We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality establishment”
Review of Northrise Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Northrise Lodge
Ranked #8 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Top quality establishment”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everything in this guest house was of the highest standard. We stayed in the Rosemary & Thyme room which has a modern immaculately clean ensuite with the most luxurious towels imaginable! The breakfasts were superb too and the owners extremely friendly and helpful. I would rate the Northrise Lodge as five star plus, and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone proposing to visit Hastings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
113
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very friendly owners, they helped us with bookings at restaurants.
Rooms were new, very nice and spacious rooms. Luxury bath room. Materials were very high standard. Full English breakfast was tasty. We stayed there for 2 nights.

Room Tip: the purple room has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank vicky v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottmingen, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in the Marple room overlooking the distant sea. The room was very comfortable, in fact brand new and spotlessly clean. A five star hotel couldn't do better! The hosts were very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was wonderful. Hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Was dubious about staying in a B&B, as past experiences have been awful! But I have to say, I was very pleasantly surprised! The house and bedroom were immaculately clean, with a comfy but modern decor. I hate noise, but the room was very quiet and bed lovely and comfy, we stayed in the Frost room. It was very handy to have a little fridge in the room and the shower in the bathroom is amazing! Have to say, the lovely towels were the best I have seen in any hotel! Andrea and Nick were very welcoming and informative about the area, which was handy. All in all, it was a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Andrea and Nick could not have been any more accommodating when welcoming us in to their home. The room was immaculate and spotless, the bed was 'don't want to get up in the morning' comfortable, the shower was better than most top end hotels, and the views out the window over looking the distant sea were outstanding. Andrea and Nick were superb with recommending restaurants, booking taxis and ensuring the restaurant didn't close the kitchen before we got there on our first night. Breakfast in the morning was a perfect way to start the day, with a wide choice of teas, coffees, juices, cereals, cooked breakfast and fruit.

All in all, the entire weekend with Andrea and Nick could not be improved in any way.

Room Tip: Stayed in Maple room, purple decor, AMAZING bed and shower, great views, no noise from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlicChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed staying at Andrea's and Nick's B&B. They are both really friendly and helpful and offer a beautiful, clean and welcoming establishment which was a pleasure to stay in. It is obvious they have spent considerable money and time on their accommodation and we stayed in the Clouseau room which was very clean and had the most comfortable bed. Our room was also beautifully decorated and also very quiet. Breakfast on both mornings was wonderful, freshly cooked with a nice choice to suit individual tastes as well as selections of cereals, juices and fresh fruit to choose from. Hastings is a nice town to stay in, there are plenty of nearby attractions for which the B&B is ideally based and I can recommend trips to the antique shops of Rye, Bodiam Castle, the Nature Park and Lathams restaurant in town. We will be back to stay and hope to try another of the rooms which incidentally are all named after detectives. The owners should be proud of what they offer and the attention they pay to detail.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulBEssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Croydon, England.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you are looking for great quality B&B accommodation in Hastings, I don't think you could do better than this.

We arrived really late for our visit due to terrible traffic on our way down from London, but our hosts were really understanding and stayed up to welcome us into our room. We stayed in the Frost room which was nicely decorated, very well equipped and scrupulously clean. The room was quiet with no noise and we both had a great night's sleep.

In the morning we realised that we were the only guests on a quiet week in early April. The breakfast which was additional to the price of the room was really good value with a good choice of hot and cold options. We both had the full English with some lovely poached eggs.

As the hotel was quiet we had a good chat with Nick and Andrea. I am sure we will look to stay here again if we are looking for a room in Hastings.

Room Tip: Double rooms are excellent, but next time we may pay extra for one of the larger superking rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ediesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
2.7 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
2.8 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 46 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#6 of 46 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 46 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.1 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#21 of 46 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Laindons
The Laindons
#1 of 46 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northrise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northrise Lodge

Property: Northrise Lodge
Address: 97 Fairlight Road, Hastings TN35 5EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Northrise Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Beautifully renovated Edwardian House into a Four Star Silver Bed and Breakfast" Great location for a weekend or mid-week break. We are now licenced to sell alcohol which is an excellent additional service to offer our guests. We are situated with sea views across the roof tops. Northrise Lodge is approximately 5-10 minute drive from Hastings old town seafront. If you enjoy walking, it would take approximately a 35-45 minutes steady walk to reach Hastings Old Town seafront. The Country park is just opposite and with 850 acres its accessible just across the road, within a five minute walk, with the Firehills, Fairlight Road Picnic Site, Warren Glen, Fairlight Glen, plenty of wildlife, all beautiful places for you to explore, and stunning cliff top walks, we are an excellent base for walkers and cyclists. We have free street parking at the rear entrance to the B&B, in Beacon Road. There is secure driveway parking for motorbikes. We have 4 individually styled and beautifully decorated to a very high standard rooms, all with stunning modern en-suites with an excellent power shower. There is plenty of wardrobe space in each room, free Wi-Fi access and a hairdryer, fridge, slippers and dressing gowns for your comfort. Excellent quality beds with medium/firm orthopaedic mattresses, and luxury bedding. Complimentary Toiletries and luxurious towels and an excellent selection of teas and coffee, hot chocolate on the hospitality tray with sweets, biscuits and even cake for that extra treat. If you prefer fresh milk just ask. "Rosemary & Thyme" is a stunning king-size spacious room, king-size bed, boasts views of the roof tops to the country park and sea, a beautiful original fire place, also has an 42" LCD TV, two comfy tub chairs, "Marple" is a stunning spacious room, this has a super-kingsize bed,a beautiful original fire place, this room boasts a sea view. 42" Flat screen television on the wall. Two comfy tub chairs. "Clouseau" is a lovely larger double room, with a double bed, fire place, also has an 32" LCD TV, one comfy tub chair. "Frost" A lovely small double room, double bed, 32" LCD TV. There are no chairs in this room. However we do have a lovely guest lounge you are welcome to use. A lovely newly decorated dining/breakfast room. We also have a comfortable guest lounge with sofas, a tea and coffee machine, television. Its a lovely room to relax in after a day exploring or after breakfast. Local interests include Battle, Rye, Bodiam, Winchelsea, Golf Clubs, Museums & Art Galleries, Castles, Theatre, Country walks, all beautiful and interesting places for you to explore during your stay. Please note that breakfast is only available on weekends and not available Monday to Friday's. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Northrise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing