We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't ask for better value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't ask for better value”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We've stayed here a few times now and have never been disappointed. It's a wonderful old hotel and the rooms are nicely decorated to match. Yes a few things are a bit tired here and there but for the price and sea-side location you can't ask for better value than this. Only complaint is the beds are a bit firm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    321
    175
    92
    44
See reviews for
175
399
32
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The new thing in this hotel is wifi. The TV is the same as the one I had 20 years ago. On the up side attentive staff rooms are clean, if dated, and tidy.
Plenty of park on site and in adjoining roads behind, situated on the front with bar and restaurant on the first floor, give great views while dinning or drinking. Very much set in the Victorian era and style, prices are reflective of this.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaspode1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, the outside and main public areas especially the staircases have the "wow" factor. The room was nicely decorated and the staff were friendly. It's in a great location with historic St Leonards as built as a new town in the early nineteenth century by the Burtons (also responsible for Tunbridge Wells and the Palm House at Kew Gardens) immediately behind it and Hastings old town a vigorous walk or short taxi ride away. Has the historic dimension as Victoria, Albert, George V, Lord Palmerston etc. have all stayed here. Don't believe everything you hear about St Leonards, this part is historic and well cared for. There is, of course, a road outside as it's on the seafront but not unduly noisy and beach and sea are just across from the hotel. A lovely stay!

Room Tip: Suites on first floor are good, higher floors would have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a fine building - with other buildings of 'Burton's St Leonards' around it. More could be made of its illustrious past and context as this would surely make it more attractive to visitors with an interest in history. It could also be substantially improved with more obviously 'historic' colours in the corridors and plastic daffodils done away with!
We found our deluxe suite to be very spacious, comfortable, well furnished and clean. We didn't notice noise from the 'very ..noisy road' outside - and we were on the first floor. Higher floors would be even less aware. It was altogether a more pleasurable experience than I had expected given some of the other reviews.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have a better view of the sea. First floor seaview rooms look out on to the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashdown2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice location within walking distance of Hastings town, on site parking very limited. Room clean and decorated in keeping with age of the building (expect a few creaking floor boards) beds could do with upgrading. Breakfast reasonable, nice views out to sea. Staff pleasant and most helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank owlgulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed in a 'suite' for a night on business. Room very sad & dated. Furniture battered. Fridge dumped on the floor. TV with very few channels. A sea view means having a very busy & noisy main road just a few feet away. WIFI continually loses contact & to cap it all a hot water tap in the bath that was jammed so a freezing cold shower in the morning. The response from reception - 'Oh dear. We'll look into it'!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The setting of the hotel is gorgeous. The exterior is so lovely, and the lobby and stairways are nice. However our room was very tired looking. The room was a double twin, and the box springs were torn, the blankets were weathered, but the sheets were very crisp and clean. My bed wiggled terribly every time I moved, and the headboards banged on the wall when you moved. The outer hall doors slammed when people went down the hall. In a pinch and need a bargain I say it's ok. But more than a one night stay I'd look somewhere else.

Room Tip: No a/c, so when you open the windows you hear everyone talking on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scs0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#6 of 11 in Hastings
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#5 of 11 in Hastings
595 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing