We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints from anyone in the party”
Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We have just completed a Bowls Tour, staying at the Lansdowne Hotel for three nights. We took 26 people and the coach driver. We all found that the hotel rooms were nice and large and very comfortable. The breakfasts were everything that a good breakfast should be and the staff were very helpful and friendly. When all the decorating is finished, This Hotel will be one of the Best in Hastings. We have already told them that we would deffinately return when next in Hastings.
Spinney Hill Park Bowls Club Leicester.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornerstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your favourable comments on your Lansdowne Hotel experience. We were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and services lived up to your expectations. We look forward to hosting your group again at our Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Olga & Gurnake Cheema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 309 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

On arrival the front of the hotel looked very tired and in need of decoration. Once inside the staff member who greeted us was very polite and friendly. He took our luggage and showed us to the room leaving immediately with no explanation of how to contact reception via the phone or how to get an outside line. The room, number 22 was clean as was the shower room. The towels and bedding were white and spotless. However I would not consider it a deluxe room as it was sold to me for the following reasons. There is no information in the room at all! No explanation on how to use the phone or what time meals are available, what time check-out is, none of which was explained during our very brief check-in either. There is a kettle in the room but nothing in the bathroom to indicate whether the water is drinking water or not. The windows were dirty and the divan bed had no cover on the bottom half. The hallways are grotty looking and the carpets prevent the fire doors from opening and closing properly. The location was maybe worth £75 but the room really wasn't. I have read the managements response to other review on this site and if they do want to be classed as one of the better hotels in Hastings then I would suggest they pay more attention to detail, ie covering the lower divan and stop using cheap toilet paper.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A-MacDon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

There is a nostalgia for these old crumbling run down seaside hotels for the British but for this American on business I don't see the charm. Spoiled on luxury hotels, I can't see past the cramped halls and dirty carpets. And what's with no hot water. The view was fantastic, and the manager was cordial.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms with seaside views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2011

Dear Guest

We were deeply saddened to receive your recent comments, and feel compelled to offer both our apologies and some degree of explanation,

IT is an unfortunate fact of life that Hastings, being a place of incomparable historic significance even in a country like Great Britain - [First settled in the Bronze Age and the scene of many battles listed as far back as the eighth century, then becoming a Cinque port and standing in the first line of defence of these shores against Napoleon, then of course the site of the Battle of Hastings  between the armies of William of Normandy and King Harold, and recently the home of the beginning of television,], is riddled with ancient and historic buildings.

Of which the Lansdowne hotel is a [relatively] recent example, being built roughly 100 years ago by Roberston, the first major player to build on land that is still known as Ameria Grounds after it was wrested from those who settled here and gave it it's name almost 100 years beforehand by the crown and the church.

The building is in itself of considerable historic significance and - being rather old, could well be said to be somewhat convoluted - an unavoidable consequence of the architectural style of that era.

We can but apologize if you feel that the hotel was misrepresented in any way and assure you that while we constantly review and revise the information on our website, we will re consider  the current format with your comments in mind.

Regarding the carpets, We are, as is clearly stated on our website in the midst of a rolling refurbishment operation, and no matter what protective measures are taken, it seems that dust, plaster and paint have remarkably penetrative properties. This is immensely embarrassing, but while we do replace the carpets periodically, we endeavour to minimize such works on order to avoid passing on the cost to our valued guests.

The rooms on the top two floors are some distance form the boilers and therefore there is an inevitable delay of up to perhaps a minute and a half before hot water reaches them. There are plans afoot to entirely re plumb the system but this has to wait for other works to be completed as significant structural alterations will be required.

We understand from your review that yo also had some problems with the shower. Regarding this matter, we can only point out that the I.E.E. [institute of Electrical Engineers] regulations regarding such appliances are quite specific an in this case stipulate that the shower be isolated by means of a switch placed OUTSIDE the shower room.
We try to make this apparent but it appears that you were not shown how to operate it, for which we can but apologize, although we would point out that we do have staff in attendance 24 hours a day, 7 days a week who are trained to assist in resolving any problems of this sort and to facilitate your stay to the best of their ability if called upon to do so.


We thank you for your recommendation of our refurbished rooms, but for the benefit of those who read it, would point out that the significantly higher standard of these rooms is reflected in the price.

We deeply regret that your stay was unsatisfactory and can only assure you that having owned the hotel for less than a year, we constantly strive to improve both the standards of the accommodation and the service in every way and are doing so on a daily basis.

Should you choose to revisit us in the future we are sure you will be delighted with the ongoing changes.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

"RETURN STAY" - Staff are friendly and efficient. I'm not sure if my room had been refurbished or not though. The room itself was spacious and clean. Still a problem with the shower room. It's the size of a large cupboard.
Food was excellent. Room service - fast. Location - perfect. Would i go back again? Yes, but only for a couple of nights at any one time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010bluebird2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank yo for your review. We appreciate all constructive comments ad suggestions form our guests.

We were, however, most distressed t note that you were dissatisfied with your room. You are correct in thinking that the room was not fully refurbished prior to your arrival .The room was fully redecorated, new carpets fitted and new four star furniture installed.

Unfortunately, due to the limited time available it was not possible to replace the existing bathroom suite. In order to upgrade the shower a considerable amount of work was required. In addition to removing the existing shower cubicle it is necessary to dis-assemble the shower cubicle, carry out structural alteration to the walls, as well as re plastering and tiling,to accommodate a more appropriately sized shower cubicle. As you will no doubt understand, this was simply not possible given the time constraints involved.

We deeply appreciate your comments regarding the size of room, staff and service. It is always gratifying to know that one's efforts are recognized.

We look forward to your next visit, by which time we anticipate being able to provide with excellent service, Excellent food, a magnificent room and a palatial shower as well.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to enjoying your company again in the near future.


Sincerely
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Good hotel for a short stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Undergoing refurbishment so various standard of rooms and prices available. Stayed in clean and adequate room for £26 each a night (breakfast extra) - bed very comfortable and quiet at night. Good overall.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jolamo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Lansdowne Hotel during your visit to Hastings.

On behalf of the management and staff here at the Lansdowne Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel. The entire team were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and were thrilled with your comments, in particular about the cleanliness of the rooms and friendliness of the staff.

Thank you once again for your positive review and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Lansdowne Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

G. Cheema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This hotel does not even remotely resemble the photos from the hotel's website. In fact, I would say that the pictures of the rooms were probably taken somewhere else. The exterior is dirty with flaking paint and crumbling plaster. Our room was grubby, tiny and quite depressing. The TV was probably the cheapest TV on the market with a predictably poor picture and even worse sound.

No breakfast was on offer to us (even though the staff said they were expecting 200 bikers in for breakfast!) so we had to walk into town for food.

Very, very disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kronstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelansdowne, General Manager at Lansdowne, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2011

Dear Guest,

It is our most sincere wish that all our customers have a pleasant, enjoyable stay and we deeply regret any dissatisfaction for any reason whatsoever.

As you will no doubt recognise, in our own best interests to do our utmost to achieve customer satisfaction, and if you would care to visit us again we will do our very best to prove to you that your experience was far from typical for this hotel.

Having said that, we do feel that given the context and acerbity of the remarks made, in the interest of both fairness and the reputation of the Lansdowne Hotel, we are obliged to put the record straight on one or two issues as follows:

Firstly, as is stated clearly on our website, we took possession of the hotel less than a year ago ad are in engaged in a rolling program of refurbishment. At the time of your visit, the front of the hotel was in the progress of having the paint stripped of and the stone and stucco facing, together with the decorative front wall having all loose and defective areas removed and re rendered. This is clearly apparent, as one look will confirm.

ALL the photographs of rooms exhibited on or website are current and were indeed taken on the Lansdowne Hotel. As is the case with every hotel that we know of, some of our rooms have higher prices than others – single rooms are not the same price as double rooms; rooms with a splendid sea view and balcony are more expensive than rooms at he rear of the hotel and newly refurbished luxury suites are more expensive than those still in need of work.

We are very happy to provide higher quality rooms to those who wish to pay an appropriate – but still very reasonable – price.

The televisions in the rooms are all high quality new 22 inch flat screen LCD televisions, the majority of which are High Definition and were in fact quite expensive. Sadly, the more money you pay for a television, the more buttons it has, and if you switch a digital TV to terrestrial analogue mode, then you will inevitably receive a poor quality of picture and sound, as indeed happened in this particular case.

All our staff are trained to ensure that newly arriving guests know that if there is any problem or anything they need at any time 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, al they have to do is ask. Our staff are permanently available expressly for this purpose.

With regard to breakfast, in addition to booking information, all arriving guests are asked if they would like a breakfast and made aware of the choices available – English, continental or whatever else they require [within reason], and are also made aware that if they change their minds, there is a phone in every room and a 24 hour receptionist who will gladly amend their details accordingly.

It is indeed true that on mayday, during the Jack in the green festival, there is a traditional event for motorcyclists, and many of them [ in the region of 200] did choose to eat breakfast at the Lansdowne Hotel – their reasons for doing so probably were not poor quality of food or of service.

As usual, breakfast was made available for guests between the hours of 7.30 and 9.30 am [aside form those who prefer to eat at a different time, and they are, of course, catered for separately]. The doors are not opened to the public until the guests have finished breakfast.
As on any other day, Breakfast, lunch, and indeed a choice of light evening meals were readily available for any guest who wanted them.

We do not understand how any guest cold have been consistently denied breakfast in this manner by all the staff, especially given that the owners of the hotel were both in attendance on that specific day, but we are still looking into it and will not cease until we have an answer to this, at which time pour procedures will be modified to ensure that it does not happen again.

Should you choose to re visit our hotel, we would be delighted to take you on a tour and show you all the rooms that are shown on the website as well as the rest, and will gladly include all the ongoing refurbishment works.

Should you have any comments or queries or require further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Happy to say my first impressions of the hotel were wrong. As my boyfriend had booked the hotel I did'nt know what to expect. I was Feeling a tad worried as we were led up a shabby looking staircase, passing the broken glassed door and into our room. But once in, our room was lovely! Clean, spacious and with a lovely little balcony over looking the sea front. If you can get over the odd bit of chipped paint and dodgy looking plastering it had a shabby chic feel to it (which you get with older buildings) Also, special mention to the staff who were always polite and friendly ( despite being moaned at by some family who had definitely got out of bed the wrong side that mornings) all in all, loved it and even stayed for an extra night on possibly the most comfortable hotel bed ever!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie_potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to write your review - really appreciate your straightforward and honest comments - my team were delighted to read them and that you enjoyed your visit.
Looking forward to welcoming you back the next time!

Kind Regards,
Gurnake Cheema
proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
5.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
883 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
152 reviews
0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $77 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing