We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste of time & money”
Review of Jerwood Gallery

Jerwood Gallery
Ranked #15 of 67 things to do in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated next to the historic fishing beach in Hastings’ picturesque Old Town, the award winning Jerwood Gallery is home to the Jerwood Collection of 20th and 21st century British art, and a diverse temporary exhibition programme.
Winchelsea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a waste of time & money”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The gallery is not only expensive at £7 per person but there is very little in it. Infact, the best thing about it are the lovely views you get from the windows out to the beach & the old fishing fleet. The exhibitions were not for me and in contrast, the De La Warr in Bexhill & Rye Art Gallery has some wonderful exhibitions and they're all free!!! Give this one a miss & spend your money more wisely.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MinnieB218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    107
    47
    24
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great space...go and see the Maloney paintings...”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I do like the space...however, purists will cringe at some of the details...mixed terrazzo colour, poor lighting in some rooms, small rooms, different wood used for the doors...some metalwork in stainless, some in aged steel....I do like the glazed external tiles...

And the artwork...go and see the Martin Maloney paintings...they are stunning...the rest is pretty good too...the sea was ferocious today and it was fun watching it from the gallery...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rkjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Expensive but good”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The gallery has some lovely exhibits and the building itself is gorgeous. Each window is carefully placed so as to frame a lovely view.
The food from the cafe was delicious and well presented. Even my family visiting from London were impressed.
My only gripe is that £7 is a bit on the pricey side for entry. £5 would be more realistic.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Labtech666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic gallery, not so the cafe”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I visit the gallery reasonably regularly, have a favorite room in the gallery and have enjoyed most of the exhibitions. As a local the £2.00 entrance is absolutely reasonable. The building itself is airy, smells lovely (weird but I like the smell of it!) and the windows overlooking aspects of the beach and old town never fail to amaze. The gallery staff are friendly and knowledgeable.

The downside is the cafe. The facility itself is wonderful, the balcony overlooking the beach is a gift as many of the other great cafes in the old town are often in shade. The food and the service is lacking unfortunately and as a result I visit far less than I would. To combine the gallery and a decent cafe would result in my visiting far more often. The food is too expensive veering towards poor quality restaurant not good quality cafe, the menu doesn't change frequently enough, its just not hitting in the right place. Some (not all) of the staff are sullen and rude.

Please research some of the other great cafes in Hastings/St Leonards and match or better this and I for one will visit more often. The gallery is small and needs a fantastic cafe, balcony experience to justify an all round positive experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joannahastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent gallery a smidge expensive and the cafe isn't great”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The gallery itself is very well laid out and the exhibits are excellent. I think £7 is a tad expensive but that's perhaps not really an issue. The cafe/restaurant is not brilliant the menu doesn't offer a great variety and its very expensive for what you get (wasn't impressed by the service either). Parking is easy and very close by so all-in-all a pretty good experience.

Helpful?
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerwood Gallery also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Jerwood Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing