We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met all our needs”
Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lansdowne
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Met all our needs”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and had no complaints at all. The room was clean and comfortable, with lovely sea views. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel is ideally situated, only a short walk to seafront, shops and mainline railway station. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haztay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    99
    67
    35
    24
See reviews for
50
139
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We took a cheap rate at this 'renovated' hotel ( a work in progress). The beds were comfortable, the showers were hot and the TVs good. Otherwise the place is a mess. We were on the 4th floor - no lift working and no offers to carry luggage up. In our first room, the bed was right up against the wall on one side and the cold tap in the basin did not work. In our second room we had a bit more space but the wardrobe and (broken) chest of drawers were in the bathroom, where the radiator did not work, the hot tap was plumbed in to the cold water, the shower had orange mould up to chest height They only provide one glass for 2 people. The kettle was on a shelf but could only be placed on the floor to boil. There was also a big hole in the plaster under the radiator! The breakfast was good value, though. Outside is a sign boasting 4 stars - it should be removed!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Relaxing, peaceful with breath taking views. This is my summery of the weekend I just had in room 11 of this hotel. The gentleman on the desk when we arrived was friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious clean and had everything you need for that perfect weekend away. Breakfast was defenatly value for money in a clean and modern dining room with lovely laid out tables. The hotel is situated right on the seafront with the high street right behind so there was no need to get the car out after we parked it in the secure under ground carpark which was right outside for £7 and lasted for 24 hours. The carpark had cameras so we felt the car was perfectly safe. I would highly recommend this hotel and this room which had floor to ceiling patio floors and windows pluss a balcony. Go on book yours now!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttrudycclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a perfectly adequate hotel for a weekend in a seaside town. It's clean and everything works and the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice and not greasy and there is someone on duty all night so you can get in and out easily. We liked the location as it was handy and there is a large underground car park which is very affordable right next to it.

Room Tip: We had a partial sea view and the room was spacious with a decent sized bathroom. It was high up bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 126DandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plumstead, London
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

we only spent one night there during the 'Hastings bonfire event', but everything was clean. There was a trouser press, coffee facilities and hairdryer and we had a sea view. The room was warm and shower great! Didn't have time for breakfast though! spent worst nights elsewhere ....

Room Tip: room 3 with balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, rooms 28 and 29. Beware that although these have a sea view (not really that important), they are at the top of the hotel which means a climb up 8 sets of stairs (I think we counted 86 in total), often steep, with no lift. A bit of a struggle but not too bad - with bags it's a bit much.

The room was ok, beds were comfortable, it was clean, not massive but for the money (about £70 for a £65 for a double, £40 for a single) it was about right. Bathroom had soap and shower gel, the shower lacked pressure and as one reviewer also said was either super hot or cold - but again it was ok.

The door is locked most of the time so you need to ring a bell, that is a good thing for security reasons.

There was a bar/lounge which we didn't need to use.

All in all an ok hotel for the money in a good location, 3 stars as it was just right for the money.

Room Tip: 28 and 29 are the rooms in the top left corner as you look at the hotel photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Booked 2 nights at the Lansdowne for £70 per night. We were given room 2, ground floor at the back of the hotel. Dated decor, kind of looked a bit like a backpackers double room. Tiny ensuite with a awkward angled toilet (?) quite quirky, but not designed for larger people.

During the night we suffered with the constant bass from the neighbouring club, it was a Saturday night but management mentioned this was the case on a Thurs, Fri and Saturday every week. It is a very central hotel, so you do expect some noise but after 3 phone calls to the night porter (who really didnt care at all, kept telling me I must wait till 2am) I was very frustrated. We did get moved to a seafront room for the 2nd night, and I manged to get a refund of £20 only (as in managements eyes we had been upgraded which should have been enough to keep us happy).

The upgraded room was better quality, recently refurbished. Good ensuite facilities. The bed was one of those ones that could be turned into a twin but it has a hard bit running down the middle of it.

I left this hotel with a bad taste in my mouth, management are completely aware of an ongoing noise problem with a neighbouring business (They offered to show me the letters of complaint to the Council) but continue to sell the rooms. I didnt feel like my complaints were taken seriously by the night porter, which only added to the frustration of being kept awake.

The location is good, 10mins walk to the Railway Station, right on the beach, 10 mins walk to the Old Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
245 reviews
5.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Property: Lansdowne
Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing