We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hastings Museum and Art Gallery
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
One of the best

This is a wonderful little museum full of interesting displays and sets out the history of Hastings... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Oystercatcher309
,
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Very good local museum

Well worth a visit. The durbar room and its gallery would be worthy of the Royal Pavilion. History... read more

Reviewed September 30, 2018
Loughtonian1
,
Loughton, United Kingdom
Read all 154 reviews
  
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
96
40
9
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
40
9
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews durbar hall grey owl durbar room local history well worth a visit fairy lights push button coffee machine victorian times all ages free admission interesting displays on display rainy day little gem brassey turner
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a wonderful little museum full of interesting displays and sets out the history of Hastings and the people who have lived there. Well worth a visit.

Thank Oystercatcher309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAG, Facilities Coordinator at Hastings Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Oystercatcher, thank you for visiting and it's great to here you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks, Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I think previously it was a large family home with a very grand, dark hall (not the main entrance now). If you look straight upwards the carvings are stunning. I think they have an Indian influence.

It’s a small museum and a good stop on a rainy day with children where they could choose to dress up as a dinosaur upstairs!

No coffee shop but a machine provides hot drinks and there a a few tables and chairs. We saw the museum on their penultimate day as they close at the end of October until the new season.

If you’re staying in the town it’s easy to find if you walk directly up the hill from the pier on to the A21 and up the hill on the right.

Thank Vlillik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Well worth a visit. The durbar room and its gallery would be worthy of the Royal Pavilion. History of Hastings in 66 objects feature during 2018. Friendly and helpful staff.
Next to nothing on the railways and tramways of Hastings, one of the reasons we went!

Thank Loughtonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAG, Facilities Coordinator at Hastings Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Hi Loughtonian, thank you for visiting. We're glad you enjoyed the Durbar Hall and the Brassey Collection. Unfortunately we do not have too much on the railways and tramways but I hope you were able to find other areas of interest during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

The content in this museum is immense! So much to be seen, in such an easily accessible way. I loved the Durbar Hall, that was absolutely beautiful. There's something that will truly interest everyone and so much of it is interactive. I'm so impressed that such an engaging museum exists outside of London and for it be free is truly astounding. Always, always worth a visit!

Thank Emylou10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAG, Facilities Coordinator at Hastings Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Hi Emylou10, thank you for visiting the museum and we're glad you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

It's small but has interesting stuff. Small car park out the front, arrive early to park in there. No cafe.

Thank CatherineT2661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

We came across this lovely little local museum after trying to find shelter from the torrential rain during the Pride festival over on the next field. They have almost everything & the collection was rather eclectic. In fact they have so many on displays many are just squashed together in the same cabinet. The best room was the Durbar Hall which was complete reconstructed from the original taken from central London. The workmanship is incredible & just majestic. Well recommend a visit even if you are not caught out in wet weather.

Thank hidden_tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAG, Facilities Coordinator at Hastings Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you hidden_tiger. It was a shame about the weather on the Sunday but we're glad it helped you find the museum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We loved our visit. Darbar room is a must see. Must see for childrens and adults alike. Many displays are of international importance.

Thank Navigate732318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAG, Facilities Coordinator at Hastings Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thanks for visiting Rana. We're glad you enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Went to visit a specific exhibition on Vincent Lines - the rest of the museum was great though and had an intersting mix of exhibits. I would say this activity would last about an hour, and hour and a half maximum. There are about 3-4 parking spaces at the museum - very close and perfect if you arrive early to grab one!

Thank Sixtwentytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAG, Facilities Coordinator at Hastings Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Hi Sixtwentytwo, thanks for visiting and we're glad you enjoyed your time here. Visitors are welcome to park at the side of the driveway leading up to the front of the museum (as well as the car park area to the right of the building), just for future reference so you don't need to worry about arriving early enough! The museum grounds can fit approximately 20 cars. Best wishes, Hastings Museum and Art Gallery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

Hastings museum is quite interesting, even for a Norwegian couple with no relations to Hastings. Varied and nicely presented items, and a good description of the story behind. A good way to spend an hour or two.

Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAG, Facilities Coordinator at Hastings Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Hi Roger, thanks for your feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time while over here. Kind regards, Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

This museum is an excellent example of well-managed and well presented history of Hastings we had a surprisingly good time there. It was not at all boring and was very instructive about the area that we were visiting. Excellent displays information about a very amount of things. We would strongly recommend a visit to this museum on your visit Hastings

Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAG, Facilities Coordinator at Hastings Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Hi Jonathan, thanks for your feedback. We aim to make the museum an inclusive and varied environment and we're glad you enjoyed time here. Many thanks, Ben.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews