We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best we have stayed at in all our visits to Hastings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Town Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Town Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 49 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dovercourt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best we have stayed at in all our visits to Hastings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have been regular visitors to Hastings for the last five years for the seafood and wine festival weekend, this was our first stay ( 2 nights) at the old town guest house having stayed in different B & B's on every other visit.
The best of them all, a fabulous location in the old town, our en suite room was very nice with a great view and was spotlessly clean. The bottled water in room was appreciated as was tea/coffee facilities & biscuits. Breakfast was excellent made with good quality ingredients.
The owners Doug & Jen could not have been more helpful in ensuring we had a perfect stay.
Hopefully we will be able to return for next years festival and if so we will definitely stay here if not already fully booked !.

Room Tip: Can recommend the En suite at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    18
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
90
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for one night during a lovely weekend in Hastings. Top central location (right in the middle of the Old Town), nice-looking, light and airy room and bathroom, comfortable bed - please see the pics.

Location perfect for beach, restaurants, pubs, old town galleries- everything right at your doorstep. Unfortunately, the owner had problems with his knee (hope he gets well soon) so I can't review the B&B breakfast- we were offered to have ours in the coffee shop downstairs instead free of charge which I don't regret at all- superb place as well with tasty baguettes/bagels, coffee and juice.

Would definitely recommend for a romantic weekend getaway. A small "minus" point- no Wi-Fi connectivity in our room- however it worked fine in the dining room which was next door. And I have a 3g on my phone so didn't care about that too much really.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmytro_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a two night mini-break in Hastings. The rooms are very nice and very clean with the linen and towels of a high quality and very soft. Doug the owner couldn't have been more helpful and made us feel very welcome. For breakfast there was a range of fruit, yoghurts, juices, toast and of course Doug's outstanding full-english cooked breakfast (including veggie sausages if you'd prefer).

The BnB is ideally located right in the middle of the old-town part of Hastings, opposite the beach. The old town has many lovely shops and there are loads of great restaurants within a minute's walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Me and my partner recently stayed from friday to yesterday and had a fantastic time. The apartment was clean spotless with a lovely beach view. The apartment was so close to the beach, shopping centre and amazing places to eat. The people who owned the guest house were amazing with their services, breckfast in the morning and room service during the day! You would come home in the afternoon and the room would be spotless just like it was when you first arrived. The cost was under £200 for three nights so it was for an amazing value. We are going back next year to do the same thing, what a lovely get away for the weekend. Would recommend this to anyone who enjoys short breaks by the sea because the old town guest house is the place to be!

Room Tip: The top floor where we stayed -room 7- had an amazing view and also was the biggest room to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanessaRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This B&B is situated on top of a coffee shop in the middle of the old town so if you're looking for somewhere centrally located in the best part of Hastings, this is one of your best bets. There are a couple of flights of narrow stairs to negotiate however, which limits the accessibility for less mobile travellers. Inside there are only four rooms but although the double we stayed in was small, it was spotlessly clean, had fresh fluffy towels, toiletries, biscuits and tea and coffee making facilities. The owner was Doug for whom nothing was too much trouble, and he also kindly looked after our bags on our day of departure since our train home wasn't until 4pm. The breakfast was huge - a wide choice of cereals, toast, yoghurts and a full English which made the need for lunch redundant.

You are also 50 yards from the seafront and seconds away from George Street which hosts a refreshing combination of independent shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants which made stumbling into bed after a glass of wine too many a lot easier. Surprisingly the noise nuisance was non-existent after about 11pm. As a couple our costs were £140 for a two night stay.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrappyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had Room 7 on the top floor with a view of the sea. It was spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and the linen crisp and of good quality. There was plenty of storage, the towels were fluffy and a the bathroom was sparkling .

Doug was welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was served in a sunny room and the food was plentiful and well cooked.

Although we only had a one night stay, I would certainly stay there again if we go to Hastings again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in this lovely B & B in the Old Town area of Hastings in April. We had a good size room with plenty of storage for our clothes. The bed was very comfortable and the linen I wanted to take home with me. Plenty of coffee, tea and biscuits ( cookies as we yanks call them) in your room to enjoy. Doug is a wonderful host and knows how to make a good breakfast. You will not go hungry. Hastings is an area that alot of people from the states do not know about which is a shame. Doug will be very happy to direct you to places to see. A must is to go to Battle to learn about the Battle of Hastings in 1066. My husband is English and this is like going to Shiloh or Gettsburg in the States. Your time will not be wasted coming to this historic site. Come to Hastings and stay at this B & B. We will come again.

Room Tip: We had an en suite room. There are some rooms that will share a bathroom and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.7 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
1.0 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.5 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#19 of 49 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Town Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Town Guesthouse

Property: The Old Town Guesthouse
Address: 1A George Street, Hastings TN34 3EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Town Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Town Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing