We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lansdowne
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel(Hastings)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Victoria Hotel(St Leonards-on-Sea)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
74
108
72
36
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
108
72
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontold townan underground car parka stones throwtop floortown centreshort breaktea coffeefull englishone night staybreakfast roomlovely roombalconyfridgeseafrontensuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 314 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've stayed here several times over the last few years. The check in process was simple and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. I enjoy staying here and either take the single room with a sea view or a double room for sole occupancy to the rear of the hotel. I have tried most of the hotels in Hastings and would recommend the Lansdowne for friendliness and convenience. It's not a 5* hotel, but it is comfortable for a few nights at a good price.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel to get the best on offer
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have just returned from a four day stay at the Lansdowne Hotel, Hastings. I stayed in a first floor room with a sea view and balcony. Everything at the hotel was perfect. The room was just that, roomy; the view was great; the amenities were excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend a stay here. It was just right.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had room 7 - a "deluxe double with sea view" - which came with an extra bed (the concierge said he would take it out to give us extra space but it was still there when we went to bed...). At £80 we would have expected breakfast to be included and free parking - so adding on those costs in total the night actually cost us £102 - which was very expensive for a poorly decorated room with basic facilities and a fairly nasty cooked breakfast. Take ear plugs and an eye mask if noise and light bother you as the room was too hot to sleep with windows closed and it overlooks a noisy road along the seafront, and the curtains were thin and didn't keep out the light. Bed was reasonable - a comfortable medium mattress. But the staff were welcoming and cheerful - which always goes a long way to make up for an average room etc. but there are almost certainly better places to spend your money - or at least go elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sianw2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Got room 23 £70

1. Strong Smell of stale smoke on the bedroom
2. Damp on the walks with dark marks
3. Ceiling dirty
4. Overlooking noisy pub (although we were told and accepted this )
5. Lock was broken for sometime and was fixed back into recess with flexi grip. When shut , the door could be forced open with one finger and the catch would fall out

Complained. They sent a handy man within 20mins who didn't know what he was doing. Would have taken at least an hour to carry out the carpentry he was suggesting. Was Saturday night. We didn't want to wait while they carries out repairs. We had a heated discussion before reception agreed to give us a refund. Appalling room and service.

Chatsworth next door was booked. I usually go there. It's the same price but really nice.

Charging 70 for the Landsdown is a disgrace.

Suggest you keep away. At least check your room before you pay up.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived at The Lansdowne for a one night weekend stay with some trepidation, due to lots of poor reviews.
We had rooms 3 and 4, at the front of the hotel with balcony and sea views. The rooms were pleasant, clean with a very modern bathroom, but not a power shower. The balcony itself was in need of a clean, as were the two cheap chairs on the balcony, lots of seagull mess.
We were quite surprised when checking in, we were requested to pay the balance upfront.
Up to this point all was well, until we tried to get to sleep around 1am. Loud voices, swearing and an obvious argument began outside the entrance and on the steps to the hotel, just below our room. This continued throughout the early hours, subsiding occasionally and then rising again until 7am in the morning.
At 7am we went down to reception, where the staff in charge were making no attempt to stop the disturbance.
I cannot believe that this was allowed to continue all night, causing us the worst nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews