample car parking just yards away. All of the Chatsworth's 52 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to the highest standard offering: Direct dial telephones with data port Remote controlled television and radio Tea and coffee making facilities Hair dryer The bedrooms are situated on 3 floors with lift access to all. All are ensuite and many enjoy the benefits of the sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing