We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Don't bother"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Don't bother"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just come back from Coghurst hall, and all I can say is NEVER AGAIN, the site is like a mud bath, no path to the caravan, there was dirty baby wipes outside the caravan and an old lager can when we arrived. The caravan was a bronze because we have dogs, and all I can say is ancient, it was clean but the water in the shower was just warm, not very good in a cold March, and the caravan was freezing. Not very helpful at reception they basically couldn't give a monkeys. Avoid!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Without knowing the specific caravan you stayed in, we do appreciate that mud and access to caravans was an issue during March with the particularly bad weather we experienced. We addressed this by laying large areas of new turf and laid more pathways to caravans and the main access routes. The park is now much better in terms of appearance and being able to walk around on the grass now that it has had a chance to dry out after winter. We're sorry you felt our team weren't more helpful, we've been working hard on looking after guests as best we can given the extraordinary weather conditions beyond our control in March. Thank you for taking the time to review the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    137
    117
    90
    161
See reviews for
371
104
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
luton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

we stayed in the summer last year ..and from on arrival we knew we were in trouble the only nice parts of the site were the owners area!!! huge uphill distance from carpark to the caravan ..and at night this wasnt lit i fell over twice !!! clubhouse was so small and as mentioned previously service seems to be focused on the owners as i was ignored each time i was at the bar..food takes around an hour and a half to reach you with meals being bought out at random times to the same table !!! entertainer was ok for the kids but uit was the same each night ...entertainer was drunk one night on a night off and attempted to proposition me for a late night walk lol i was flattered but this is so unproffesional ...no shop on site more of a cupboard ...nothing else within walking distance ...and swimming pool changing rooms were unmanned and filthy with no lockers and the life guards were so abrupt with the children ....i wouldnt ever reccomend this unless it was free...however i bet it is a laugh to work there as nothing seems to be taken seriously by these people and complaints are just shrugged of with feeble excuses ...also im sure our caravan was near a sewage stream !!!!

Room Tip: GO to the other park site beuport
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We're sorry to read about your experience from last year. We have a management team in place based at our reception to help deal with such issues although it's not clear whether we were given the opportunity to address your concerns with you whilst you were on holiday. We can confirm that all of our guests are valued equally and we continually strive to offer the best in terms of service and value for money. From time to time there will undoubtedly be issues that present themselves and we are here to help as best we can to minimise disruption to holidays and provide support where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were meant to stay here for four nights but only stayed one. The caravan was disgusting out of the ark and the pitch was in a dip surrounded by mud. We had no central heating or double glazing. The carpet was well stained and the place was musty. Even the dog wasn't happy. Will never go to this park again not much to do.

Room Tip: If you must go ask for van near lake or you will get stuck in a muddy pitch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eve204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I booked a 7 night holiday from Saturday 27th October with my friend’s family. So a party of 2 families. On booking we made the call from the same house, using the same phone and speaking to the same person. We stated that we wanted our caravans next to each other; we were told that this was not a problem. We always book caravans with double glazing and heating, so we booked Gold Plus, which at the time was your top caravan.
On arrival, my friend arriving first, she found out that we were not situated together. She was in caravan 7 & I had been allocated 77. She complained as she arrived first, but got nowhere. She contacted me. I arrived and complained as soon as the General Manager gave me my pack & caravan number. Due to my friend complaining he had already written on my map & the outer of my arrival pack (no move). I explained that the holidays were booked together; he said that they never guarantee to put parties together. This was never mentioned when we booked, (would never have booked in this case). I was not accepting this. GM did then get down the other packs & started going through the other bookings & kept saying that they were completely fully booked. After a while he agreed to move my friend to a caravan behind me.
Oh my how I wish we had gone home as soon as we had arrived. My husband and my friend asked to see the sight manager, this took a while. She offered £30 in vouchers for the inconvenience.
My husband & my friend mentioned that they had seen the building at the front had Head Office on it & that they were going to complain. They were told that it was not the companies Head Office so would be no good. We now know that this was untrue as it is Head Office as stated on your web site.
We got to our caravans & how disappointing, if these were Gold Plus I hate to think what Silver was. Well where shall I start, no double glazing, no heating in all rooms, the fire was damaged and the caravan was filthy. Shower room blind & toilet blind were filthy; the shower blind was also not fixed properly & would fall of the wall. The seats were black & in some places thread bare. As we had to go food shopping we did not report these on arrival.
First thing Sunday morning we went to reception, saw GM and reported the broken fire and the fact that the mattress on the double bed was so bad we did not have much sleep. The springs digging into us constantly & to look at the mattress you could see where they were raised. We also asked for a quilt cover for the spare double quilt. GM said these would be dealt with that day. We went out for the day. On arriving back at 3.30pm, nothing had been done. My husband phoned reception & spoke to GM, his response was that maintenance did go to the caravan but we were not in so came away again. My husband’s response was, that we were on holiday, so did not expect to stay in waiting for them to deal with the problems & why did they not have a master key like all other holiday places. GM’s response was that they had no key as it was in the laundry room which was locked & that person was not in that day. We decided to look at the sofa bed to use as a last resort. Oh what a mistake, it was so bent that it would not sit on the floor. So at this stage we had no bed to sleep in. Maintenance did arrive at 4pm another 45 minutes of waiting. He had no mattress & said that they had none on site & were fully booked so could not even swap one. My husband asked him to get the Site Manager to come to the caravan as he wanted her to see that state of it. His response was that she was always very busy & he would have to book an appointment & go to her. This was not acceptable & he again asked him to ask her to come to the caravan, he said that this was not possible & just kept repeating that he had to book an appointment. My husband then said that she would be better off coming to the caravan as he did not want to be at reception causing a fuss in front of others. In the end my husband gave him his mobile number so that she could call him; he also said that he wanted a call straight away. He went to leave & my husband called him back as he had not looked at the fire. He looked & said that he would have to get a new front for it the next day.
The call was not returned, so my husband called once again, Site Manager did come to the phone. He wanted to know why she would not come to the caravan. Her response was that she had people to do that for her & she did not need to see the state of the caravans. So how can she decide what grade they are? My husband went through everything that was wrong, the mattress, the fire, state of the chairs etc. Site Manager asked if this had all been reported, he said that some has & that he was telling her the rest now. She had no interest in the faults & said that he had told her & that was enough.
At 5pm the maintenance man came back with a mattress, not a new one. This was better than ours but not great. We had to put the spare quilt on the mattress & then make the bad. This was better, but not perfect.
On Monday morning we went back to see GM on reception & asked what was happening about the fire, he said that they were getting the part in & it would be fitted later that day. We also mentioned the mattress & that the maintenance man had promised us a brand new one also that day, which he was going out to purchase. GM knew nothing about this & said that this was not likely to happen.
On Tuesday we came home to find that the fire had been fixed, but only with screws & not a new front. There was no way we were using this as there was no way of knowing whether it was safe to use.
As for the Convenience Store on site, it was so tiny & unmanaged we would not even consider buying from there. The bread was left out, uncovered so it was liable for touching and handling by anyone that went in there. Very unhygienic.
On the last day we decided to go swimming, not a good idea. The pool had a scum line on to tiles were the water level came to. So this had not been cleaned in months. The wooden frames at the entrance to the showers were rotten & mouldy.
We also booked this holiday as there were fishing lakes, for the use of. On the website before arriving it stated that the lakes were out of use due to algae problems. So no one brought their fishing gear. On walking around the site, there were people fishing.
As for the immediate surroundings outside, what a state. It was bad enough that it rained every night causing it to be very muddy. But to add to that the site workers were constantly driving the van, truck & buggy up & down churning up the grass & mud making it 10 times worse. They drove round like it was a race track, no care for anyone walking around.
We actually gave up complaining & went off site as much as possible as the staff were so unhelpful, rude & arrogant & only used the site for sleeping.
I have taken photos of as much as I could if you would like to see them.
This being our first holiday with your company has not made a good impression & is leaving us in no doubt at the moment that we will not be booking with you again. On looking at comments on Trip Advisor we do not seem to be the only ones that had a bad holiday that week.
I have sent this to your Customer Care Email & to your Complaint Section.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked a gold+3 because we wanted heating as we were going away in oct/nov school holidays, The caravan was tatty, 1 small wardrobe in each bedroom, no shelves, no drawers, not even a bedside light, so had to get in & out in the dark. The crockery was basic white "Asda" value style, The fire in the lounge was difficult to light & the tv reception get going. The path was to close to the caravan & all broken so you could'nt walk on it without slipping over, (which my 2 kids did frequently!) & the guttering was all broke so the rain (plenty of it) ran straight down the sides onto the already slippery path, there were no lights outside the vans and as it's in the middle of nowhere it's very dark. we counted 4 lights between us & the tiny clubhouse. If you want to sit down & watch the show or eat be over there by 5pm or you won't get a table as it's so small. Sauna had been broke since august. The pool was good but the showers are always cold & the changing rooms are tiny. The only entertainment was bingo, party games & karaoke, no cabaret which considering it was school holidays we found surprising! The only saving grace on site is Ben, children's entertainment, he is great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have to disagree with all the negative reviews on here. we stayed fri- mon grounds are lovely muddy but it had been raining alot & it was a Nov stay, staff very friendly, pool warm cleaners & groundsmen in sight all the time couldnt fault our stay :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oppscount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came for a four day break over half term and found that alot of the comments previously made were correct, the site is very muddy with parking for some caravans some distance. The check in was quick but staff really only going through the motions - we heard another family complaining about the standard of a gold caravan.
The bar service is great if the staff know you but if not be prepared to be ignored whilst staff take care of their friends.
The childrens disco was good but not really enough space which means you will be standing to keep an eye on your kids,
The kitchen has a door onto the car park and didnt appear to be the most clean - food on the floor/boxes piled up etc. We decided not to eat there as state of the kitchen and the length of time to get served didnt encourage us.
There are a number of great places to go from here - Bodiam Castle, Battle abbey and Hastings are worth a visit - but only come here if you get a super low deal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnetster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
2.5 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
2.5 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowhurst Park
Crowhurst Park
#3 of 8 in Battle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Coghurst Hall Holiday Park Ivyhouse Lane | Ore, Hastings TN35 4NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Hastings
Number of rooms: 800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The focal point of the Park is its impressive lake which is well stocked and includes some monster carp.The clubhouse has recently undergone a major refurbishment so you can lord it up in plush surroundings. Our indoor pool is unique and gives the impression you could be swimming through underground caves! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coghurst Hall Holiday Parks Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing