We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class food and service”
Review of Trattoria Italiana - CLOSED

Trattoria Italiana
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A newly opened Fish & Grill restaurant overlooking the sea. Locally sourced produce, cooked to order. Friendly staff and talented chefs ready to share the Hastings experience with you. Take a look at our website to get a flavour of what we do, then come down and experience it!
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top class food and service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

After trying to find the best italian restaurant in Hastings on Tripadvisor, we chose Trattoria Italiana, And we made a good choice! We were slightly put off by being the only customers in there, but the waiter was friendly. We ordered and enjoyed a very very nice meal. Great quality of food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    22
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“First class food!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Consistent with there service, I fully recommend this place makes , Italian way, simply Italian look like a wetherspoon when they run out of food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonnywalker1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic in Every Way”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Despite ours being a last minute booking on the penultimate Friday before Christmas the restaurant managed to fit us in. They were packed to the roof but the service we received was excellent. Although the staff were extremely busy they were friendly, helpful and courteous with nothing seeming to be too much trouble. The menu was extensive and varied and every course was delicious and nicely presented. Not one person in our party of four had a negative comment about any of the three courses that we ordered. Excellent in every way and the most delicious seafood stew I have ever tasted. Thank you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend enough.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This truly is the best restaurant I've eaten at in Sussex.

Food = Exceptional

Customer service = Brilliant

Wait times = Not very long

General atmosphere = Relaxed and comfortable

We visit at least once a year for the Hastings Half Marathon, and stay nearby for a couple of nights. We always eat here the night before race day to stock up on carbs. We also visit Hastings (seaside) from time to time, so pop in for a meal then too.

I cannot praise the staff enough, as soon as you enter they make you feel like friends. The owner / manager is particularly friendly, and after a recent golf tournament even presented our prizes and threw in a few bottles of house special. (very much appreciated!) He made it a memorable evening.

The food itself is of very good quality. The menu is varied and fairly good value.

This is THE restaurant to visit if you're in the area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was not my first visit and will not be my last. My friend & I shared the Medley of smoked fish starter and we both had the Fillet of cod wrapped in Parma ham finished with a herb & parmesan crust, both from the Special board. WOW! Both dishes were superb. Cod was moist and worked really well with the salty Parma ham and lovely crunchy crust. We then shared the homemade tart tatin with vanilla ice cream. Superb! I have paid 3 times as much for a similar meal and not enjoyed it as much. Well done Trattoria, some good food in Hastings at last.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigfoodielucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Italiana also viewed

St Leonards-on-Sea, Hastings
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing