We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Location, Has Character ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Location, Has Character ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Room
We had a Seaview room, which was massive! Largest room I've ever had. The decor is dated but with lots of character. Very clean rooms with a very nice bathroom. A little bit expensive, but the view was so good.

Service
Efficient service, not the friendliest or best customer service but we had no issues.

Location
5-10 minute walk to the main high street, right next to the sea, lovely building.

If they had a separate shower, or the room/hotel was renovated I would give a 4*

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    292
    167
    87
    40
See reviews for
162
361
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We went to the hotel on three different evenings to join friends for dinner who were staying there.
Whilst the hotel looks magnificent internally, it hides the lack of sufficient staff. That is not a reflection on those that are there, as they their best .
The menu is very poor as only one item was changed per night, and did not offer an a la carte option. On the last night, one main course, a steak, was so inedible as it was so tough, to be fair they did not charge for and apologised.
Having stayed at several Best Western Hotels over the years, this one food wise was not a good advert for the group.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiltyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

the hotel looked nice from outside; there was a nice friendly reception area. staff were helpful with giving information and answering questions.
The suite we stayed in was nicely decorated with victorian pieces of furniture. it was a nice spacious suite with the usual amenities TV,tea and coffee making facilities. They were a bit sparse on the in house toiletries. The bathroom was clean and a spacious walk in wardrobe.
The hotel has nice decorative features and nice grand piano.
Dinner was a 3 course menu choice and breakfast is set out has buffet however; there is also a menu to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tp p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

old hotel just been given basic facelift painted etc. still wonderful inside but lacking wow factor. good size rooms we had a (suite) sea view.little touches missing not enough toiletries or t-bags coffee etc. never had breakfast or used dining room plenty of places to eat in town cheaper.internet very slow or not working we would stay again just needs a little push to put it in better hotels league.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Well worth staying at the Royal Victoria. Well maintained with excellent staff. Clearly an old hotel but maintained to a very good standard. Whilst on the sea front it was a quiet location and we suffered no noise issues. Staff very keen to assist and the standard and quality of food was very good. Good location as it is away from the "bright lights" of Hastings but on a very good bus route. Free parking in the streets around the hotel and a pay and display just up the road that is free overnight. Stayed in 411 which had a double aspect and was very roomy and well light.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Very traditional seaside hotel with good old fashioned service - enjoyed very much indeed. This is a Georgian or could be very early Victorian 'Grand Hotel' in the heart of the St Leonards suburb of Hastings. We particularly like the high ceilings in our room which overlooked the sea front. Indeed it was like a mini-suite with arm chairs and table overlooking the sea and a separate bathroom and dressing area. Really enjoyed both dinner and breakfast. Recommended

Room Tip: Worth choosing a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimehouseE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

As we were only staying for one night, I booked at a very cheap rate thinking it wouldn't matter if the hotel was awful. It was just the opposite. Lovely decor, super, big rooms, very polite staff. And the cushion count was low! Breakfast was good - we rate places by the availability of porridge. We'll stay there again probably.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.9 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing