We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get what you pay for (i suppose)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Reviewed June 24, 2013

i hastily booked this caravan park because it came up very cheap £95 for fri to mon,inc a dog. other parks were charging £150. then i read the reviews, so wasnt expecting too much,
when we arrived, we were greeted by a lovely entrance, we arrived at 9pm but had already emailed the park owner where to pick the keys up from, which were in the bar, very easy and pleasant bar staff.
we drove round and found our van, parking was very limited and had to park on the grass outside someone elses van, (felt very guilty doing this) but everyone else was parked on the grass.
the surrounding area, which i can only describe as a dump, muddy and no paths to the van,
once inside, the front door needed a small kick to open, the back door wouldnt open.
the froont room had its lamp shade missing, the kitchen light did not work, the blind in the bathroom was mouldy and the double room smelt mouldy.
although there were plenty of duvets we brought our own, matresses needed replacing.
surrounding area packed with kids and dogs, lots of dogs.
apart from that, we had a great time.
we had an evening meal in the bar which was reasonable priced and tasted great.

Room Tip: think you will be fine if you dont rent a bronze van.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uktravellero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback.

I have recently taken over the park as General Manager, and we are making big improvements to the park.

The bronze caravans are pet friendly - as on most caravan parks in the UK .

We are putting paths into the lettings area's over the winter period.

We hope you return to see the changes soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 717 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having looked at the reviews her I was apprehensive to say the least, but we had a very good 2 week holiday here. Our caravan was Bronze as that is all they will rent to dog owners. The caravan h\d seen better days and bits of it were quite shabby, and stained, it was though on arrival very clean and comfortable with good heating and a powerful shower.

The sie was quiet appart from the first night when we thought we would be disturbed by thumping loud music, but security seemed to put a stop to it at a reasonable hour.

We will use Park hiliadys again, my only gripe was the only cleaning implement was a brush, which with dog hair and the caravan surrounded by grass was a challenge to keep up some standards for 2 weeks, might have to take my own hoover next time!

Room Tip: If you can ugrrade frome bronze caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank run-for-home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Despite all the negative reviews on here we had a lovely 4 day break. We stayed in a beautiful caravan, I upgraded from Bronze to Gold but was lucky enough to be given a Platinum caravan which was lovely. We had views over the lake & I couldn't fault the caravan it was immaculate. I went with a friend and my young daughter, we were half board and the food was fine. The swimming pool was lovely my daughter really enjoyed the slide & we enjoyed the Jacuzzi. My only negative comment would be for the children's entertainment, there was little to amuse my daughter of an evening & during the day. We did go out of season so understandably is was quiet but the brochure did say that every evening Loopy would be out & party music & games played but this didn't happen. Only twice he appeared & there was no games played with the children so a bit disappointing. All in all it was still a lovely break, the park is definitely not as bad as some of these reviews suggest. It does need updating but then so do most parks.

Room Tip: Caravans up from the lake are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

if you don't deal with the staff its not a bad place except for the odd thug who plays his shi**y music till 3am causing me to have seizure (which i generally suffer from). the caravan was the cheapest one so i wasn't expecting much but i was pleasantly surprised, it had a tv/dvd player and hot water which are the bare essentials these days. unless you wanted a shower, then the water became cold ? they don't even provide you with a basic hand towel and toilet roll so my partner had to hold in her wee from our 3 hour journey and find a shop to buy some toilet roll from! and then you have to deal with the people who work here.... i am stuck in a wheelchair yet we had to stay in a caravan with stairs!!! so i have to crawl like a dog just to get in and out! the staff talk to you like you're dirt at the bottom of there shoe thinking that they are better than you. we complained about the noise and the park manger continued to try and talk to her friend instead of dealing with the problem! she took no sympathy in the fact that i struggled to get up the stairs even when my partner had to explain that she is basically pushing me in whilst i struggle to crawl. this was meant to be a basic get away but turned out to be more stress than i can handle. will not be returning!! do not come here!!!!

Room Tip: do not come here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zagrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback.

I have recently taken over the park as General Manager so I can not comment on some of the issues above.

However we have had a change of team since your stay and are looking to make improvements going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed from 3rd june - 10th june in a silver 2 bed caravan.
After we had booked the holiday we looked at the reviews and feared the worst about going here. From start to finish though we couldnt complain about a thing. It was good value for money and luckily for the whole week there we had lovely weather. We dont drive but for the few journeys into hastings it didnt cost too much for a taxi there and back. We didnt come across any of the horrible things people were mentioning in their reviews. Lovely staff and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laura j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

arrived at coghurst hall parks hastings for a 3 night stay in a caravan

, the position off the caravan was good, we rented a silver 2 , hate to think what the bronze was like
The caravan was reasonably clean , but didn't liking walking on the floor as this was grubby
there was a few ants in caravan too,
They was a club house where they had a bit off entertainment (Karaoke, horse racing game )a
snooker table , plus a few arcade machines..
The park was set in woodlands , one of the good points was a lovely lake where you can do fishing
There much to do during the day, so we went to Rye a seaside town about 30 min away this is a lovely town always been one of my favourites
Also we went Hastings which is about 15mins away.
We were meant to stay 3 nights but went home on the 2nd night , after rough night sleep in the small beds..
I gave the keys in to the receptionist and mentioned we were going home early , she didn't even ask why ?, or asked if we had a nice time , very much lacking in customer service.
If this holiday park needs to get more things to do , for children plus adults during the because its quite secluded and you need a car, Also get there staff on some training on customer service
I wont t be coming here again.

Room Tip: book the highest grade of caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hiphop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback.

I am very disappointed to hear that your stay was not a good experience.

We have had some major team changes since your break, we hope to get this right in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Arrived Friday the 31st May,had booked a silver plus,arrived at site which was a little difficult to find,received keys to our caravan and opened the door to a state..the seating area was dirty, there were ants in our kitchen and living area,my daughter got bit whilst in the caravan,spoke to the head cleaner who was good,put sheets on the sofa and did show me 2 more caravans that were worse than the one we were in,got moved on the Saturday as definitely not staying in the caravan we were in,moved to a better one,was told to give it an hour so the cleaners could clean next door and in our one,it wasn't cleaned at all,they definitely need to do something about the cleanliness and their present cleaners,I went into town,bought some anti bacterial wipes and wiped the surfaces down in kitchen and living area,the wipes were dirty and pulled the table and chairs and sofas out and swept up a pile of dog hairs,not happy...... On Monday our boiler started to leak and had to place bucket under and called security and we had trouble with our fire which took someone 2 days to come attend to it,so was really cold in the rooms of a night,so we now sit with no water as was told by security that boiler is broken...what can I say, I could cry I am so upset..... Not nice they really need to pull themselves together the photos in the website are mire than likely the privately owned ones as in only certain areas of the park look that nice,they need to get this sorted out.....

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahmacd02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Many thanks your comments.

We are striving hard to ensure that these issues do not reoccur going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
12.8 mi away
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Pevensey Bay
4.2 mi away
Combe Haven Holiday Park - Haven
3.4 mi away
Crowhurst Park
Crowhurst Park
#3 of 8 in Battle
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
3.6 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
883 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Coghurst Hall Holiday Park Ivyhouse Lane | Ore, Hastings TN35 4NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Hastings
Number of rooms: 800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The focal point of the Park is its impressive lake which is well stocked and includes some monster carp.The clubhouse has recently undergone a major refurbishment so you can lord it up in plush surroundings. Our indoor pool is unique and gives the impression you could be swimming through underground caves! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coghurst Hall Holiday Parks Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing