We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dog friendly hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed in the Royal Victoria Hastings over a weekend early August. Our son was going walking in the woods with Ray Mears close to Hastings and we also wanted to bring our little dog along for the weekend. We booked a dog friendly family room for 2 nights and were pleasantly surprised with the room we got. Clean, tidy and spacious enough for 3 plus the dog. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the food in the lounge bar (the dog was allowed here) was very nice and reasonably priced. Some of the public areas especially the stairs could have been cleaner but overall a nice pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennythegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    321
    175
    91
    44
See reviews for
175
398
32
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We have often eaten here over the years for carvery and the breakfast. It was on Father's Day this year that we went, also celebrating my 50th birthday. There was about 13 of us, the service was appalling. No one came to carve the meat until we found someone. Veggies were like warm. No Yorkshire apart from aunt Bessie's !!! No one came to our table to see if we wanted a drink or even to see how the meal was. Did complain but no one interested as I did nt complain at the time. Reason for that was, because it was a birthday celebration I did nt want to make a fuss as my relatives were paying and did nt want to embarrass them . Reply back from Katie was , you should have said something on the day!!! Apart from they only has 2 waiters which we could nt find most of the time to say anything .
Go some where else for your carvery.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Kazdaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We booked 14 family lunch, we have been coming to Royal Victoria for many years and have businesses in the Town ourselves.
The manager Mr Christopher Meadows was appalling, he was dirty,rude, completely unprofessional.
Our waitress was lovely but did not have a clue on anything, the plates were dirty( dried on egg from breakfast), food was frozen or packet mix. we were told that we had aunt Bessie's Yorkshire puddings, (cold and late), because the fresh Yorkshires go hard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We will never go there again and will certainly pass the word.
We had no apology and were treated as if we were in the wrong, not acceptable.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank gartmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I booked over the Internet at a special price £56 for a double room with sea view. The hotel couldn't match the price, I always find this very strange as they could save themselves commission , but there we go!
We took the train to Warrior Square Hastings and from there walked to the hotel. A good ten minute walk, No problem with a small bag but if anything larger then maybe a taxi would be advisable.
We were met by a very friendly Receptionist and given a room on the 5th floor.
The room was very big with all you would expect. It was clean and bright and had a wonderful view of the coast.We felt at home immediately.
The windows were covered with nets and heavy drapes which is a shame as the view was so lovely but I hitched the nets up and it wasn't a problem. I think if they want feed back they would be best to think again about the window coverings as the whole point of having a sea view is to see it.
We enjoyed our one night stay and at the price we paid couldn't complain.
Thank you Best Western.

Room Tip: You have to ask for a sea view if staying by the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorenceMilfordHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed in a triple room at this hotel. The room was at the front of the hotel on the top floor and had a wonderful coast line view. The room was very spacious with a large bathroom with a bath. The room was tastefully furnished and the beds and bedding clean and comfortable. There was a lovely writing desk and chair under the window. the wi-fi and television both worked well. It was a bit of a walk to Hastings town centre but the walk was pleasant along the beach front and flat. Staff were pleasant and polite. There is a lift and parking was available on the street at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was a bit expensive but had a wide selection of hot and cold food. A great experience, would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollybronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lovely sea front hotel. It was helped by gorgeous weather! Right on the prom, and an easy walk into St Leonards. The staff were most helpful, and the food delicious and very well presented. We had a lovely huge room, room 401. Straight up in the lift, then right outside out door!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champagne27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
593 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing