We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic restaurant and staff”

Two Bulls Steakhouse
Ranked #16 of 357 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A large and airy dining room in this beautiful former landmark pub with an open kitchen and very informal service is a great place to relax and enjoy a good steak. You can see the dry aging beef on display and you can see the genuine charcoal grill at work on your steak. This is definitely not fine dining but what you do get is rustic, simple, homemade food with strong natural flavours.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic restaurant and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have just had my mums 80th birthday here at the Two Bulls Steakhouse. I cannot fault this restaurant and especially the fantastic staff. I live in Australia and booked all the arrangements via Australia prior to arriving in the UK and they made this so easy for me. I dropped the cake off the day before the meal, they decorated the table for me. Allowed my friends to enter early to attach balloons etc that they had arranged. The staff even called me in Australia to ensure that the booking was to my request. I think that they are fantastic and highly recommend them. I will definitely be back to eat here again as the food was fantastic too. Thankyou very much all the staff of the Two Bulls Restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harbourbridge_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    173
    78
    45
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My partner and I have eaten at The Two Bulls on two occasions since moving to the area.
On both visits the food has been of a high standard.
Steaks are tasty and cooked to perfection, with a simple side of chunky chips and salad.
Desserts are to die for - try the raspberry cheesecake or the peanut banoffee cake!

Food is a tad on the pricey side, but we are always happy to pay that extra for quality.

The only thing I could call fault on was that the first time we ate here, we booked a table for the first sitting rather than the second and we felt a bit rushed along by the waitresses.
So would recommend booking for the second sitting as the staff wont be worrying about trying to get another sitting in after you!

A restaurant with consistently high quality food, simple unpretentious decor and friendly staff.
We will be coming back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Expensive, not great service but nice food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went here with friends, on the whole the food was nice but we found it really expensive (£26 for a steak) and you don't get many chips although the ones we got were tasty, we found the service a bit lacking a waitress cleared our plates, gave us a pudding menu and gave us less than a minute before asking what we wanted, We asked for a couple more minutes, over 30 minutes later, no one had come back and we had to ask a waitress to come and take our order. Another note if you don't like steak the menu is really limited unlike other places which offer burgers or things like gammon steaks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hastleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have eaten at the 2 Bulls a few times - I LOVE steak and often eat it in the UK and abroad. The quality of the meat is excellent; the steak seasoning is really delicious and so the crust of the steak is just outstanding. Chips also hand cut and prepared with real care. the other part of the equation is the customer service - the staff have always been attentive and really friendly. The restaurant is small; the food is blinding and the staff are lovely thus it's damn busy. They do need to stick to timings and so it is possible that the staff - as charmingly as they can - will invite you to pay and move on. If you are a delicate flower you might take this personally but honestly, its just so more people can enjoy this brilliant Hastings restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Having recently moved to Sussex,Me and my Wife drove down to hastings to visit Family,decided on the two bulls for dinner,Steaks were O.k.Drinks menu lacking,Were told to LEAVE! by waiter saying we had stayed our reservation,Very strange.Prices Greedy,won't be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gareth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Bulls Steakhouse also viewed

 
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Two Bulls Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing