We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, adequate accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Eagle House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, adequate accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is an old-fashioned sort of hotel complete with crazily patterned carpets, flock wallpaper and portrait of HM the Queen. Personally I love that kind of stuff but it's probably not for everyone. We received a friendly welcome. We had a refurbished room, which was fairly large, spotlessly clean and in my opinion well supplied with tea, coffee, toiletries etc for the price of the room. Although the corridor seemed quite noisy (sound of television from other rooms), the room was very quiet, which was lovely. The bed was comfortable. On the down side, our room was a bit gloomy, a little on the chilly side, and smelt slightly of stale smoke, which was a great shame and would put me off staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    43
    31
    12
    14
See reviews for
24
58
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Huge room, kingsize bed, clean, good size wardrobe space. There are some ground floor rooms available but none with level access - you still have to go up and down a couple of steps. However, we managed the stairs down to our basement room, although the handrail is on one side only. Everything you need for a basic, good value bed and breakfast with the added bonus of lovely, friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had a comfortable stay in this rather dated and basic hotel. Ok for bed and breakfast near the sea.I was very happy with the standard of cleanliness and facilities in the room. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyperwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a few nights and found it very good value for money. We had a superior room with king size bed and ensuite, all of which had been refurbished. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet, despite the hotel being full. Parts of the hotel are still waiting to be upgraded but will be done. Everywhere seemed clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivien57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

It was a nice small hotel, it was spotlessly clean, the shower was equipped with all the nice little things you need for a shower i.e. shower gel, shampoo, soap e.t.c.. the room had a good TV, and tea and coffee making facilities. And we got our request of a ground floor room for our disabled friend. The breakfast was as good as you would get anywhere and Paul the manager, couldn't be more helpful, would definitely stay there again.
The noisy seagulls early in the morning were a pain, would have been nice to have had a gun, but that is no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in August, booked a superior room. On arrival was told that the room was not available due to a faulty lighting transformer which would be fixed the next day. Was given a standard room for the1st night, free of charge inc breakfast, and moved to the superior room for the remaining 2 nights. Hotel is 5 minutes walk from the seafront and the on-site parking is a bonus. The full English breakfast was excellent and we would definitely stay at the hotel again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teravista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the train station and the same to the sea front.The owner knows the local area and is very helpful.The rooms are very comfortable(en suite) clean and you do not get noise from traffic due to its location being off main streets.Also a good location to stay like I did if travelling to a concert in Bexhill with train service and buses running late.Good choice of breakfast all that you want from a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.7 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
0.9 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.9 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House Hotel

Property: Eagle House Hotel
Address: 12 Pevensey Road, Hastings TN38 0JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Eagle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing