We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to standard.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not up to standard.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night over the weekend and was greeted by the nice girl in reception,but surprised to pay up front for a service I haven't received.The room was the usual fare but interior wise it was tired and dated,with the bath badly in need of replacing as it was badly stained.through trip advisor we heard good things about the Indian Restraunt which doubles as the breakfast room,the signs were good with almost a full house but after ordering our choice we waited a good hour for the food.The beds were comfortable and in the morning we looked forward to an English breakfast,but for £7 a person it was rubbish with self-service of the buffet,make your own toast and the hot food kept warm in trays usually found in Curry buffets.how can anyone get an English breakfast wrong and not supply a meal direct from the kitchen,with waitress service is just laziness by the management.If you don't have a care for the standard you want then the Chatsworth Hotel is for you.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    59
    70
    43
    47
See reviews for
36
92
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We turned up here about 9pm and there were quite a few drunk people in the hotel foyer and hanging around outside. The receptionist asked us several times if we were OK with a double bed and despite us saying that was fine (as a same sex couple) she asked us again and again. Rooms were clean but shabby and the bath was really really stained. Probelsm with damp on walls as well. Indian food smell really strong in the hall. Breakfast was horrible. Criossants and bread was stale and coffee was really stewed. Still was relatively cheap and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Whitstable
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night on Friday 2 August and found it excellent value for money. Yes the hotel was a bit dated but our room and bedding were very clean and we felt that for what we had paid we had no complaints.

We had a good size room with a view seaview and never heard any noise through the night except for the waves crashing against the beach which was actually quite relaxing.

We arrived after 6pm and so parking in the road outside was free until 9am the next morning when we paid for an hour so we could have breakfast in the hotel.

The breakfast was great, a good selection of food and coffee was regularly topped up.

A good relaxing night and would visit again.

As for Hastings itself, it was a shame to see the seafront had gone downhill a bit since previous visits, homelessness and begging were more evident and there were more boarded up shops/cafes on the seafront which we walked along in the early evening. I would imagine at night time it could actually be a bit intimidating – if Hastings Council want people to visit and feel safe then maybe more needs to be done to help these people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Room 207 terrible view dirty back road seagulls and pigeons everywhere right next to ventilation for the jali restaurant so very strong smell when restaurant is open. . Room very shabby , windows filthy carpet stain , bed tilted head down , flat pillows, bedside lights non functional , shower didn't drain properly list is endless . Service poor saw a man when we checked in and that was it for the two days , has a small bar that never seems to be open , no vending machines either . Noisy nightclub underneath hotel with drunks outside your window till 4 am being sick and screaming. Really unpleasant stay two nights no sleep supposed to be a relaxing couple of days away with the misses would never stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Located on Hastings sea front in a central location with underground parking nearby. Good sized room with acceptable facilities including large screen TV although beds a little uncomfortable with very flat pillows one per bed with no spare available in room. Friendly helpful staff at reception. First floor sea view room meant late night revellers outside easily heard inside room. Double glazing would have been helpful. Hotel looking a little tired but fairly reasonable good value hotel overall. Don't expect anything out of the ordinary.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

As the other reviews point out this hotel indeed looks and feels dated and could need refurbishing, but in general you get what you pay for. The obvious plus is the location by the sea. My room looked out onto the sea but parts of the window weren't that clear. The room was small, overal looked clean enough. There's a big flatscreen tv in the room. The staff is helpful. I've heard other people complain about night club music nearby during evening/night, but I didn't have any problems with that, staying on the first floor. The food was good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Longcityisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Standard Twin Room with two single beds.
Overviewing the English Channel
Toilet and bath.
Everything was OK without bragging’.
The room was cleaned every day
Continental breakfast £ 7 each
We stayed for four nights and were happy about it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerrik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.0 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: 7-11 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatsworth Hotel is one of Hasting's landmarks, situated in a superb position on the sea front. The hotel is a short walk from the bus and train stations and has ample car parking just yards away. All of the Chatsworth's 52 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to the highest standard offering: Direct dial telephones with data port Remote controlled television and radio Tea and coffee making facilities Hair dryer The bedrooms are situated on 3 floors with lift access to all. All are ensuite and many enjoy the benefits of the sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing