We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There can't be a better place to stay in Hastings!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Town Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“There can't be a better place to stay in Hastings!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Easy to find; a very warm welcome from Tracey, our hostess; comfortable clean room with the promised sea views and so convenient - I had a great bike ride along the front the next morning. Lovely breakfast too - anyone who serves black pudding gets my vote and it was so nice to be able to choose what you had. You do need to be fairly fit to climb up to the top but it is well worth it! Would have been nice to have had a shower spray on the bath taps - even a plastic one.

Room Tip: The room at the top with the sea view is worth the climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mgt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
94
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was staying in a Seaview Double Ensuite with my husband and everything was very fine. We love the room and it is comfortable. And i love the teacups in my room it s cute! The location is very convenient and the breakfast is good and with sufficient amount. I enjoyed my stay here in the Old Town House and if i come back to Hastings, I would go back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine_2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 7 at the top, I've never sat in a bath looking at the sea before! Really clean room, spacious and lovely comfy bed. Was good to have extra touches like bottled water, decent coffee, tea and biscuits. Breakfasts were top notch and all cooked to order. The b&b is right in the old town with plenty of restaurants nearby. The whole stay was excellent value too, and the owner Tracy was friendly efficient and helpful. I travel a lot and would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulapaula051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

stayed a few days sun - tues room spotless lovely views. steep stairs to the room but you are forewarned and they were no trouble for us. breakfast was top stuff staff were polite friendly and couldnt do enough for you, would recommend this place as it was on top off pubs clubs resturants the beach all in a few minutes walk but not noisy in the room . will def be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollyluluEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent little guest house. Room's very bright, clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent and staff very friendly. Great location for the old town. If you come by car you can find free parking for 4 hours just up the London Road - and if you take a turning off from this street on the right you can find quite a bit of free parking that's about 10-15 minutes walk back to the High Street and guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here last weekend. The stairs are narrow and a little vertiginous but once you've climbed them there's lovely room 7 with it's glorious sea view waiting for you. Very clean. Very comfortable and the secondary double-glazing blocks out the cries of the ever present Hastings seagulls most effectively . The coffee shop on the ground floor is closed - boo! - and has been replaced by an estate agent so it is very quiet. This property is at the High Street end of George Street perfectly located for the heart of the Old Town. There's an ATM opposite the front door and the Blue Dolphin fish bar is next to the ATM. 20 metres away is a newsagent and some of the best pubs in Hastings are a couple of minutes walk away up George Street. Two or three minute walk and you're on the Stade and at the Jerrold.

Breakfast is great and they know how to poach an egg which isn't true of every Old Town B&B.

Room 7 doesn't have a shower, only a bath. I didn't miss it.

Room Tip: See the title.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Last minute one night stay in this lovely guest house. We had a very warm welcome and the room was spacious, nicely decorated and immaculately clean.
At breakfast we couldn't have asked for better food or service, nothing was too much trouble.
Can definitely recommend this guest house for location too as its right by the front of the old town so easy to get to the beach and other amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifik04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.7 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 46 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#21 of 46 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 46 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Town Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Town Guesthouse

Property: The Old Town Guesthouse
Address: 1A George Street, Hastings TN34 3EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Town Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Town Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing