We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”
Review of BayTree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BayTree House
Ranked #26 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Just like to echo the other reviews - had such a lovely time at Bay Tree House. The house is stunning - beautiful antique furniture, lovingly restored rooms, and the hosts Trevor and Penny are just so welcoming and friendly. I had a gorgeous room with its own bathroom, with an enormous shower, felt very luxurious. Very quiet and a blissful couple of nights sleep in the comfy bed. The array of food available at breakfast was such a treat, from cereals with soya/rice/oat milk, to a wide array of fresh fruit, breads, spreads and toast etc, and lovely quality coffee.

Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor (second floor in US English) - a slightly smaller double than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Bay Tree House is one of the best places my husband and I have stayed in over four years of international travel. The house is breathtaking. The rooms are beautiful. We were given a warm welcome and the proprietors could not have been more accommodating. They went to extra effort to address specific food allergies and were beyond obliging when it came to making our stay as comfortable as could be.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were looking for a weekend escape from London and were delighted that we found the BayTree House. Hastings may not have been the first destination we thought of, but the BayTree House made it a fantastic trip. Trevor and Penny were very gracious and welcoming hosts. They've done a lot of work to turn their hillside Victorian villa into a lovely B&B. It is extremely well finished and appointed. We had a delightful and very comfortable en-suite room.

We are not vegan: my wife is vegetarian, but I'll never convert. However, we were both intrigued by the vegan continental breakfasts. There was good selection of cereals, breads, fruit and more on offer - enough to fill our hearty appetites, and then some. And good coffee, thanks Penny!

It was the little extras that helps the BayTree House stand out: bottled water and snacks in the room, hots drinks available if desired and charming hosts. Nothing was too much trouble.

The BayTree hasn't been open for very long, but we wish them every success with the business. I, for one, would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Probably the best b&b we have ever stayed in! We were warmly welcomed by Trevor and Penny and offered a hot drink immediately. We met their beautiful dogs (Trevor and Penny were keen to know if we were happy to meet the dogs as they are aware not everyone may be a fan) and got to see the beautiful garden.

The room was perfect. We stayed in room 4 which was very light and airy and relaxing. We were provided with a bottle of water, a couple of bananas, cereal bars and chocolates- very refreshing and tasty! The bed was extremely comfortable and we felt very at home- the best night's sleep in a very long while. The ensuite was small but completely adequate and we were told that the shower was going to be a little small before we booked but we had no problems.

Breakfast was brilliant. Penny made us apple juice from apples she had picked that morning from the garden and she had also made her own jams and supplied us with fruit from the garden. We have never seen so much choice of cereal and the organic bread was delicious. We told Penny and Trevor we were staying over for our wedding anniversary and they surprised us with a card which was extraordinarily kind. Breakfast was of course vegan and it was one of the best we have ever had; there was so much choice that a cooked breakfast was not at all missed.

Trevor and Penny were perfect hosts and always had the time to chat to us and answer the questions we had about the house, the area and veganism. We would not hesitate to recommend Bay Tree House (a great base for Hastings, Rye, Battle and Bodiam Castle) and would certainly look to visit the area once more just to stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 4 was a double room with a beautiful old fireplace, it was very light and had a very adequate e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taliward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed at BayTree House B&B during May, and found it to be an excellent vegan getaway!

The owners Trevor & Penny were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, and provided us with some great advice for places to eat out in Hastings and Brighton.

The building itself was beautiful, and clearly a lot of hard work had been made into making this  such a beautiful building.

Our bedroom was spotlessly clean, and very comfy! And had lovely little touches in the room too such as small snacks!

Breakfast consisted a wide selection of Cereals, Fruits & Juices, with some very tasty Artisan bread from their local baker!

A highly recommended stay!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richyfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

After visiting the Baytree house this weekend, I can't recommend this b&b more highly. Trevor and Penny were very friendly, and made us feel very much at home, offering us drinks on arrival ( Penny makes a great coffee!). 

The Building it's self is a very impressive Victorian house, and has been finished to a very high standard, the rooms are beautiful! 

If your new to te area, as we were Trevor is only to helpful to recommend a vegan restaurant or somewhere to visit. 

We stayed for two nights and in the morning we had a fantastic breakfast, consisting of great breads ( from their local artisan bakery ) cereals, fresh fruit and  berries, ooo and loads of other vegan treats! 

I very much enjoyed staying at the Baytree House, a fantastic Vegan getaway!! 

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Readybex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

BayTree House is a superb and relaxing B&B in Hastings.

I thought all the rooms (I was given a full tour!) were superbly finished and stylish. An excellent eye for detail has resulted in high quality linens and bathroom products and a relaxing atmosphere. I took a room with a luxurious (shared) bathroom and an enormous comfortable bed with which I was very pleased.

The peaceful location is ideal for those in search of a relaxation with hosts Trevor and Penny supremely helpful and ready and willing to offer help on all topics. Equally they are willing to blend in and let you relax alone. Breakfast was a delight, with very high quality (and tasty) produce on offer to tempt all.

Well worth seeking out for an enjoyable stay with a difference in Hastings.

Room Tip: Just ask Trevor and Penny and they will help you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runner029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sea Spirit Guesthouse
The Sea Spirit Guesthouse
#17 of 46 in Hastings
73 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Laindons
The Laindons
#3 of 46 in Hastings
231 reviews
1.5 mi away
St Benedict Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 46 in Hastings
174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 46 in Hastings
816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Rock House
Black Rock House
#19 of 46 in Hastings
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayTree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayTree House

Property: BayTree House
Address: 59 Baldslow Road, Hastings TN34 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing