We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place in fine location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Town Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent little guest house. Room's very bright, clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent and staff very friendly. Great location for the old town. If you come by car you can find free parking for 4 hours just up the London Road - and if you take a turning off from this street on the right you can find quite a bit of free parking that's about 10-15 minutes walk back to the High Street and guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for The Old Town Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 152 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here last weekend. The stairs are narrow and a little vertiginous but once you've climbed them there's lovely room 7 with it's glorious sea view waiting for you. Very clean. Very comfortable and the secondary double-glazing blocks out the cries of the ever present Hastings seagulls most effectively . The coffee shop on the ground floor is closed - boo! - and has been replaced by an estate agent so it is very quiet. This property is at the High Street end of George Street perfectly located for the heart of the Old Town. There's an ATM opposite the front door and the Blue Dolphin fish bar is next to the ATM. 20 metres away is a newsagent and some of the best pubs in Hastings are a couple of minutes walk away up George Street. Two or three minute walk and you're on the Stade and at the Jerrold.

Breakfast is great and they know how to poach an egg which isn't true of every Old Town B&B.

Room 7 doesn't have a shower, only a bath. I didn't miss it.

Room Tip: See the title.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Last minute one night stay in this lovely guest house. We had a very warm welcome and the room was spacious, nicely decorated and immaculately clean.
At breakfast we couldn't have asked for better food or service, nothing was too much trouble.
Can definitely recommend this guest house for location too as its right by the front of the old town so easy to get to the beach and other amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifik04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I visited for 1 night and the room was clean and very modern. The breakfast was lovely. The only downside which was nothing to do with the hotel was the parking. I had a choice to abandon the car on the street and hope until 8am next day and quickly move it before parking rules started again or leave it on the seafront car park and get locked in unitl 7am. Such a crazy idea if you are out late.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superssonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. Girls night out used the twin and single room. Very clean, nice white bedding, nice touch of bottled water & biscuits! Lovely cooked breakfast with choices. Fab little chalk board to leave messages on and the BEST location. Would definitely stay here again - and plan too very soon.

1 tiny thing id say is tiles in shower could do with whitening up a bit but that's all I could say!

Room Tip: Both our rooms were lovely
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed for the Seafood & Wine Festival. Lovely hosts, couldn't have been more friendly if they tried. Lovely room, overlooking the sea. Great breakfast. In old town with best ever Steak restaurant underneath.
Parking was a problem, but not the fault of the hosts who are most helpful if you bother to ask them what to do and where/how to park.
Nice bathroom, but no door to the bedroom, so no toilet or washing privacy. Shower room next door (shared with other guests) but it is lockable and all very, very clean.

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms, so can't comment, but was all very clean.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2dallies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my little girl stayed here for 3 days and had a fantastic stay. Location wise you could not get better, the rooms are beautiful, they are clean, stylish plus beds are amazingly comfy!!! Breakfast was fantastic, and Tracy and her daughter can not do enough for you when you stay. Stairs are steep which gives you a good workout, but that's clearly mentioned on the website, my little one thought they were enchanting as they "looked like the steps to the castle" I just took the chance to work out the old glutes lol. I would def go back and wanted to book for pirate day but alas, fully booked!!! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ionabrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.6 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
859 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 47 in Hastings
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 47 in Hastings
832 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#5 of 47 in Hastings
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Town Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Town Guesthouse

Address: 1A George Street, Hastings TN34 3EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: $84 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Town Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Town Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing